James Thomas CURRIE, of Tokoroa. For services to the community

Dr Randal Forbes ELLIOTT, of Wellington. For services to medicine, especially ophthalmology.

Dr Norman Frank GREENSLADE, of Christchurch. For

services to medicine and the community

The Reverend Herepo Ruawhe HARAWIRA, of Whangarei.

For services to the Maori people. Patrick Anthony LAWLOR, of Wellington. For services to literature and the community.

Miss Muriel Wallace MAY, of Dunedin. For services to

education and literature.

Douglas William MELDRUM, J.P., of Kakanui, Oamaru.

For services to education. Howard Leslie MORRISON, of Ohinemutu. For services to

entertainment.

Basil Watson POTTER, M.B.E., of Wellington. Principal, Wellington Polytechnic 1962-75.

Miss Rita Frances SNOWDEN, of Takapuna, Auckland. For

services to literature.

John George WALKER, of Manurewa, Auckland. For services to athletics, especially as the first person to run the mile in less than 3 minutes 50 seconds.

The Reverend Ian Bendall WILSON, of Christchurch. For

services to hospital chaplaincy.

Dr Kazimierz Antoni z Granowa WODZICKI, of Wellington. For services to science and public services to the people of Niue and the Tokelau Islands.

To be Companions of the Queen's Service Order for Community Service (Q.S.O.):

Douglas DALTON, of Napier. Allen Augustine DINGWALL, of Christchurch. Stanley Roy KEY, of Palmerston North. Mrs Nancy Whanganui RIWAKA, J.P., of Picton.

Ernest Alfred SOPER, J.P., of New Plymouth.

Mrs Ernestine Hine Taria TIPENE, J.P., of Porangahau, Hawke's Bay

Max Lewis YOUNGER, of Auckland.

To be Companions of the Queen's Service Order for Public Services (Q.S.O.):

Miss Moreen Dorothy ABERCROMBIE, of Whangarei. The Honourable Percy Benjamin ALLEN, of Whakatane. Member of Parliament 1957-75, Minister of the Crown

Miss Greita Earle CLIFFORD-JONES, of Gisborne. Walter Sydney DAVISON, J.P., of Auckland. Norman Vazcy DOUGLAS, of Auckland. Member of Parliament 1960-75

ment 1960-75.

James Eckley ETHEREDGE, of Reefton.

Mrs Ethel Emma McMILLAN, J.P., of Dunedin. Member of Parliament 1953-75.

Eric Alwyn ROUSSELL, of Lower Hutt. Clerk of the House of Representatives 1971-75.

Allan Priestley THOMSON, of Wellington. Director-General

of Forests 1971-74.

To be Members of the Civil Division of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (M.B.E.):

Richard Dean BATT, of Palmerston North. Professor of Biochemistry, Massey University. For services to scientific research.

Alexander BRUNT, D.S.C., of Christchurch. For services to the community.

Miss Ellen Ada CARROLL (Sister Mary Bertrand) of Dunedin. For services to nursing.

William John CRIGHTON, of Levin. For services to youth. Miss Margaret Dorothy Louise DANIELS (Mrs Bezzant), of

Raumati Beach. For services to ballet.

Mrs Grace Darling DU FAUR, of Tauranga. For services to

education and the community.

Ernest Robert FIELD-DODGSON, of Christchurch. For services to the Royal Christchurch Musical Society Incorporated.

Leslie Charles FULFORD, J.P., of Christchurch. For services to the printing industry

John Crysell HEPBURN, of Hamilton. For services to education and the New Zealand Red Cross Society. David Peter JOSEPH, of Auckland. For services to the deaf.

Lawrence John KRAMMER, of Motueka. For services to local government

local government.

Ivan Gerald MAUGER, of Christchurch. For services to speedway riding.

Mrs Neta Doris NEALE, of Christchurch. For services to the Canterbury Children's Theatre Incorporated.

Philip Lloyd PAGE, J.P., of Havelock North. General Manager, Hawke's Bay Education Board since 1950.

Francis Edward Graham POORE, of Auckland. For services to music and opera

to music and opera.

Jeffrey Ellis ROBSON, of Auckland. For services to tennis and badminton.

Thomas Godfrey SANTON, E.D., J.P., of Taneatua, Bay of Plenty. For local body and community services.

Mrs Helen Merrilees THOMPSON, of Middlemarch, Central

Otago. For services to the community.

John Nicolls THOMSON, E.D., of Auckland. For services to

speech and drama teaching.

Miss Elsie Phyllis May VARNEY, of Wellington. Brigadier,
Salvation Army. For welfare services.

Bernard Rolleston WALKER, of Christchurch. For services to rowing.

Albert Thomas WALSH, of Invercargill. For services to the community.

The Queen's Service Medal for Community Service (Q.S.M.):

Mrs Alberta Aileen ANDERSON, of Cromwell.

Miss Nona Fiducia CAMPBELL (Sister Mary Juliana), of Christchurch.

Christchurch.
Mrs Eileen Marion GEORGE, of Wellington.
Alfred William HOLDSWORTH, of Auckland.
George Alexander HORNSEY, of Timaru.
Joseph William ISBISTER, of Auckland.
Mrs Doris Joy Ellen KOHN, of Inglewood.
Mrs Hana Romona MURRAY, of Otara, Auckland.

Peter Travis NORMAN, of Wellington. Mrs Runa Avis PARRY, of Auckland.

George Roal PHISKIE, of Waipu. Mrs Reta RENNIE, of Wanganui. Mrs Anne TIA, J.P., of Auckland.

Miss Louise Magdalene Te Owaina WALLSCOTT, J.P., of Dunedin.

The Venerable Archdeacon Robert John WITTY, of Christchurch.

The Queen's Service Medal for Public Services (Q.S.M.):

Sidney Hamilton BURDETT, J.P., of Ruatoria, East Coast.

Sam CHESNEY, of Lower Hutt.
Anthony James CLARKSON, of Turangi. Lately Industrial Superintendent, Ministry of Works and Development, Turangi.

Mrs Florence Ruby Jane CLEMETT, J.P., of Kaiapoi. Miss Eva Mary HALL, of Taradale. Mrs Lilian Rose HARTLEY, of Christchurch.

Mrs Lilian Rose HARTLEY, of Christchurch.
Miss Isabella HOWE, of Lumsden.
George Joseph JONES, of Dunedin. Lately Civil Engineering
Officer, Ministry of Works and Development, Dunedin.
Colin William James LAWRIE, of Pukekohe.
Mrs Nora Matewai McMILLAN, JP., of Levin.
Christopher MOUNTFORD, of Manurewa.
Bertie Lee STANLEY, of Auckland.
Colin Walter STEWART, of Auckland. Lately Tradesman's
Assistant, New Zealand Railways, Otahuhu.
Robert Gill YOUNG, J.P., of Hamilton.

British Empire Medal, Civil Division (B.E.M.):

Miss Elizabeth Viola BELL, of Matamata. For services to education, sport, and cultural activities.

Mrs Jean Elizabeth BOSS, of Eastbourne. For services to the community, especially the play centre movement. Mrs Aileen Linda GOODER, of Auckland. For services to

women's hockey. Mrs Dorothy Gwendolyn GRAY, of Plimmerton. For services

to the community Charles William HAUA, of Matapihi, Tauranga. For services

to the community Miss Agnes Jessie KELLY, of Invercargill. For services to

social welfare.
Russell Robert LAIDLAW, of Christchurch. For services to the community, especially as Secretary-Manager of Canterbury Society of Arts.

Mrs Lucy MARTINOVICH, of Ruawai, Northern Wairoa.

For services to the community.

Victor Carlo SMITH, of Otumoetai, Tauranga. For services to local body and Maori affairs.

David WAUGH, of Gisborne. For services as a bandmaster.

The Queen's Fire Service Medal for Distinguished Service $(\widetilde{Q}.F.S.M.)$:

John Edward DALTON, Chief Fire Officer, Te Awamutu Fire Brigade.

Walter Jacob MANNING, Chief Fire Officer, Morrinsville Volunteer Fire Brigade. Ivor Charles WESLEY, Chief Fire Officer, Dunedin Fire

Brigade.

Charles George WISHART, Chief Fire Officer, Shannon Volunteer Fire Brigade.