Appointments, Promotions, Extensions, Transfers, Resignations, and Retirements of Officers of the New Zealand Army

Pursuant to section 35 of the Defence Act 1971, Excellency the Governor-General has approved the following appointments, promotions, extensions, transfers, resignations, and retirements of officers of the New Zealand Army:

REGULAR FORCE

GRADUATES—OFFICER CADET SCHOOL, PORTSEA

The following Officer Cadets graduated from the Officer Cadet School, Portsea, and are appointed to commissions in the rank of 2nd Lieutenant in order and Corps shown, with effect from 14 June 1975:

Mark Ian Pope, Royal Regiment of N.Z. Artillery.
Thomas Everard Jones, The Corps of Royal N.Z. Engineers.
Peter John Speedy, Royal N.Z. Armoured Corps.
Anthony Francis Williams, Royal N.Z. Infantry Regiment.
Roger Raymond Stephenson, Royal N.Z. Army Service Corps.

Anthony Martin Wheeler, Royal N.Z. Army Service Corps. Warrenn Hay Mulcahy, Royal N.Z. Army Service Corps. Bruce Govan McGregor, Royal N.Z. Army Service Corps. Raymond Daryl Edward Edwards, Royal N.Z. Army Ordnance Corps.

Anthony Bryan Howie, Royal N.Z. Infantry Regiment.

ROYAL REGIMENT OF N.Z. ARTILLERY

Captain B. J. L. Hewitt, A.N.Z.I.M., to be Acting Major with effect from 12 January 1976 and temp. Major with effect from 24 January 1976.

Lieutenant D.K. Bowler to be temp. Captain with effect from 20 December 1973.

Lieutenant (temp. Captain) D. K. Bowler to be Captain with seniority and effect from 20 December 1975.

Lieutenant M. J. R. Pearce to be temp. Captain with effect from 1 November 1975.

ROYAL N.Z. ARMOURED CORPS

Captain (temp. Major) D. H. Crabb, E.D., is re-engaged until 19 December 1975.

Captain (temp. Major) D. H. Crabb, E.D., is reposted to the Territorial Force, H.Q. 3rd Infantry Brigade Group, in his present rank and seniority with effect from 19 December 1975

Captain (temp. Major) and Quartermaster David John Brunton is posted to the Retired List in the rank of Major and Quartermaster with effect from 13 December 1975.

2nd Lieutenant J. Coubrough to be Lieutenant with seniority

and effect from 20 December 1975.

THE CORPS OF ROYAL N.Z. ENGINEERS

Lieutenant S. Dickson, N.Z.C.E., to be temp. Captain with effect from 25 July 1975.

ROYAL N.Z. CORPS OF SIGNALS

Lieutenant R. A. Elston, B.Sc. (MIL.), to be temp. Captain with effect from 9 December 1975.

ROYAL N.Z. INFANTRY REGIMENT

Captain (temp. Major) J. W. Brown, M.C., to be Major with seniority and effect from 20 December 1975.
Captain (temp. Major) Garth Royden Hasell is posted to the Retired List in the rank of Major with effect from 8 November 1975.

Lieutenant (temp. Captain) and Quartermaster G. J. Brighouse, M.B.E., to be Captain and Quartermaster with seniority and effect from 1 July 1974.

Lieutenant (temp. Captain) P. F. Burrell to be Captain with seniority from 9 December 1974 and effect from 25 July 1975.

Lieutenant (temp. Captain) and Quartermaster R. W.

Lieutenant (temp. Captain) and Quartermaster R. W. Potaka to be Captain and Quartermaster with seniority and effect from 20 September 1975.

Lieutenant (temp. Captain) A. M. Howell is re-engaged until retiring age for rank with effect from 9 January 1976.

Lieutenant Richard Malcolm Bibby is transferred to the

Reserve of Officers, General List, Royal N.Z. Infantry Regiment in the rank of Lieutenant with effect from 3 January 1976.

ROYAL N.Z. ARMY SERVICE CORPS

Captain (temp. Major) Michael Frederick John Bent is posted to the Retired List in the rank of Major with effect from 28 January 1976.
Captain C. E. McIver to be temp. Major with effect from 20 October 1975.

ROYAL N.Z. ARMY MEDICAL CORPS

Captain Peter John Kirkland is posted to the Retired List with effect from 1 December 1975.

The seniority of Captain W. R. F. Smallman, M.B., CH.B., is ante-dated to 15 December 1971, with effect from 1 October

Lieutenant (temp. Captain) Robert Edward Howard is transferred to the Reserve of Officers, General List, Royal N.Z. Army Medical Corps in the rank of Captain, with effect from 5 January 1976.

Lieutenant G. T. Palenski to be temp. Captain with effect from 1 September 1975.

ROYAL N.Z. ARMY ORDNANCE CORPS

2nd Lieutenant J. S. Bolton to be Lieutenant with seniority and effect from 14 December 1975.

THE CORPS OF ROYAL N.Z. ELECTRICAL AND MECHANICAL ENGINEERS

Supernumerary List

Major and Quartermaster E. D. Wasson: with reference to the notice published in the *Gazette*, 12 June 1975, No. 49, p. 1287, for the date "23 January 1976" substitute "24 January 1976".

Major Edward David Wasson is posted to the Retired List with effect from 25 January 1976.

ROYAL N.Z. PROVOST CORPS

Captain and Quartermaster E. A. Burton is transferred to the Supernumerary List on reaching retiring age for rank with effect from 2 April 1976, and his engagement is extended until 1 April 1978.

ROYAL N.Z. ARMY EDUCATION CORPS

Lieutenant P. G. Cattermole, B.A., to be temp. Captain with effect from 10 December 1975.

John Davey, B.A., is appointed to a commission for an initial period of 3 years in the rank of Major with seniority and effect from 8 December 1975.

ROYAL N.Z. NURSING CORPS

Sister C. M. Hall to be Charge Sister with seniority and effect from 17 October 1975.

N.Z. Women's Royal Army Corps

2nd Lieutenant J. L. Brittenden to be Lieutenant with seniority and effect from 14 December 1975.

2nd Lieutenant J. A. Kelly to be Lieutenant with seniority and effect from 14 December 1975.

NEW ZEALAND CADET CORPS

Waitaki Boys' High School Cadet Unit, N.Z.C.C

Captain Owen Marshall Jones is posted to the Retired List with effect from 1 April 1972.

TERRITORIAL FORCE

ROYAL REGIMENT OF N.Z. ARTILLERY

3rd Field Regiment, RNZA

Captain R. L. C. Fisk to be Acting Major with effect from 18 November 1975.

The commission of 2nd Lieutenant (on prob.) M. D. Barclay is confirmed with effect from 1 May 1974.

The commission of 2nd Lieutenant (on prob.) W. D.

Sapsford is confirmed with effect from 6 November 1974.

The commission of 2nd Lieutenant (on prob.) F. R. Twiss

is confirmed with effect from 6 November 1974.

4th (G) Medium Battery, RNZA

Martyn Athol Bishop is appointed to a commission in the rank of 2nd Lieutenant (on prob.) with effect from 8 September 1975.

ROYAL N.Z. INFANTRY REGIMENT

2nd Battalion (Canterbury Nelson Marlborough West Coast), RNZIR

Lieutenant I. G. Schofield to be temp. Captain with effect from 12 October 1975.

The commission of 2nd Lieutenant (on prob.) H. P. Dale is confirmed with effect from 7 November 1974.

6th Battalion (Hauraki), RNZIR
Edward Paul Dean is appointed to a commission in the rank of 2nd Lieutenant (on prob.) with effect from 8 September 1975.

ROYAL N.Z. ARMY SERVICE CORPS

10th Transport Company (General Transport), RNZASC

2nd Lieutenant R. W. Tasker to be Lieutenant with seniority and effect from 1 April 1975.

ROYAL N.Z. ARMY MEDICAL CORPS

University Medical Unit, RNZAMC

The commissions of the following 2nd Lieutenants (on prob.) are confirmed in the rank of Lieutenant with seniority and effect from 6 December 1975: