G. P. Bennetts.

I. D. S. Civil.

The commission of 2nd Lieutenant (on prob.) S. D. Macfarlane is confirmed in the rank of Lieutenant with effect from 8 December 1975.

ROYAL N.Z. DENTAL CORPS

Captain S. G. Dearing, B.D.S., to be temp. Major with effect from 12 December 1975.

The commissions of the following 2nd Lieutenants (*on* prob.), of University Medical Unit, RNZAMC, are confirmed in the rank of Lieutenant on graduating B.D.S., with effect from 12 December 1975:

J. D. Hale.

P. J. Martin. S. G. Salis.

R. J. Twaddle.

RESERVE OF OFFICERS

Regimental List

3rd Battalion (Auckland (Countess of Ranfurly's Own) and Northland), RNZIR

Captain Thomas Norman McCallum is transferred to the Reserve of Officers, General List, Royal N.Z. Infantry Regi-ment, in the rank of Captain, with effect from 24 October 1975.

General List

The following officers are posted to the Retired List with effect from the dates shown:

Royal Regiment of N.Z. Artillery

Major Robert Frederick Horsley, E.D., 13 December 1975. Royal N.Z. Infantry Regiment

Major Richard Selwyn Fendall, E.D., 22 May 1975.

Royal N.Z. Army Service Corps

Captain William Davidson, 29 November 1974.

Royal N.Z. Army Medical Corps

Captain Richard William Hornabrook, M.D., F.R.A.C.P., 1 December 1975.

Royal N.Z. Chaplains' Department

Chaplain 4th Class Selwyn Hugh Jones, 10 October 1974. Royal N.Z. Defence Scientific Corps

Captain Raoul Norman Franklin, 4 September 1975. **RETIRED LIST**

Royal N.Z. Infantry Regiment

Captain and Quartermaster Edward Harrington Pattle: with reference to the notice published in the *Gazette*, 4 December 1975, No. 108, p. 2871, for the name "Pattel" substitute "Pattle".

Dated at Wellington this 2nd day of February 1976. ALL'AN MCCREADY, Minister of Defence.

Appointments, Promotions, Extensions, Transfers, Resignations, and Retirements of Officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force

PURSUANT to section 35 of the Defence Act 1971, His Excellency the Governor-General has approved the following appointments, promotions, extensions, transfers, resignations, and retirements of officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force:

REGULAR AIR FORCE

GENERAL DUTIES BRANCH

A ppointments

Flight Lieutenant R. W. Singleton to be temp. Squadron Leader with effect from 8 December 1975. Flight Lieutenant G. L. Wood is appointed to a career commission for a period to expire on 1 December 1986, with effect from 21 November 1975.

Promotions

Flying Officer (temp. Flight Lieutenant) A. G. White to be Flight Lieutenant with seniority and effect from 24 December 1975.

Flying Officer C. M. Rippey, B.SC., to be Flight Lieutenant with seniority from 6 December 1973 and effect from 30 December 1975.

Relinquishment of Rank

Flight Lieutenant (temp. Squadron Leader) N. F. Wright relinquishes the temporary rank of Squadron Leader with effect from 8 December 1975.

Transfers to Reserve

Squadron Leader Donald Raymond Smith, A.F.C., A.N.Z.I.M., is transferred to the Reserve of Air Force Officers until 31 December 1979, with effect from 1 January 1976. Flight Lieutenant Edward Yates Creelman is transferred to the reserve of Air Force Officers until 6 January 1980, with effect from 7 January 1976. Flight Lieutenant Colin George Simmons is transferred to

Flight Lieutenant Colin George Simmons is transferred to the Reserve of Air Force Officers until 6 January 1980, with effect from 7 January 1976.

Flight Lieutenant David Malcolm Bevan is transferred to the Reserve of Air Force Officers until 7 December 1979, with effect from 8 December 1975.

F'ight Lieutenant Christopher Robert James Peters is transferred to the Reserve of Air Force Officers until 6 January 1980, with effect from 7 January 1976.

1980, with effect from 7 January 1976. Flight Lieutenant Brian Leslie O'Neill, B.A., is transferred to the Reserve of Air Force Officers until 14 December 1979, with effect from 15 December 1975. Flight Lieutenant Bruce William Watson is transferred to the Reserve of Air Force Officers until 7 December 1979, with effect from 8 December 1975. Flying Officer Allan John Byrne is transferred to the Re-serve of Air Force Officers until 4 January 1980, with effect from 5 January 1976.

from 5 January 1976.

Transfers to Retired List

Squadron Leader Neil James Barr, M.C.I.T., is transferred to the Retired List "A" with effect from 14 December 1975. Squadron Leader John Maxted Terry is transferred to the Retired List "A" with effect from 17 January 1976.

ENGINEER BRANCH

Relinquishment of Rank

Flight Lieutenant (temp. Squadron Leader) W. A. K. Currie relinquishes the temporary rank of Squadron Leader with effect from 15 December 1975.

Transfer to Retired List

Wing Commander Eric Harold Armstrong is transferred to the Retired List "A" with effect from 25 December 1975.

Administration and Supply Branch

Appointments

Secretarial Division

Flying Officer P. J. Lynch to be temp. Flight Lieutenant with effect from 14 October 1975.

Supply Division

Flight Lieutenant H. B. Hudson to be temp. Squadron Leader with effect from 15 December 1975.

Flying Officer A. L. Meikle to be temp. Flight Lieutenant with effect from 20 November 1975.

Special Duties Division

Flying Officer P. R. Jordon to be temp. Flight Lieutenant with effect from 1 August 1975.

Promotions

Secretarial Division Pilot Officer A. C. Williams to be Flying Officer with seniority and effect from 25 November 1975.

Special Duties Division

Flying Officer K. H. McGregor, B.Sc., to be Flight Lieu-tenant with seniority and effect from 28 November 1975.

Extension of Age for Retirement

Supply Division

The age for retirement of Flight Lieutenant (temp. Squadron Leader) T. H. Crew is extended to 21 September 1980.

Transfer in Branch

Special Duties Division

Flight Lieutenant C. Hall is transferred to the Supply Division, in his present rank with seniority from 30 April 1974 and effect from 20 October 1975, and his short-service commission is extended until 26 January 1986, to be followed by 4 years on the Reserve of Air Force Officers.

Transfers to Reserve

Special Duties Division

Flight Lieutenant (acting Squadron Leader) Lester Warwick Tritt is transferred to the Reserve of Air Force Officers until

Flight Lieutenant Kerry Edwin Ragg, DIP.PHYS.ED., DIP.TCHG., PH.D., is transferred to the Reserve of Air Force Officers until 10 December 1979 with effect from 11 December 1975.