Midshipman (Acting Ensign) R. D. Muir to be Ensign with seniority from 5 January 1974 and effect from 24 November 1975.

ber 1975.
Ensign R. D. Muir to be Acting Sub Lieutenant with effect from 24 November 1975 and temp. Sub Lieutenant with effect from 5 January 1976.
Midshipman D. J. Gallaher to be Ensign with seniority from 7 January 1974 and effect from 24 November 1975.
Ensign D. J. Gallaher to be 'Acting Sub Lieutenant with effect from 24 November 1975 and temp. Sub Lieutenant with effect from 7 January 1976.
The appointment of Ensign John Malcolm Quilter is terminated with effect from 4 October 1975.
Midshipman P. J. Drew to be Ensign with seniority and

Midshipman P. J. Drew to be Ensign with seniority and effect from 18 January 1976.

Midshipman W. R. S. Johnston to be Acting Ensign with effect from 7 January 1976.

Midshipman B. C. McLennan to be Ensign with seniority and effect from 18 January 1976.

Midshipman (Acting Ensign) D. V. Anson to be Ensign with seniority from 3 January 1975 and effect from 24 November 1975.

ber 1975.

Midshipman W. L. Dawson to be Acting Ensign with effect from 7 January 1976.

Midshipman G. A. Rees to be Acting Ensign with effect

from 7 January 1976.

Midshipman D. G. Burnett to be Ensign with seniority and effect from 7 January 1976.

Midshipman D. S. Neal to be Ensign with seniority and effect from 7 January 1976.

Midshipman J. B. Pope to be Ensign with seniority and effect from 7 January 1976.

Midshipman I. R. Logan to be Ensign with seniority and effect from 18 January 1976.

### Women's Royal New Zealand Naval Service

Third Officer Janice Leslie is released with effect from 25 October 1975.

# ROYAL NEW ZEALAND NAVAL VOLUNTEER RESERVE

Commander Neil Gerard Howard, V.R.D., M.A. (HONS.), is placed on the Retired List of the RNZNVR with effect from 16 December 1975.

Lieutenant H. B. Louth, P.S.I., S.I. (H.N.C., U.K.), to be Lieutenant Commander with seniority from 23 May 1975 and effect from 30 November 1975.

Dated at Wellington this 5th day of February 1976.

ALLAN McCREADY, Minister of Defence.

Appointments, Promotions, Extensions, Relinquishments, Can-cellations, Transfers, Resignations of Officers in the New Zealand Cadet Forces

PURSUANT to section 59 of the Defence Act 1971, the Minister of Defence hereby approves the following appointments, promotions, extensions, relinquishments, cancellations, transfers, and resignations of the New Zealand Cadet Forces:

# SEA CADET CORPS

### Appointments

Desmond Aubrey Douglas is appointed to a commission in the rank of Sub Lieutenant with effect from 17 December 1975.

Terence Paul Carr is appointed to a commission in the rank of Ensign with effect from 17 December 1975.

#### Transfer

Sub Lieutenant Kevin Harvey Henderson is transferred from TS Waireka to TS Taupo.

#### Resignation

Sub Lieutenant Paul Manchester Tasker resigns his commission with effect from 31 December 1975.

# AIR TRAINING CORPS

## Appointments

Ernest Gerald Dix is appointed to a commission in the rank of Flying Officer with effect from 28 November 1975.
Graeme Eldred Jarvie is appointed to a commission in the rank of Pilot Officer with effect from 28 November 1975.
Steven Ray Tait is appointed to a commission in the rank of Pilot Officer on probation with effect from 28 November 1975.

Mervyn James Oien is appointed to a commission in the rank of Pilot Officer on probation with effect from 3 December

Peter Turner is appointed to a commission in the rank of Flying Officer with effect from 17 December 1975.

Pilot Officer Kevin Francis Tansley: with reference to the

notice published in the Gazette, 24 July 1975, No. 62, page 1613, for the date "20 June 1975" substitute "20 March 1975". Flight Lieutenant Clive Basil Cleland is appointed Unit Commander with effect from 16 December 1975.

Pilot Officer Richard Napier Miller is appointed Unit Commander with effect from 10 December 1975.

Flying Officer Robert Patrick Byrne is appointed Unit Commander with effect from 2 December 1975.

#### **Promotions**

Flying Officer T. C. Walsh to be Flight Lieutenant with effect from 11 December 1975.

Pilot Officer D. J. Wright to be Flying Officer with effect from 15 September 1975.

#### Extensions

Flight Lieutenant J. L. McIlroy is granted an extension of his commission until 9 January 1979.

Flying Officer R. Mc. Evans is granted an extension of his commission until 3 June 1978.

#### Relinquishments

Squadron Leader John Storie Flood relinquishes his appoint-

ment as Unit Commander No. 36 (Greymouth) ATC Squadron with effect from 2 December 1975.

Flight Lieutenant Sidney Wilfred McKenzie relinquishes his appointment as Unit Commander No. 37 (Thames) ATC Squadron with effect from 10 December 1975.

### Transfer to Supernumerary List

Flight Lieutenant Alwyn Erasmus Boyd is transferred to the Supernumerary List for 1 year with effect from 1 June 1975.

# Resignations

Pilot Officer Michael Wallace Duncan resigns his commission with effect from 17 September 1975.

Squadron Leader John Storie Flood resigns his commission

with effect from 1 December 1975.

Flight Lieutenant Sidney Wilfred McKenzie resigns his commission with effect from 9 December 1975.

Squadron Leader Brian Elliot Nuttal resigns his commission with effect from 3 December 1975.

### SCHOOL CADET CORPS

#### Appointments

Bryce Staples Wilkins is appointed to a commission in the rank of 2nd Lieutenant on probation with effect from 28 November 1975.

Paul Kilford Brown is appointed to a commission in the rank of 2nd Lieutenant with effect from 5 December 1975. Lieutenant Dennis Samuel John Gardner: with reference to the notice published in the *Gazette*, 13 November 1975, No. 101, page 2531, for the name "Gardiner" substitute "Gardner".

## Transfer to Supernumerary List

2nd Lieutenant Paul Kilford Brown is transferred to the Supernumerary List for 1 year with effect from 5 December

### Resignation

Lieutenant Anthony Lewis Anker resigns his commission with effect from 27 November 1975.

Dated at Wellington this 20th day of January 1976.

ALLAN McCREADY, Minister of Defence.

Appointments, Promotions, Extensions, Transfers, Resignations, and Retirements of Officers of the Royal New Zealand Navv

Pursuant to section 35 of the Defence Act 1971, His Excellency the Governor-General has approved the following appointments, promotions, extensions, transfers, resignations, and retirements of officers of the New Zealand Naval Forces.

# ROYAL NEW ZEALAND NAVY

Commander Murray Charles Verran is placed on the Retired List with effect from 31 January 1976.

Lieutenant Commander (temp. Commander) Arthur Ross Mitchell is placed on the Retired List with effect from 1 November 1975.

The appointment of Lieutenant Commander R. J. Tucker. N.Z.I.E., is extended to 18 February 1981.

Instructor Lieutenant Commander (temp. Instructor Commander) Douglas John Stewart, M.A., DIP.TCHG., is placed on the Retired List with effect from 20 January 1976.

Lieutenant Commander P. H. J. Price, V.R.D., A.A.I.I., (RNZNVR) is appointed to the RNZN in his present rank