Appointments, Promotions, Extensions, Transfers, Resignations, and Retirements of Officers of the New Zealand Army

PURSUANT to section 35 of the Defence Act 1971, His Excellency the Governor-General has approved the following appointments, promotions, extensions, transfers, resignations, and retirements of officers of the New Zealand Army.

#### REGULAR FORCE

# GRADUATES-ROYAL MILITARY COLLEGE, DUNTROON

The following Officer Cadets graduated from the Royal Military College, Duntroon, and are appointed to commissions in the rank of Lieutenant in order and Corps shown, with effect from 10 December 1975:

Louis Joseph Gardiner, B.A.(MIL.), Royal N.Z. Army Ordnance Corps.

Ian Andrew John Marshall, B.SC. (MIL.), Royal Regiment of N.Z. Artillery.

Keith Dean Schollum, B.A. (MIL.), Royal N.Z. Armoured

#### GRADUATES-OFFICER CADET SCHOOL, PORTSEA

The following Officer Cadets graduated from the Officer Cadet School, Portsea, and are appointed to commissions in the rank of 2nd Lieutenant in order and Corps shown, with effect from 13 December 1975:

Geoffrey David Cain, Royal N.Z. Army Ordnance Corps. Arthur Isaac Francis Gumbley, Royal N.Z. Corps of Signals. Christopher Alan Johnson, the Corps of Royal N.Z.

Electrical and Mechanical Engineers.
Paul Alexander Streeter, Royal N.Z. Army Ordnance Corps.
David Howard Watmuff, Royal N.Z. Army Ordnance Corps.

#### BRIGADIERS' LIST

Brigadier A. H. Sutton, M.A. (HONS.), is transferred to the Supernumerary List on reaching retiring age for rank with effect from 4 February 1976, and his engagement is extended until 4 August 1976.

Brigadier Russell Williden Kerr Ainge, O.B.E., is posted to the Retired List with effect from 1 March 1976.

## ROYAL REGIMENT OF N.Z. ARTILLERY

Major G. D. Birch, M.B.E., to be acting Lieutenant Colonel with effect from 2 February 1976 and temp. Lieutenant Colonel with effect from 14 February 1976.

Supernumerary List

Major Redvers Beauchamp Potts is posted to the Retired List with effect from 9 February 1976.

### ROYAL N.Z. ARMOURED CORPS

# Colonel Commandant

MacIntyre, D.S.O., O.B.E., E.D., Retired List, is appointed Colonel Commandant, Royal N.Z. Armoured Corps, for a term of 4 years with effect from 1 March 1976, vice Brigadier C. L. Pleasants, C.B.E., D.S.O., M.C., E.D., Retired

# THE CORPS OF ROYAL N.Z. ENGINEERS

Captain David John Powley is transferred to the Reserve of Officers, General List, The Corps of Royal N.Z. Engineers in the rank of Captain with effect from 29 February 1976.

Lieutenant (temp. Captain) J. A. Tymkin is re-engaged until retiring age for rank with effect from 30 January 1976.
Lieutenant Adrian Richard Hewitt Wells is posted to the Retired List with effect from 16 December 1975.

Officer Cadet Mark Gerard Thompson is appointed to a commission in the rank of 2nd Lieutenant with seniority and effect from 6 December 1975.

## ROYAL N.Z. INFANTRY REGIMENT

Captain P. T. McAndrew is re-engaged until 28 March 1979.

Lieutenant (temp. Captain) and Quartermaster D. F. Williams, M.B.E., to be Captain and Quartermaster with seniority and effect from 10 December 1975.

The following Lieutenants (temp. Captains) to be Captain with seniority and effect from 20 December 1975:

A. M. Howell.

D. S. Carter.
M. R. N. de Joux.
Lieutenant S. J. R. Hollander to be temp. Captain with effect from 15 October 1975.

The following 2nd Lieutenants to be Lieutenant with seniority and effect from 20 December 1975:

S. D. Gray. C. J. Hodkinson.

I. D. Healy.

M. E. Wischnowsky.

. Christie.

Officer Cadet Patrick John Hibbs is appointed to a commission in the rank of 2nd Lieutenant with seniority and effect from 6 December 1975.

### ROYAL N.Z. ARMY SERVICE CORPS

Lieutenant Colonel Kenneth Robert Cooke, B.C.A., A.N.Z.I.M., is transferred to the Reserve of Officers, Regimental List, Headquarters Field Force Command, in his present rank and seniority pending appointment to the Territorial Force, with effect from 14 February 1976.

Captain (temp. Major) R. J. McGill to be Major with seniority and effect from 20 December 1975.

Captain A. R. Dixon is re-engaged until 11 January 1978. Lieutenant (temp. Captain) K. L. Philip to be Captain with seniority and effect from 21 December 1975.

Lieutenant and Quartermaster T. Cooper to be temp. Captain and Quartermaster with effect from 15 December 1975.

Lieutenant R. D. MacIntyre, B.A. (MIL.), to be temp. Captain with effect from 13 December 1975.

2nd Lieutenant M. T. Madden to be Lieutenant with seniority and effect from 20 December 1975.

#### ROYAL N.Z. ARMY ORDNANCE CORPS

Captain (temp. Major) G. M. Corkin to be Major with seniority and effect from 20 December 1975.

Lieutenant (temp. Captain) M. D. Stuart, B.A.(MIL.), to be Captain with seniority and effect from 15 December 1975.

Lieutenant E. W. G. Thomson, B.A.(MIL.), to be temp. Captain with effect from 12 December 1975.

2nd Lieutenant P. J. Blundell to be Lieutenant with seniority and effect from 20 December 1975.

THE CORPS OF ROYAL N.Z. ELECTRICAL AND MECHANICAL ENGINEERS

Lieutenant R. W. Strugnell to be temp. Captain with effect from 14 October 1975.

Lieutenant J. W. Parsons, B.E. (ELECT.MIL.) (HONS.), to be temp. Captain with effect from 12 December 1975.

## ROYAL N.Z. DENTAL CORPS

Major Peter John Clarke, B.D.S., M.D.S. (OTAGO), F.A.C.D.S., relinquishes the appointment of Consultant Oral Surgeon to the New Zealand Armed Forces, and is transferred to the Territorial Force with effect from 31 January 1976.

The seniority of the following is ante-dated to the dates shown, with effect from 1 October 1975:

Captain K. J. R. Weston, B.D.S., 8 December 1967.

Captain D. P. Watt, B.D.S., 8 December 1967. Captain J. W. Bell, B.D.S., 7 December 1968. Captain (temp. Major) J. T. Papaconstantinou, B.D.S., M.SC., 7 December 1968.

Captain D. N. Horne, B.D.S., 7 December 1968

Captain D. N. Horne, B.D.S., 7 December 1968.
Captain D. J. McAllister, B.D.S., 7 December 1968.
Captain G. A. Williams, B.D.S., 5 December 1969.
Captain A. R. Park, B.D.S., 12 December 1970.
Captain A. D. Collie, B.D.S., 12 December 1970.
Captain B. W. Small, B.D.S., 10 December 1971.
Captain R. N. Greenslade, B.D.S., 10 December 1971.
Lieutenant D. C. Macalister, B.D.S., 13 December 1973.
Lieutenant B. K. Robertson, B.D.S., 13 December 1973.
Captain J. D. C. Fuller, B.D.S., is appointed to a Regular Dental Commission with effect from 15 January 1976.
Captain Richard John Clark, B.D.S., is transferred to the Reserve of Officers, General List, Royal N.Z. Dental Corps, in the Rank of Captain with effect from 11 January 1976.

## ROYAL N.Z. CHAPLAINS' DEPARTMENT

# Chaplain Commandant

Chaplain 2nd Class the Very Reverend Owen Thomas Baragwanath, O.B.E., E.D., B.A. (PRES.), Retired List, is appointed Chaplain Commandant, RNZChD., for a period of 3 years, vice Chaplain 3rd Class Reverend Father J. L. Kingan, M.C., B.A., Retired List, with effect from 1 January 1976.

Chaplain 4th Class B. S. Cox, L.TH. (ANGLICAN) is re-engaged

until 18 February 1979.

### ROYAL N.Z. ARMY EDUCATION CORPS

Captain M. L. Preece, B.Sc., is re-engaged until 7 January 1981.

Captain and Quartermaster Henry Cherrington, B.E.M., is posted to the Retired List with effect from 20 February 1976.

# ROYAL N.Z. NURSING CORPS

Charge Sister (temp. Matron) J. E. Grant to be Matron with seniority and effect from 10 January 1976.

The following are re-engaged until the dates shown:

Charge Sister M. J. Hunt, 31 March 1978.

Charge Sister A. G. Rameka, 11 February 1978.