Lieutenant H. H. M. Kipa, C.ENG., M.I.MAR.E., M.N.Z.I.E., to be temp. Lieutenant Commander, with effect from 1 December 1975.

The appointment of Midshipman K. B. Hughes is reduced

to 17 January 1981.

WOMEN'S ROYAL NEW ZEALAND NAVAL SERVICE

Third Officer Penelope Margaret McGhie is released with

effect from 20 April 1976.

Wendy Isabel Alsop, WRNS (Ret'd.) is appointed to the WRNZNS as Third Officer, with seniority from 27 January 1974 and effect from 23 February 1976.

The following are appointed to the WRNZNS as Fourth Officers (on prob.), with effect from 23 February 1976:

Marion Alice Renner.

Louise Claudette Joy Somervell.

ROYAL NEW ZEALAND NAVAL VOLUNTER RESERVE

Commander Neil Gerard Howard, V.R.D., M.A.(HONS.), is placed on the Retired List of the RNZNVR, with effect from 31 May 1976.
The appointment of Chaplain J. Teal, v.r.d., B.Sc., is extended

to 28 February 1977.

The appointment of Surgeon Lieutenant Commander N. C. McGill, V.R.D., M.R.C.S.(ENG.), L.R.C.P.(LOND.), is extended to 13 October 1978.

The appointment of Lieutenant Commander Roger Thomas Weston, R.D., M.A., is terminated at his own request, with effect from 31 October 1975.

The appointment of Lieutenant Commander N. G. Ritchie, v.R.D., is extended to 2 March 1978.

The appointment of Lieutenant I. J. Taylor, v.r.d., is extended to 14 May 1977.

extended to 14 May 1977.

The appointment of Sub Lieutenant John Neil McLean, M.A., Ll.B., is terminated, with effect from 10 April 1976. Sub Lieutenant G. W. J. Briggs: with reference to the notice published in the Gazette, 25 March 1976, No. 30, page 645, for "19 April 1993" substitute "20 April 1993".

Allan Robert Bleakley, 104474, ORD, to be Sub Lieutenant, with seniority and effect from 22 March 1976, and is appointed to the RNZNVR List 1 until 31 January 1981. Sub Lieutenant A. R. Bleakley to be Acting Lieutenant, with effect from 22 March 1976.

Christopher Edward Overy is appointed to the RNZNVR.

Christopher Edward Overy is appointed to the RNZNVR List I in the rank of Sub Lieutenant, with seniority and effect from 22 March 1976; terminating on 28 July 1999.

Sub Lieutenant C. E. Overy to be temp. Lieutenant, with effect from 22 March 1976.

effect from 22 March 1976.
Ensign Barry Christopher Webster is re-appointed to the RNZNVR List 1 in the rank of Sub Lieutenant (Acting Lieutenant), with effect from 22 March 1976.
John Thomas Preece, 102576, AB., to be Ensign, with seniority and effect from 22 March 1976, and is appointed to the RNZNVR List 1 until 13 May 1996.
Ian Stanley Kingston, 100550, ORD, to be Midshipman, with seniority and effect from 22 March 1976, and is appointed to the RNZNVR List 1, until 16 December 2001.

Dated at Wellington this 11th day of May 1976.

ALLAN McCREADY, Minister of Defence.

Appointments, Promotions, Extensions, Transfers, Resignations, and Retirements of Officers of the Royal New Zealand Air

PURSUANT to section 35 of the Defence Act 1971, His Excellency the Governor-General has approved the following appointments, promotions, extensions, transfers, resignations, and retirements of officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force.

REGULAR AIR FORCE

GENERAL DUTIES BRANCH

A ppointment

Flight Lieutenant Robert Ian Booth, from the Royal Air Force, is appointed to a short-service commission, for a period of 4 years in the rank of Flight Lieutenant, with seniority from 29 March 1971 and effect from 29 March 1976, to be followed by four years on the Reserve of Air Force Officers.

Promotions

Flying Officer M. L. McGeorge to be Flight Lieutenant, with seniority and effect from 9 April 1976.

Pilot Officer G. B. Lintott to be Flying Officer, with seniority and effect from 20 September 1975.

The following Pilot Officers to be Flying Officers with seniority and effect from 17 April 1976:

S. J. Cairns.

H. H. George.

P. C. Martin.

K. A. George

J. G. Headifen.

D. W. Phillips. M. E. R. Panther.

R. A. Jannesen.

Extension of Commission

The short-service commission of Flight Lieutenant W. Curtis is extended to 15 February 1979, to be followed by 4 years on the Reserve of Air Force Officers.

Cancellations of Commission

The short-service commission of Acting Pilot Officer Gregory Ian Strath Allan is cancelled, with effect from 28 April 1976.

The short-service commission of Acting Pilot Officer Philip Llewellyn Evans is cancelled, with effect from 21 April 1976.

Transfer to Retired List

Squadron Leader Thomas Sydney Lambert is transferred to the Retired List "A", with effect from 20 April 1976.

ENGINEER BRANCH

Promotions

Flying Officer (temp. Flight Lieutenant) A. M. Gill, N.Z.C.E., to be Flight Lieutenant, with seniority and effect from 4 April 1976.

Flying Officer I. M. Guthrie, N.Z.C.E., to be Flight Lieutenant, with seniority and effect from 4 April 1976.

Flying Officer K. R. Dixon, N.Z.C.E., to be Flight Lieutenant, with seniority and effect from 4 April 1976.

Flying Officer M. P. Smith to be Flight Lieutenant, with seniority and effect from 9 April 1976.

Flying Officer (temp. Flight Lieutenant) M. W. Ford to be Flight Lieutenant, with seniority and effect from 9 April 1976.

Pilot Officer T. J. Iellie to be Flying Officer, with seniority and effect from 7 April 1976.

Pilot Officer P. A. Harrison to be Flying Officer, with seniority and effect from 7 April 1976.

Transfers to Reserve

Flight Lieutenant Robert Cunningham Allan is transferred to the Reserve of Air Force Officers until 6 April 1980, with effect from 7 April 1976.

Flight Lieutenant Patrick Christopher Rice, M.B.E., is transferred to the Reserve of Air Force Officers until 18 December

1977, with effect from 9 April 1976.

ADMINISTRATIVE AND SUPPLY BRANCH

Appointment .

Secretarial Division

Flight Lieutenant B. F. R. Gladwell to be temp. Squadron Leader, with effect from 26 April 1976.

Secretarial Division

Pilot Officer M. J. House to be Flying Officer, with seniority and effect from 7 April 1976.

Supply Division

Flight Lieutenant (temp. Squadron Leader) W. R. Chappell to be Squadron Leader, with seniority and effect from 12 April 1976.

Flying Officer (temp. Flight Lieutenant) A. L. Meikle to be Flight Lieutenant, with seniority and effect from 9 April

Special Duties Division

Flying Officer R. B. Smith to be Flight Lieutenant, with seniority and effect from 14 April 1976.

Relinquishment of Rank

Secretarial Division

Flight Lieutenant (temp. Squadron Leader) R. Tennent relinquishes the temp. rank of Squadron Leader, with effect from 26 April 1976.

Transfer to Reserve

Supply Division

Flight Lieutenant (temp. Squadron Leader) Henry Bycroft Hudson is transferred to the Reserve of Air Force Officers in the rank of Squadron Leader until 19 April 1980, with effect from 20 April 1976.

EDUCATION BRANCH

Promotions

Flight Lieutenant G. J. Voyce, A.N.Z.I.M., to be Squadron Leader, with seniority and effect from 12 April 1976.
Pilot Officer L. F. Butts to be Flying Officer, with seniority

and effect from 7 April 1976.