Section D was deleted and the following substituted:

D1. The Council may appoint such national committees as are necessary for its international affiliations.

D2. Functions:

- (a) The national committees shall be the channels of communication with the international unions and the scientific committees of the International Council of Scientific Unions (I.C.S.U.), or other international and national organisations, and shall co-ordinate New Zealand activities in relation to them;
- (b) The national committees may communicate direct with the appropriate international union, or other organisa-tion except on matters involving a major commit-ment for New Zealand or the Society, and shall inform the Council about such communications in their annual reports:
- (c) The chief matters, on which international communica-tion should be made through the International Secretary of the Society, are:

 (i) Composition of New Zealand national commit-

tees:

(ii) Appointment of delegates to meetings of, or convened by, international organisations;

(iii) Matters of policy or commitment, and any financial commitment.

D3. Constitution and Organisation:

- (a) Each national committee shall normally consist of not more than six members;
- (b) The International Secretary or his nominee shall be ex officio an additional member of every national committee;
- (c) Any New Zealand member of an I.C.S.U. union executive body shall be ex officio an additional member of the appropriate national committee;
- (d) The constitution and membership of each National Committee shall be determined by the Council, having regard to representation of the sciences to be served by that national committee;
- (e) Each national committee shall elect a convener from amongst its appointed members;
- (f) Each national committee shall report annually to Council

- (i) Meetings held and business transacted; (ii) Meetings of the related International Union or
- other organisation and on New Zealand representa-tion and contributions thereat; (iii) Offices of the Union held by New Zealanders; (iv) Committee recommendations including such matters as national correspondents when appropriate;
- (g) Amendments to the constitutions of national committees shall be made only by the Council;
- (h) In general no person shall be an appointed member of more than one national committee;
- (i) Each national committee shall be responsible for appointing correspondents to international unions, commissions, sections or associations of I.C.S.U. unions.

D4. Appointment Procedures:

- (a) Each national committee shall be appointed by the Council, after inviting nominations from fellows and member bodies;
- (b) Nominations for membership of national committees shall be submitted on nomination forms bearing the nominee's signature indicating willingness to serve the term of appointment, and also the nominee's field of interest, status and employment;
- (c) One third of the membership of each national committee shall be appointed or re-appointed each year;
- (d) After the application of transitional provisions each member shall be appointed for a term of three years and may then be re-appointed for a second term after which the member shall not be eligible for re-appointment until after the lapse of one year;
- (e) Casual vacancies on national committees shall be filled by the Council;
- (f) Each member body may submit nominations for any national committee;
- (g) Each member body may provide the member bodies' committee, and through it the Council, with a list of all national committees in which it is interested, and shall state the extent of that interest;

- (h) When a new national committee is established the procedure outlined in Rule D4 (g) shall be repeated;
- (i) When a new member body is admitted it shall be asked to state its interests in line with Rule D4 (g).

D. 5 Reassessment:

- (a) The Council shall seek the opinions of appropriate member bodies before entering into new international affiliations;
- (b) The Council may dissolve any national committee whose functions cease to be appropriate to science in New Zealand.

SECTION E-THE MEMBER BODIES' COMMITTEE

(a) Rule E2 was modified to read:

Each member body may appoint a representative to the member bodies' committee. The Council may, however, on written application from two or more member bodies, at least one of which consists of fewer than 200 members, authorise one person to represent two or more member bodies.

(b) Rule E9 was deleted and the following substituted:

The member bodies' committee shall appoint a management committee which shall transact urgent and routine business.

SECTION JIII—HAMILTON MEMORIAL FUND

In Rules JIII 3, 6, 7, 8, 9, and 10, all reference to the Hamilton Memorial Medal was deleted; Rule JIII 4 was omitted and subsequent sides of the second sid ted and subsequent rules renumbered.

SECTION JIX-THE SKINNER FUND

In Rule JIX 5 the words "sectional committee on anthropological sciences" in the sixth line were deleted.

MARGARET E. MARSH, General Secretary.

Wellington, 21 June 1976.

Renewal Loan No. 2 1076

Consenting to Raising of Loans by Certain Local Authorities

PURSUANT to the Local Authorities Loans Act 1956, the undersigned Assistant Secretary to the Treasury, acting under powers delegated to the Secretary to the Treasury by the Minister of Finance, hereby consents to the borrowing by the local authorities, mentioned in the Schedule hereto, of the whole or any part of the respective amounts specified in that Schedule.

SCHEDULE Amount Local Authority and Name of Loan Consented to Christchurch Drainage Board: Renewal Loan No. 4, 1976 268,000 Horowhenua Electric Power Board: Home Insulation Loan No. 4, 1976 7,000 Inglewood County Council: Rural Housing Loan No. 15, 1976 50.000 Manukau City Council:

Ronewal Loan 140. 2, 1970		11/11/1	******	24,700
Marlborough Hospital Board:				
Redemption Loan 1976		*****		50,000
Milton Borough Council:				
Library Loan 1976				15,000
North Canterbury Electric Power Board:				
Redemption Loan 1976				10,000
Otautau Town Council:				

04 700

Water Supply Renewal Loan 1976 33,396 Thames-Coromandel District Council: Whitianga Water Supply Loan 1976
Staff Housing Loan No. 1, 1976 40,000

20,500 Waimairi County Council: Main Roads Construction Loan 1976 200,000

Waitemata City Council: Redemption Loan No. 3, 1976 Redemption Loan No. 4, 1976 21,900 11.100 Dated at Wellington this 28th day of June 1976.

S. A. McLEOD, Assistant Secretary to the Treasury.