of Auckland, to be a member of the Accident Compensation Commission, for a term of 3 years, commencing on the 1st day of July 1976.

As witness the hand of His Excellency the Governor-General this 23rd day of June 1976.

J. B. GORDON, Minister of Labour.

Appointments, Promotions, Extensions, Transfers, Resignations, and Retirements of Officers of the New Zealand Army

PURSUANT to section 35 of the Defence Act 1971, His Excellency the Governor-General has approved the following appointments, promotions, extensions, transfers, resignations, and retirements of officers of the New Zealand Army:

REGULAR FORCE

ROYAL REGIMENT OF N.Z. ARTILLERY

Captain D. T. Weston to be temp. Major with effect from 10 May 1976.

THE CORPS OF ROYAL N.Z. ENGINEERS

Major B. G. Jenkin to be acting Lieutenant Colonel with effect from 6 December 1975 and temp. Lieutenant Colonel with effect from 14 December 1975.

Captain Glyn Maxwell Davies is transferred to the Reserve of Officers, General List, The Corps of Royal N.Z. Engineers, in the rank of Captain with effect from 31 May 1976.

Lieutenant (temp. Captain) G. R. Jasonsmith, B.E., to be Captain with seniority and effect from 15 December 1975.

G37082 Warrant Officer Class I Wyatt George Watling Williams is appointed to a Regular Commission in the rank of

Lieutenant and Quartermaster, with seniority and effect from 3 May 1976.

ROYAL N.Z. INFANTRY REGIMENT

Major Paul Farringdon Hayes is posted to the Retired List with effect from 8 June 1976.

Captain R. S. Miller to be acting Major with effect from 24 May 1976.

Taptain IN. J. Fry, A.N.Z.I.M., to be temp. Major with effect from 12 May 1976.

Captain P. O. Maguire to be temp. Major with effect from 31 May 1976.

Captain and Quartermaster Rowan Alfred Gibson, A.N.Z.I.M., M.R.E.I.N.Z., is transferred to the Reserve of Officers, General List, Royal N.Z. Infantry Regiment, in the rank of Captain and Quartermaster with effect from 29 May 1976.

2nd Lieutenant John Michael Tatham resigns his commission

with effect from 8 May 1976.

J821430 Warrant Officer Class I Douglas Ian Mackintosh is appointed to a Regular Commission in the rank of Lieutenant and Quartermaster with seniority and effect from 15 April 1976.

ROYAL N.Z. ARMY SERVICE CORPS

Major and Quartermaster Norman Caithness McPherson is posted to the Retired List with effect from 31 May 1976.

THE CORPS OF ROYAL N.Z. ELECTRICAL AND MECHANICAL ENGINEERS

Major John Robert Dyer, A.I.I.E., A.N.Z.I.M., is transferred to the Reserve of Officers, General List, The Corps of Royal N.Z. Electrical and Mechanical Engineers, in the rank of Major with effect from 26 June 1976.

Captain James Beverley Bickner is posted to the Retired

List with effect from 21 June 1976.

Lieutenant and Quartermaster M. J. Crabbe is re-engaged until retiring age for rank.

N.Z. ARMY LEGAL SERVICE

Lieutenant D. R. F. Gardiner, LL.B., to be Captain with seniority and effect from 4 June 1976.

ROYAL N.Z. NURSING CORPS

Charge Sister M. J. Carswell, DIP.N., to be temp. Matron with effect from 12 April 1976.
Charge Sister Anna Margaret Johnstone is transferred to the Territorial Force with effect fom 13 May 1976.
Charge Sister Christene Mary Hall is posted to the Retired List with effect from 12 June 1976.

Beverly Dorothy Fittock is appointed to a commission in the rank of Sister, with seniority from 1 April 1974 and effect from 19 May 1976, for duty with the Royal New Zealand Naval Hospital.

N.Z. Women's Royal Army Corps

Lieutenant Rosemary Joy Hollander resigns her commission with effect from 12 June 1976.

TERRITORIAL FORCE

ROYAL REGIMENT OF N.Z. ARTILLERY

4th (G) Medium Battery, RNZA

Captain G. W. H. Vercoe to be temp. Major with effect from 7 May 1976.

16th Field Regiment, RNZA

Lieutenant Max James Carpenter, N.Z.C.E., is transferred to the Reserve of Officers, Regimental List, 16th Field Regiment, RNZA, in the rank of Lieutenant, with effect from 31 January

ROYAL N.Z. ARMOURED CORPS

1st Squadron, New Zealand Scottish, RNZAC

2nd Lieutenant D. W. M. Bennett to be Lieutenant with seniority and effect from 1 April 1976.
2nd Lieutenant K. J. Taylor to be Lieutenant with seniority and effect from 1 April 1976.

THE CORPS OF ROYAL N.Z. ENGINEERS

1st Field Squadron, RNZE

2nd Lieutenant A. J. H. McGovern: with reference to the notice published in the *Gazette*, 27 May 1976, No. 60, p. 1161, for "Anthony James Healy" substitute "Anthony James Healy" McGovern".

Craig Leonard Towers is appointed to a commission in the rank of 2nd Lieutenant (on prob.) with effect from 29 March 1976.

ROYAL N.Z. INFANTRY REGIMENT

2nd Battalion (Canterbury Nelson Marlborough West Coast), **RNZIR**

2nd Lieutenant R. L. Howard to be Lieutenant with seniority

and effect from 1 May 1976.

Danny Morris Watson is appointed to a commission in the rank of 2nd Lieutenant (on prob.) with effect from 19 February 1976.

4th Battalion (Otago and Southland), RNZIR

Licutenant J. N. Baxter, M.B. CH.B., RNZAMC, to be Captain with seniority and effect from 12 December 1975.

5th Battalion (Wellington West Coast and Taranaki), RNZIR

2nd Lieutenant T. I. Down to be Lieutenant with seniority and effect from 12 February 1976.

The commission of 2nd Lieutenant (on prob.) S. A. G. Foote is confirmed with effect from 8 February 1974.

The commission of 2nd Lieutenant (on prob.) M. M. Hoskins is confirmed with effect from 27 March 1975.

7th Battalion (Wellington (City of Wellington's Own) and Hawke's Bay), RNZIR.

Captain (temp. Major) C. J. Hodson, E.D., to be Major with seniority and effect from 23 September 1975.

2nd Lieutenant W. K. Dewes to be Lieutenant with seniority and effect from 7 February 1976.

ROYAL N.Z. ARMY MEDICAL CORPS

1st Field Hospital, RNZAMC

The commission of 2nd Lieutenant (on prob.) W. J. Childs is confirmed with effect from 6 December 1974.

The commission of 2nd Lieutenant (on prob.) G. J. Desborough is confirmed with effect from 6 December 1974.

The commission of 2nd Lieutenant (on prob.) A. A. Young is confirmed with effect from 6 December 1974.

James Sydney Willis is appointed to a commission in the rank of 2nd Lieutenant (on prob.) with effect from 5 January 1976.

2nd (G.H.) Field Hospital, RNZAMC

The commission of 2nd Lieutenant (on prob.) I. S. Loan is confirmed with effect from 6 December 1974.

Lieutenant Robert Maclean Loan, M.B., CH.B., resigns his commission with effect from 16 May 1976.

9th Mobile Bacteriological Laboratory, RNZAMC

2nd Lieutenant R. M. Millard, M.SC., to be Lieutenant with seniority and effect from 1 October 1975.

ROYAL N.Z. CHAPLAINS' DEPARTMENT

Chaplain 3rd Class Gerard Thomas Marks (Baptist) is transferred to the Reserve of Officers, General List, Royal N.Z. Chaplains' Department in the rank of Chaplain 3rd Class, with effect from 25 May 1976.

Chaplain 4th Class T. W. Melbourne (Anglican) to be Chap-

lain 3rd Class with seniority and effect from 12 June 1975.

Chaplain 4th Class I. C. Smith (Anglican) to be Chaplain 3rd Class with seniority and effect from 18 December 1975.