Appointments to the Privy Council

It has been announcd in London that The Queen has been graciously pleased, on the occasion of the New Year, to declare that the undermentioned shall be sworn of Her Majesty's Most Honourable Privy Council:

The Honourable Brian Edward TALBOYS, M.P., Deputy Prime Minister of New Zealand.
The Honourable Mr Justice Robin Brunskill COOKE, Judge

of the Court of Appeal of New Zealand.

Dated at Wellington this 1st day of January 1977.

D. C. WILLIAMS, Official Secretary, Government House.

New Year Honours List 1977

His Excellency the Governor-General has announced that The Queen has been graciously pleased, on the occasion of the New Year, to confer the following honours:

CIVIL LIST

To be a Knight Commander of the Most Distinguished Order of Saint Michael and Saint George (K.C.M.G.):

The Honourable John Kenneth McALPINE, C.M.G., Christchurch. For public services especially as chairman of the New Zealand Ports Authority since 1969.

To be a Knight Commander of the Civil Division of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (K.B.E.):

Dr Charles Alexander FLEMING, O.B.E., F.R.S., of Wellington. For services to science and conservation.

To be Knights Bachelor:

The Honourable Mr Justice Robin Brunskill COOKE, of

Wellington. Judge of the Court of Appeal. Victor Caddy DAVIES, O.B.E., J.P., of New Plymouth. For

services to horticulture.

David Norman PERRY, M.B.E., of Opotiki. For services to the community and Maori people.

To be a Companion of the Civil Division of the Most Honourable Order of the Bath (C.B.):

Henry George LANG, of Wellington. Secretary to the Treasury since 1969.

To be Companions of the Most Distinguished Order of Saint Michael and Saint George (C.M.G.):

James Samson CAMPBELL, of Wellington. For services to the fishing industry as general manager of the Fishing Industry Board 1962-75.

Hugh Alexander FULLARTON, of Wellington. Chairman

of the Local Government Commission since 1967.
rs Dorothy Gertrude WINSTONE, of Auckland. For Mrs public services.

To be Commanders of the Civil Division of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (C.B.E.):

Cecil Lancelot Stewart CROSS, o.B.E., of Wellington. For services to sport as a member of International Olympic Committee and chairman New Zealand Olympic and

Commonwealth Games Association.
Keith Wilson HAY, O.B.E., of Auckland. For services to local government and the community.

William Terance HOWIE (The Reverend Brother Urban),

of Tuakau. For services to education.

Mrs Bery Dorrien IBBOTSON, of Dunedin. For services to the community.

Hugh Drummond LAMBIE, O.B.E., of Auckland. For services

to local body and community affairs.

John Henry RUTHERFORD, of Kiwitea. For services to the Royal Agricultural Society of New Zealand, Incorporated

Lionel Ralph SCEATS, of Wellington. Director-General, New Zealand Broadcasting Corporation, 1970–75.

Thomas Michael SMALL, of Lower Hutt. General Manager, New Zealand Railways 1972–76.

To be Officers of the Civil Division of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (O.B.E.):

he Reverend Canon Walter Charles ARNOLD, of Wellington. For services as Wellington city missioner since

Dr Donald Maurice Geddes BEASLEY, of Whangarei. For services to the New Zealand Society for Intellectually Handicapped.

Vivian Percy BLAKELEY, of Raumati South. For services as general secretary and chairman of the New Zealand Port Employers' Association.

Henry John Knighton FAREY, of Wellington. For services

to the surf life saving movement.

Dr Arthur Oswald Michael GILMOUR, of Auckland. For

services to medicine.

John Waddell HAYWARD, of Dunedin. Registrar of the University of Otago 1948-75.

Norman Bannerman HOLLAND, of Auckland. For services

to horseracing.

Edward Durning HOLT, J.P., of Puketapu, Hawke's Bay.

For services to agriculture and community.

Gordon Hezlam JOLLY, of Dunedin. For services to bowl-

Henry Arthur Selwyn LLOYD, J.P., of Kaukapakapa. For services to farming and the community.

Donald Conroy McINTYRE, of Kent, England. For services

to opera.

Mrs Elizabeth Jean McLEAN, of Dunedin. For services

to the community.

Dr Thomas Christopher MALING, of Hanner Springs.

For services to the treatment and rehabilitation of alcoholics.

Eruera Riini MANUERA, M.B.E., J.P., of Whakatane. For services to the Maori people.

The Honourable John RAE, of Auckland. For public

services.
Clifford TRILLO, of Auckland. For services to the

community.
The Reverend David Owen WILLIAMS, of Auckland. For services to the New Zealand Methodist Church and the community.

To be Companions of The Queen's Service Order for Community Service (Q.S.O.):

Charles William HALLIWELL, of Wellington.

The Reverend (Miss) Gwendolen Gertrude MEYER, of Auckland.

Trevor Steele ROBINSON, J.P., of Hamilton. Selwyn Featherston TOOGOOD, of Upper Hutt.

To be Companions of The Queen's Service Order for Public Services (Q.S.O.):

Charles Erskine BOWMAR, of Waikaia Plains, Southland. James Bruce COLLETT, of Lyttelton.

Louis Brassell HARDER, of Te Awamutu. Superintendent, Department of Justice, Waikeria Youth Centre.

Russell Atkinson HUTCHINSON, J.P., of Te Awamutu.

Russell Atkinson HUICHINSON, J.P., of Te Awamutu. Maurice JOEL, E.D., of Dunedin. Alton Clive JOHNS, J.P., of Auckland. Rodger Norman KERR, of Wellington. Lately Director, Marine Division, Ministry of Transport. The Honourable Norman James KING, of Auckland. Member of Parliament 1954–75 and Minister of the Crown 1972-75. 1972-75.

Dr Charles Graham RILEY, of Christchurch. Richard William SHARP, of Wellington.

To be Members of the Civil Division of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (M.B.E.)

Dr Edmund Peter ALLEN, of New Plymouth. For services to medicine and the community.

Sydney Charles ASHTON, of Timaru. For services to sport, especially boxing

Albert Noel BOAG, of Papatoetoe. For services to the blind.

dney St. David EDWARDS, of Wellington. Lately principal engineering officer, Broadcasting Council of New Zealand. Sidney

Miss Nancy Margaret FLEMING, of Eastbourne. For services to badminton.

Archibald Walter GIBB, of Oamaru. For services to the New Zealand Automobile Association Incorporated.

John Ross GILLESPIE, of Christchurch. For services to

hockey.

Sidney Milton GOING, of Maromaku, North Auckland. For services to rugby. William HAWTHORN, J.P., of Whangarei. For services to

the community.

Francis Henry HOLZ, of Pukekohe. For services to sport and the community.

Mrs Gladys Margaret HOPE, of Taupo. For services to the community, especially New Zealand Red Cross Society

Incorporated. Bernard William Joseph HOULT, of Wellington. Lately Assistant Secretary (Finance), Ministry of Defence. Mrs Sybil Alexandra JACKSON, of Wanganui. For services

to women's affairs and the community.

Royden Hugh JOHNSTON, of Pukerua Bay. For services to the community Stuart Gwyn JONÉS, of Hasting. For services to golf.