Captain Philip Francis Alexander William Herbert LE COUTEUR, of Auckland (currently resident in California, U.S.A.). Lately chief pilot, Air New Zealand Ltd.

Desmond Patrick LYNSKEY, of Blenheim. For services

to the aviation industry

Mrs Hazel Maude Ellen McLEOD, of Gisborne. For services to netball, the lifesaving movement and community.

Mrs Cecilia Evelyn MANSON, of Eastbourne. For services

to literature.

Miss Margaret Kahurangi MATANGI, of Auckland. For services to the education and training of mentally handicapped children.

Frank MOGRIDGE, J.P., of Blenheim. For services to the

community.

James Leslie Herbert SAVAGE, of Kawerau. For services

to paraplegics and sport.
William Burns SOUTER, of Auckland. For services to

local body affairs.
Eruera Kawhia Whakatane STIRLING, of Auckland. For services to Maori affairs.
William Laird THOMSON, J.P., of Anwhata, Piha. For

services to the arts.

Miss Anita Charlotte WEBSTER, of Auckland. For services to the performing arts.
Mrs Norma Mary WILLIAMS, of Auckland. For services

to swimming.

The Queen's Service Medal for Community Service (Q.S.M.):

The Reverend (Miss) Lorna Elizabeth ABERLEY, of

Miss Violet Caroline Amy CLARKSON, of Dannevirke.

J.P., of Auckland.

Hawera.

Miss Violet Caroline Amy CLARKSON, of Danney Miss Ada COLEMAN, of Nelson.

Mrs Gwendoline Mary CULVERWELL, of Auckland. Mrs Alice Maud DEANS, of Hastings.

Thomas DENNIS, of Manutuke, Gisborne.

Miss Olive Rita FURLEY, of Auckland.

Mrs Betty Esme GOULDEN, of Christchurch.

James Edward Craies GRAHAM, of Invercargill.

Mrs Moana Margaret Pringle HARLEY, J.P., of Auckland.

Mrs Daphne HORTON, of Oamaru.

Mrs Eveline Amy JACKSON, of Dargaville.

Charles Frederick JENKINS, of Auckland.

John Harper LANGDALE, J.P., of Lower Hutt.

Dr Donald McALLISTER, of Mosgiel.

Frederick McCOMISH, of Wellington.

Mrs Ada Alexandra McDOWALL, of Christchurch.

Mrs Evelyn May ROBERTSON, of Lawrence.

Miss Cushla Margarete RYAN, of Christchurch.

Mrs Joyce Helen USSHER, J.P., of Martinborough.

Charles Reginald WILLIAMS, of Auckland.

The Queen's Service Medal for Public Services (Q.S.M.):

Miss Ena Gertrude AVENELL, of Auckland. District proba-

tion officer, Department of Justice, Auckland.

Mrs Hazel May BLAKE, J.P., of Otaki.

Mrs Betty BOURKE, J.P., of Patea.

William Robert Edward HEENAN, J.P., of Lumsden, Southland.

land.
William HUDSON, of Gisborne.
David Caliel Nimaytallah KHOURI, of Auckland. Senior investigating officer, Customs Department, Auckland.
Michael Ivan Russell KIDD, of Hamilton.
William Herbert PRICHARD, of Palmerston North. Transmission line engineer, New Zealand Electricity Department. Polmerston North ment, Palmerston North.
Brian Mowlem SINCLAIR, of Sao Paulo, Brazil.
Mrs Rhondda Ellen WISHART, of Shannon.
Mrs Emily Alice WYLIE, J.P., of Auckland.
Lionel Arthur YOUNG, of Auckland.

The British Empire Medal, Civil Division (B.E.M.):

Henry Sydney BINGHAM, of Dunedin North. For services as a stonemason.

Miss Margaret Dora CRANSWICK, of Matamata. For services to the Girl Guide movement and the community. Oliver HUNTER, of Diamond Harbour, Lyttelton. For services to conservation.

Mrs Mary Gertrude KIDD, J.P., of Auckland. For services

to the community

John Harvey McKENZIE, of Leithen Downs, Waikaka. For services to the protection of wildlife.

Henry Lloyd PARKER, of Waikanae. For services to the

welfare of the aged.
Jerzy Włodzimierz POBOG-JAWOROWSKI, J.P., of Lower

Hutt. For services to the community.

The Reverend Father Francis Joseph SKINNER, of Puhoi. For services to the community.

The Queen's Fire Service Medal for Distinguished Service (O.F.S.M.):

Bernard Ralph BRAITHWAITE, Senior Station Officer, Port Chalmers Volunteer Fire Brigade.

Frederick William STRINGER, Station Officer, Silverstream

Volunteer Fire Brigade.

George Joseph THOMPSON, Third Officer, New Zealand Fire Service, Christchurch.

To be a Member of the Civil Division of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (M.B.E.):

Benjamin Robert ALTY, Chief Superintendent, New Zealand Police.

The Queen's Service Medal for Public Services (Q.S.M.);

Leslie John MALONEY, Constable, New Zealand Police.

The Queen's Police Medal for Distinguished Service (Q.P.M.): Arthur Henry HART, Detective Sergeant, New Zealand Police.

## MILITARY LIST

To be a Companion of the Military Division of the Most Honourable Order of the Bath (C.B.):

Air Marshal Richard Bruce BOLT, C.B.E., D.F.C., A.F.C. (R70119), Chief of Defence Staff.

To be a Commander of the Military Division of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (C.B.E.):

Commodore Neil Dudley ANDERSON, O.B.E., A.D.C. (11789), Deputy Chief of Defence Staff.

To be Officers of the Military Division of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (O.B.E.):

Commander Ian Scott MONRO (11853), Royal New Zealand Navy.

Colonel Ronald Rochfort HARDING (X31347), Colonels'

Group Captain Ian Murray GILLARD, A.F.C. (X72287), Royal New Zealand Air Force.

To be Members of the Military Division of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (M.B.E.):

Lieutenant Commander Richard Donald McBURNEY

(20782), Royal New Zealand Navy. Chaplain Class III Francis Raymond SCOTT (30713), Royal

New Zealand Chaplains Department Warrant Officer Class Two John Hamilton BAIRD (889525), Royal New Zealand Infantry Regiment (Territorial

Regiment (Territorial Force).

Horce).
Warrant Officer Class Two Edward TATAURANGI (N622898), Royal New Zealand Infantry Regiment.
Warrant Officer Class One Barry STEWART (Q32881), Royal New Zealand Army Ordnance Corps.
Warrant Officer Ian David COCHRANE (E75007), Royal New Zealand Air Force.
Warrant Officer Gilbert Arthur DAMPIER (H78644), Royal New Zealand Air Force.

Air Force Cross (A.F.C.):

Wing Commander Albert Edward THOMSON (B75004), Royal New Zealand Air Force.

The British Empire Medal, Military Division (B.E.M.):

Temporary Chief Petty Officer Electrician Bruce PUKE-PUKE (16724), Royal New Zealand Navy.
Chief Petty Officer David McKenzie CLOUGHLEY (922107), Royal New Zealand Naval Volunteer Reserve.
Staff Sergeant Theodore MARAMA (L539360), Royal New Zealand Infantry Regiment

Zealand Infantry Regiment.
Sergeant Malcolm Gerald AMYES (847709), Royal New

Zealand Armoured Corps (Territorial Force). Sergeant James Fraser MITCHELL (M214072), Royal New

Zealand Infantry Regiment. Sergeant Edmund Ronald STURM (P78834), Royal New

Zealand Air Force. Warrant Officer Albert Edward HILL (G78022), Royal New Zealand Air Force.

The Oueen's Commendation for Valuable Service in the Air: Master Air Loadmaster Daniel SCOTT (P77592), Royal New Zealand Air Force.

Dated at Wellington this 1st day of January 1977.

D. C. WILLIAMS, Official Secretary, Government House.