The appointment of Lieutenant Commander V. W. Fifield,

The appointment of Lieutenant Commander V. W. Fifield, M.B.E., is extended to 1 April 1978.

Lieutenant Commander D. L. Douglas to be Commander, with seniority and effect from 12 September 1977.

Lieutenant Commander D. J. Collins, M.B.E., to be Commander, with seniority and effect from 13 September 1977.

The appointment of Lieutenant Commander P. H. Thompson is extended to 21 February 1983.

Lieutenant Commander (temp. Commander) D. Rigby, C.E.I.G., M.I.MAR.E., to be Commander, with seniority and effect from 14 September 1977.

Lieutenant Commander John Duff is transferred to the

Lieutenant Commander John Duff is transferred to the Reserve of Naval Officers until 1 December 1978, with effect

from 2 December 1976.

The appointment of Lieutenant Commander D. B. Herlihy

is extended to 22 October 1988.

Lieutenant Christopher Gerhold Lloyd is transferred to the Reserve of Naval Officers until 10 January 1981, with effect

Reserve of Naval Officers until 10 January 1961, with effect from 11 January 1977.

Lieutenant A. L. Beaman to be Acting Lieutenant Commander, with effect from 29 September and temp. Lieutenant Commander, with effect from 14 October 1977.

Lieutenant Nicl Maxwell Dorset is transferred to the Reserve of Naval Officers until 24 August 1981, with effect from 25 August 1977.

The appreciation of the following Lieutenants (an proh)

The appointments of the following Lieutenants (on prob.) with seniority and effect from 30 July 1976, are confirmed:

B. F. Bradfield.

B. F. Bradfield.
R. L. Sadler.
The following Sub Lieutenants to be Lieutenants with seniority and effect from the dates shown:
I. F. P. Martin, 4 October 1977.
M. J. Millar, 4 October 1977.
K. N. Corles, 19 October 1977.
Ensign (temp. Sub Lieutenant) G. R. S. Medcalf to be Sub Lieutenant with seniority from 3 January 1977 and effect from 24 August 1977.
Ensign (temp. Sub Lieutenant) J. B. Pope to be Sub

Ensign (temp. Sub Lieutenant) J. B. Pope to be Sub Lieutenant with seniority from 7 January 1977 and effect from 29 August 1977.

The following Ensigns (temp. Sub Lieutenants) to be Sub Lieutenants, with seniority from 7 January 1977 and effect from 15 October 1977:

D. G. Burnett. D. S. Neal.

The appointments of the following Ensigns (W) (on prob.),

The appointments of the following Ensigns (W) (on prob.), with seniority and effect from 25 July 1977, are confirmed:
C. M. Beentjes.
J. A. Easton.
S. M. Van den Boorn.
The following Midshipmen (Acting Ensigns) to be Ensigns, with seniority from 7 January 1976 and Acting Sub Lieutenants, with effect from 31 October 1977:
W. R. S. Johnston.
W. L. Dawson.
Midshipman (Acting Ensign) B. Pepperell to be Ensign, with seniority from 6 January 1977 and effect from 31 October 1977.

October 1977.

ROYAL NEW ZEALAND NAVAL VOLUNTEER RESERVE

Commander Arnold John Perry, V.R.D., B.COM., F.C.A., C.MA., is placed on the Retired List of the RNZNVR, with effect from 27 September 1977.

The appointment of Lieutenant Commander C. J. Olliver, C.ENG., F.I.MAR.E., M.N.Z.I.E., REG.ENG.R., is extended to 3 October 1978.

The notice published in the Gazette No. 96, 15 September 1977, p. 2476, relating to Instructor Sub Lieutenant K. McD. Hunter, M.D.S., is cancelled and the following substituted: "Instructor Sub Lieutenant K. McD. Hunter, M.D.S., to be Instructor Lieutenant with seniority and effect from 7 August 1977."

Sub Lieutenant (temp. Lieutenant) C. E. Overy to be Lieutenant, with seniority from 22 March 1976 and effect

from 16 September 1977.

Sub Lieutenant D. G. Jensen, LL.B., to be Lieutenant, with seniority from 1 March 1976 and effect from 3 September

Sub Lieutenant D. W. Lloyd Davies to be Lieutenant, with

Sub Lieutenant B. W. Libyd Davies to be Lieutenant, with seniority and effect from 9 October 1977.

Sub Lieutenant G. W. J. Briggs to be Acting Lieutenant, with effect from 1 November 1977.

Midshipman J. D. Hammond to be Ensign with seniority

and effect from 3 October 1977.

Thomas Carson, F102661, ORD, to be Lieutenant (E), with seniority from 1 October 1972 and effect from 1 October 1977, and is appointed to the RNZNVR List 1, until 8 November 1988.

Neville Jordan is appointed to the RNZNVR List 1 in the

rank of Lieutenant, with seniority from 1 October 1975 and effect from 1 October 1977; terminating 15 May 1988.

Lieutenant G. P. Bennetts, RNZAMC, Territorial Force is transferred to the RNZNVR List, in the rank of Surgeon Lieutenant, with seniority from 29 November 1976, and effect from 9 May 1977

Lieutenant, with sentority from 29 November 1970, and effect from 9 May 1977.

Eugene Sherry, M.B., Ch.B., is appointed to the RNZNVR List 1, in the rank of Surgeon Lieutenant (on prob.) with seniority from 3 March 1977, and effect from 1 October 1977; terminating on 24 September 1998.

The following are to be Ensign (X), with seniority and effect from 1 October 1977 and are appointed to the RNZNVR List 1, until the dates shown:

List 1, until the dates shown:
Guy Thorpe Ballantyne, T104462, AB, 4 December 2002.
Gregory Peter Liddy, G102633, ORD, 17 August 2002.
Christopher John Lyne, J100542, A/L/Sea, 19 March 1996.
Michael Joseph Riepen, Z102625, ORD, 20 September 2001.

EMERGENCY LIST OF THE ROYAL NEW ZEALAND NAVY

The appointment of Surgeon Lieutenant J. A. Trenwith, B.D.S., on the Emergency List of the RNZN is extended to 30 July 1982.

The period of service of Lieutenant Michael Joseph Hazel on the Emergency List of the RNZN is terminated with effect from 29 September 1977.

EMERGENCY LIST OF THE ROYAL NEW ZEALAND NAVAL VOLUNTEER RESERVE

Surgeon Lieutenant Commander James Doig Thomson, CH.B., D.OBST., R.C.O.G., M.R.C.O.G., RNR, is appointed to the RNZNVR Emergency List of Officers in the rank of Surgeon Lieutenant Commander, with seniority from 11 March 1970, and effect from 1 October 1977; terminating 30 September 1982

Dated at Wellington this 16th day of November 1977. ALLAN McCREADY, Minister of Defence.

Appointments, Promotions, Extensions, Transfers, Resignations and Retirements of Officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force

Pursuant to section 35 of the Defence Act 1971, His Excellency the Governor-General has approved the following appointments, promotions, extensions, transfers, resignations, and retirements of officers of the Royal New Zealand Air

REGULAR AIR FORCE

GENERAL DUTIES BRANCH

Appointments 1 4 1

The following are appointed to permanent commissions with effect from the dates shown:

Squadron Leader R. A. De Lorenzo, 1 September 1977. Flight Lieutenant T. M. Gardiner, 4 October 1977. Flight Lieutenant C. K. Williams, 15 September 1977. Promotions

Flying Officer R. J. Robinson, B.SC., to be Flight Lieutenant with seniority from 12 July 1976, and effect from 17 October

The following Flying Officers to be Flight Lieutenants with seniority and effect from the dates shown:

R. E. Travers, 28 September 1977.
M. F. Devereux, 28 September 1977.
D. G. Jones, 28 September 1977.
D. S. Forbes-Dawson, 28 September 1977.

B. S. Coutts, 7 October 1977.
Pilot Officer D. K. Michael to be Flying Officer, with

seniority and effect from 17 September 1977.

Extensions of Commissions

The commissions of the following are extended to the dates shown:

Squadron Leader R. H. Binney, 4 May 1982.
Squadron Leader H. H. Francis, 29 September 1985.
Squadron Leader R. F. Barson, 2 July 1986.
Squadron Leader G. M. Cochran, 17 December 1983.
Squadron Leader P. H. White, 18 September 1979.
Flight Lieutenant (temp. Squadron Leader) G. A. McCullough, 21 November 1986.
Acting Pilot Officer H. I. Brice, 6 January 1995.
Acting Pilot Officer C. J. Erlbeck, 18 January 1992.
Acting Pilot Officer J. C. Mathewson, 7 January 1994.