#### Functions and Powers

- 10. Except as otherwise provided in this order, the Counties Act 1956 and any other Act shall apply to the district as if it was a county and to the district council as if it was a county council.
- 11. The following sections of the Municipal Corporations Act 1954 shall apply to the district as if it was a borough and to the district council as if it was a borough council:

Section 108A—Consolidation of special rates:

Section 219a-Betterment contributions where watercourse covered in:

Section 237A—Tree roots obstructing public drains:

Section 302-Provisions for prevention of overcrowding of buildings:

Section 303—Illegal occupation of building:

Section 304-Removal of building illegally erected, etc.: Section 330A-Erection of blocks of flats and sale of

#### Records

12. All the valuation rolls, electors lists, electors rolls, and rate records in force in the districts of the uniting authorities immediately prior to the date of union shall be deemed to be the valuation rolls, electors lists, electors rolls, and rate records of the district until new valuation rolls, electors lists, electors rolls, and rate records are completed for the district.

#### Rating

13. The system of rating in the district shall be the land value system; and the district council shall make and levy the general rate separately in each riding of the district as if it had so resolved by special order pursuant to subsection (2) of section 110 of the Counties Act 1956.

- 14. Except as otherwise provided herein the accounts of the district council shall be kept in accordance with the provisions of the Local Government Accounting Regulations 1974.
- 15. (a) The closing balance of the General and Separate Rates and General Appropriation Account of the former Waipukurau Borough shall become the opening balance of the Waipukurau Riding Account:
- (b) The closing balance of the Waipukurau Riding Account of the former County of Waipukurau shall become the opening balance of the Hatuma Riding Account:
- (c) The closing balance of the Patangata Riding Account of the former County of Waipukurau shall become the opening balance of the Patangata Riding Account:
- (d) The closing balance of the Porangahau Riding Account of the former County of Waipukurau shall become the opening balance of the Porangahau Riding Account:
- (e) The Plant Renewal and Replacement Account of the Borough of Waipukurau and the Plant Reserve Account of the County of Waipukurau shall be merged as the Plant Reserve Account of the district:
- (f) The Subdivision Reserve Account of the Borough of Warpukurau and the Land Subdivision Reserve Account of the County of Waipukurau shall be merged as the Land Subdivision Reserve Account of the district.
- 16. All other administrative accounts, works and services accounts, and special fund accounts of the uniting authorities at the date of union shall be merged to operate as accounts of the district council.
- 17. Except as otherwise provided in clause 16 of this order, all special funds shall be expended only for the purposes for which they were set aside and for the benefit only of the area from which they originated.

### Petroleum Tax

18. For the purposes of the Local Authorities (Petroleum Tax) Act 1970, the district council shall be the successor of the uniting authorities.

### Town and Country Planning

19. The district council shall not be required forthwith, as provided by section 28B of the Town and Country Planning Act 1953, to prepare a new district scheme for the whole of its district but shall proceed forthwith both to complete the preparation of and bring into operation a district scheme for that section of the district which was formerly the County of Waipukurau and to review the existing district scheme for that section of the district which was formerly the district of the Borough of Waipukurau.

### Transitional Provisions

- 20. Except as otherwise provided in this order, the provisions of section 10 of the Counties Act 1956 (which relates to the succession of assets, liabilities, engagements, and bylaws of united counties) shall apply as if the districts of both of the uniting authorities were counties.
- 21. All property, real and personal, vested in the uniting authorities shall, subject to all existing encumbrances, vest in the district council.

P. G. MILLEN, Clerk of the Executive Council. (I.A. 103/5/316)

Appointments, Promotions, Extensions, Transfers, Resignations, and Retirements of Officers of the New Zealand Army

Pursuant to section 35 of the Defence Act 1971, His Excellency the Governor-General has approved the following appointments, promotions, extensions, transfers, resignations, and retirements of officers of the New Zealand Army.

#### REGULAR FORCE

#### COLONELS' LIST

Colonel Frank Harold Childs is posted to the Retired List with effect from 1 February 1977.

#### ROYAL REGIMENT OF N.Z. ARTILLERY

Captain D. G. Lough to be temp. Major with effect from 21 January 1977.

Lieutenant (temp. Captain) A. R. McLeod, B.A. (MIL), to be Captain with seniority and effect from 13 December 1976.

## ROYAL N.Z. ARMOURED CORPS

Captain (temp. Major) W. J. Scott to be Major with seniority and effect from 15 December 1976.

Captain R. K. Storey to be temp. Major with effect from

21 December 1976.

#### THE CORPS OF ROYAL N.Z. ENGINEERS

Lieutenant (temp. Captain) and Quartermaster Russell Bond Luscombe is transferred to the Reserve of Officers, General List, The Corps of Royal N.Z. Engineers, in the rank of Captain and Quartermaster, with effect from 14 February 1977.

#### ROYAL N.Z. INFANTRY REGIMENT

Lieutenant Colonel Harry McMillan Hearsey Salmon is transferred to the Reserve of Officers, General List, Royal N.Z. Infantry Regiment in the rank of Lieutenant-Colonel with effect from 10 February 1977.

Major (temp. Lieutenant-Colonel) David Albert Dawe is the colonel of Lieutenant Colonel.

posted to the Retired List in the rank of Lieutenant Colonel with effect from 12 February 1977.

Captain (temp. Major) John Sayle, B.A., is transferred to the Reserve of Officers, General List, Royal N.Z. Infantry Regiment, in the rank of Major with effect from 16 February 1977.

Captain (temp. Major) M. R. Farland to be Major with seniority and effect from 22 December 1976.

Captain (temp. Major) R. P. E. Schmidt to be Major with

Captain (temp. Major) R. P. F. Schmidt to be Major with seniority and effect from 14 December 1976.
Captain David Stephen Carter is posted to the Retired List with effect from 21 February 1977.
Lieutenant (temp. Captain) B. W. Ramsbottom-Isherwood to be Captain with seniority and effect from 13 December

Lieutenant (temp. Captain) R. Bywater-Lutman, Dip. Sc. (MIL.), to be Captain with seniority and effect from 13 December 1976.

Lieutenant and Quartermaster E. R. Cooper to be temp. Captain and Quartermaster with effect from 27 January 1977.

Second Lieutenant A. G. Queree to be Lieutenant with seniority and effect from 20 December 1976.

Second Lieutenant P. J. Nichols to be Lieutenant with seniority and effect from 20 December 1976.

# ROYAL N.Z. ARMY SERVICE CORPS

Lieutenant (temp. Captain) R. D. MacIntyre, B.A. (MIL), to be Captain with seniority and effect from 13 December 1976.

Lieutenant and Quartermaster M. Watts to be temp. Captain and Quartermaster with effect from 19 November 1976.

# ROYAL N.Z. ARMY MEDICAL CORPS

Major Rex Vincent Richards: the notice published in the Gazette, 3 February 1977. No. 11, p. 173, is cancelled and the following substituted: "Major Rex Vincent Richards is posted to the Retired List with effect from 4 January 1977".