James Michael CASHMAN, J.P., of Takaka. For services to the community

Miss Jessie Lois EDWARDS, of Invercargill. For services to nursing.

Carl Rubenstein PRIME, of Auckland. For services to the community.

The Queen's Fire Service Medal for Distinguished Service (QFSM):

Samuel Brown IRVINE, Chief Executive (Technical), New

Zealand Fire Service Commission, Wellington.
Emrys Griffith EVANS, Chief Fire Officer (Area Commander), New Zealand Fire Service, Rotorua.
Robert Stanley SKIPAGE, Lately Chief Fire Officer, Featherston Volunteer Fire Brigade.

The Queen's Commendation for Brave Conduct:

Michael Thomas LAWSON, of Waimauku, Auckland. Kenneth Arnold LOVELL, of Waimauku, Auckland. Brian BAKER, of Mairangi Bay, Auckland. For services leading to the rescue of a fisherman who had been swept off the rocks at Muriwai Beach by turbulent seas on the morning of 30 May 1976.

Ronald Edmund Sanders LORTON, Prison Officer, Waikeria Youth Centre. For services rendered during a riot at the Waikeria Youth Centre on 31 October 1976.

### POLICE LIST

To be an Officer of the Civil Division of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (OBE):

John William OVERTON, Assistant Commissioner, New Zealand Police.

The Queen's Service Medal for Public Services (QSM):

Leith Fennor MILES, Senior Sergeant, New Zealand Police.

The Queen's Police Medal for Distinguished Service (QPM): Laurence Ferguson SMITH, Sergeant, New Zealand Police. Robert Neville CUTHBERT, Constable, New Zealand Police.

#### MILITARY LIST

To be a Companion of the Military Division of the Most Honourable Order of the Bath (CB):

Rear Admiral John Foster McKENZIE, c.B.E. (A11845), Chief of Naval Staff.

To be a Commander of the Military Division of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (CBE):

Air Commodore Harold Gordon MOSS, A.F.C. (Q72349), Head, New Zealand Defence Liaison Staff, Canberra.

To be Officers of the Military Division of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (OBE):

Commander William Stewart WATSON (S12969), Royal New Zealand Navy

Colonel Maxwell TEBBUTT (L30232), Colonel's List, New Zealand Army.

Lieutenant Colonel Kenneth Montrose GORDON (B335985), Royal New Zealand Infantry Regiment.
Group Captain Reginald THORPE (J70917), Royal New

Zealand Air Force.

To be Members of the Military Division of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (MBE):

Lieutenant Commander Victor William FIFIELD (D4971),

Royal New Zealand Navy. Warrant Officer Richard Keith BERGE (G16451), Royal

New Zealand Navy.

New Zealand Navy.
Temporary Major and Quartermaster Clifford Raymond PARKER, (A817213), Royal New Zealand Engineers.
Warrant Officer Class II Edwin Te Runa CHADWICK (Y38869), Royal New Zealand Army Service Corps.
Warrant Officer Class II Alan Harold BLACKLER (208117), Royal New Zealand Infantry Regiment, (Territorial Exercise) torial Force)

Temporary Lieutenant Colonel Lawrence Henry PILLING (K30691), Royal New Zealand Infantry Regiment. Squadron Leader Gordon THOMPSON (D715694), Royal

New Zealand Air Force. Squadron Leader Donald Bruce DALZELL (S71040), Royal

New Zealand Air Force. Squadron Leader William Henry HILLMAN (J72734), Royal New Zealand Air Force.

Air Force Cross (AFC):

Wing Commander Donald William PAWSON (C784670), Royal New Zealand Air Force.

Air Force Medal (AFM):

Sergeant KNIGHT Christopher Leonard Frederick (W81072), Royal New Zealand Air Force.

The British Empire Medal, Military Division (BEM):

Chief Radio Mechanic Gary Raymond COUSINS (V16533), Royal New Zealand Navy.

Chief Petty Officer Peter Ernest Joseph KNEEBONE (L16478), Royal New Zealand Navy.
Sergeant Roland Joseph HOROPAPERA, M.M. (K37568),

Royal New Zealand Infantry Regiment. Staff Sergeant David George ARPS (D38574), Royal New Zealand Army Service Corps.

Temporary Warrant Officer Class II Gordon Arthur NAIRN (Q573335), Royal New Zealand Infantry Regiment (Territorial Force).
Temporary Warrant Officer Class II Arthur Richard TRISTRAM (N572643), Royal New Zealand Infantry

TRAM (N572643), Royal Regiment (Territorial Force)

Flight Sergeant Awhetu Te Rangi WAIARIKI (T77412), Royal New Zealand Air Force. Leading Aircraftman Michael Andrew NAUS (T87187),

Royal New Zealand Air Force.

Dated at Wellington this 11th day of June 1977.

D. C. WILLIAMS, Official Secretary, Government House.

Licensing the Whakatane District Council to Occupy a Site for a Boat Ramp in Ohiwa Harbour

PURSUANT to section 162 of the Harbours Act 1950, I, Owen John Conway, of the Ministry of Transport, in exercise of powers delegated by the Minister of Transport, hereby license and permit the Whakatane District Council (hereinafter called the licensee, which term shall include its successors or assigns unless the context requires a different construction) or assigns unless the context requires a different construction) to use and occupy a part of the foreshore and bed of the Ohiwa Harbour, as shown on plan marked M.D. (N) 350, and deposited in the office of the Ministry of Transport at Auckland, for the purpose of maintaining thereon a boat ramp as shown on the said plan, such licence to be held and enjoyed by the licensee upon and subject to the terms and conditions set forth in the Schedule hereto.

### **SCHEDULE**

# CONDITIONS

(1) This licence is subject to the Foreshore Licence Regulations 1960, and the provisions of those regulations shall, so

far as applicable, apply hereto.

(2) The term of the licence shall be 14 years from the 1st day of May 1977.

(3) The annual sum so payable by the licensee shall be ten cents (10c) payable on demand; provided always that the Minister may review the annual sum payable at the end of the first year or any subsequent year of the said term.

Dated at Wellington this 31st day of May 1977.

O. J. CONWAY, for Secretary for Transport. (M.O.T. 54/14/58; N.R. 54/1/400)

Licensing the Fiordland National Park Board to Occupy a Site for a Jetty at Doubtful Sound

PURSUANT to section 162 of the Harbours Act 1950, I, Owen John Conway, of the Ministry of Transport, in exercise of powers delegated by the Minister of Transport, hereby license and permit the Fiordland National Park Board (hereinafter called the licensee, which term shall include its successors or assigns unless the context requires a different construction) to use and occupy a part of the foreshore and bed of the sea at Doubiful Sound, Fiordland, as shown on plan marked M.D. (S) 8, and deposited in the office of the Ministry of Transport at Christchurch, for the purpose of maintaining thereon a jetty as shown on the said plan, such licence to be held and enjoyed by the licensee upon and subject to the terms and conditions set forth in the Schedule hereto.

## **SCHEDULE** CONDITIONS

(1) This licence is subject to the Foreshore Licence Regulations 1960, and the provisions of those regulations shall, so far as applicable, apply hereto.

(2) The term of the licence shall be 14 years from the 1st day of May 1977.

(3) The annual sum so payable by the licensee shall be ten cents (10c) payable on demand, provided always that the Minister may review the annual sum payable at the end of the first year or any subsequent year of the said term.

Dated at Wellington this 30th day of May 1977.

O. J. CONWAY, for Secretary for Transport. (M.O.T. H.O. 54/34/4; S.R. 53/3/368)