Lieutenant D. L. B. Marriott to be acting Lieutenant

Commander, with effect from 10 January 1977.

Sub Lieutenant (temp. Lieutenant) G. C. Collier to be Lieutenant, with seniority and effect from 21 December 1976.

Lieutenant, with seniority and effect from 21 December 1976. Sub Lieutenant E. V. Good to be Lieutenant, with seniority and effect from 21 December 1976.
Sub Lieutenant (temp. Lieutenant) S. J. Herd to be Lieutenant, with seniority and effect from 21 December 1976.
Ensign (temp. Sub Lieutenant) D. L. Sherriff, B.E., to be Sub Lieutenant with seniority from 5 January 1974 and effect from 23 November 1976, and temp. Lieutenant, with effect from 23 November 1976.
Ensign (temp. Sub Lieutenant) T. M. Bolland to be Sub

from 23 November 1976.
Ensign (temp. Sub Lieutenant) T. M. Bolland to be Sub Lieutenant, with seniority and effect from 3 January 1977.
Ensign (temp. Sub Lieutenant) R. J. Moroney to be Sub Lieutenant, with seniority and effect from 3 January 1977.
Ensign (temp. Sub Lieutenant) A. L. Peppercorn to be Sub Lieutenant, with seniority and effect from 3 January 1977.
Ensign R. A. G. Robertson to be Sub Lieutenant, with seniority from 3 January 1976 and effect from 2 November 1976.

Ensign (acting Sub Lieutenant) N. R. Murray to be Sub Lieutenant, with seniority and effect from 3 January 1977.
Ensign D. G. Burnett to be temp. Sub Lieutenant, with

effect from 3 January 1977.

Ensign D. S. Neal to be temp. Sub Lieutenant, with effect from 3 January 1977.

Ensign G. D. Honnor to be Sub Lieutenant, with seniority and effect from 7 January 1977.

The following Midshipmen (acting Ensigns) to be Ensigns, with seniority from 3 January 1975 and effect from 9 December 1976, and acting Sub Lieutenants, with effect from 17 December 1976:

M. I. Louisson.

C. A. Lucas. D. R. Murray.

Midshipman (acting Ensign) G. A. Rees to be Ensign, with seniority from 7 January 1976 and effect from 9 December

Midshipman W. T. Stevens to be Ensign, with seniority and effect from 7 January 1977.

The following Midshipmen to be acting Ensigns with effect from 6 January 1977:
B. Pepperell.
P. J. Williams.
J. H. Aitken.
S. E. Wilkinson.

The appointment of Midshipman Philip Richard Jackson is terminated with effect from 4 December 1976.

ROYAL NEW ZEALAND NAVAL VOLUNTEER RESERVE

Lieutenant Graeme John Bellingham is placed on the Emergency List of the RNZNVR, with effect from 1 November 1976.

Sub Lieutenant (temp. Lieutenant) B. P. Moore to be Lieutenant, with seniority from 1 July 1969 and effect from 16 September 1976.

EMERGENCY LIST OF THE ROYAL NEW ZEALAND NAVY

The appointment of Lieutenant J. C. Harrison is extended to 31 August 1977.

The appointment of Lieutenant J. K. Alexander, B.E., B.SC., M.N.Z.I.E., A.N.Z.I.C., is extended to 22 December 1977.

The period of service of Surgeon Lieutenant Anthony Michael Bowler Gebbie, M.B., CH.B., M.R.C.P.(U.K.), on the Emergency List of the RNZN is terminated, with effect from 1 September 1976.

Dated at Wellington this 19th day of January 1977.

ALLAN McCREADY, Minister of Defence.

Appointments, Promotions, Extensions, Transfers, Resignations, and Retirements of Officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force

Pursuant to section 35 of the Defence Act 1971, His Excellency the Governor-General has approved the following appointments, promotions, extensions, transfers, resignations, and retirements of officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force.

REGULAR AIR FORCE

GENERAL DUTIES BRANCH

Chief of Air Staff

With reference to the notice published in the New Zealand Gazette, No. 120, 25 November 1976, p. 2655, for "Air Commodore C. L. Siegert, M.V.O., D.F.C., A.F.C., A.D.C.," substitute "Air Commodore C. L. Siegert, C.B.E., M.V.O., D.F.C., A.F.C., A.D.C.

Appointments

Appoinments

Wing Commander A. E. Thomson to be acting Group Captain, with effect from 6 December 1976.

Flight Lieutenant I. G. Brunton to be temp. Squadron Leader, with effect from 13 December 1976.

D75903 Master Engineer William Frank Burrows is appointed to a commission for a period of 5 years, in the rank of Flight Lieutenant (on prob.), with seniority from 26 April 1976 and effect from 18 June 1976.

J80209 Sergeant Engineer Noel Edward Whitaker is appointed to a commission for a period of 12 years, in the rank of Flying Officer (on prob.), with seniority from 26 April 1976 and effect from 18 June 1976.

The following are appointed to commissions for a period

The following are appointed to commissions for a period of 8 years, in the rank of Flying Officer (on prob.), with seniority from 26 April 1976 and effect from 18 June 1976:

E80688 Sergeant AEOP Leon Hetherington Crosse. K84557 Sergeant AEOP Michael Eric O'Brien.

Promotion

Wing Commander G. C. Hubbard to be Group Captain, with seniority and effect from 29 November 1976.

Relinquishment of Rank

Flight Lieutenant (temp. Squadron Leader) D. J. Ellis relinquishes the temp. rank of Squadron Leader, with effect from 23 December 1976.

Cancellations of Commission

The commissions of the following Acting Pilot Officers (on prob.) are cancelled with effect from the dates shown:

Bryan Roland Brotheridge, 31 August 1976. Stephen John Gray, 15 November 1976. Peter Robert Irvine, 16 November 1976.

Transfer to Retired List

Squadron Leader Alan Roy Bleakley is transferred to the Retired List "A", with effect from 16 October 1976.

Retirement

Squadron Leader Roy Tennent is retired with effect from 1 December 1976.

ENGINEER BRANCH

A ppointments

Flying Officer I. P. Wightman to be temp. Flight Lieutenant with effect from 10 December 1976.

Flying Officer (acting Flight Lieutenant) M. W. Passfield to be temp. Flight Lieutenant, with effect from 1 August

The following are appointed to commissions for a period of 8 years, in the rank of Flying Officer (on prob.) with seniority from 26 April 1976 and effect from 18 June 1976:

D78295 Flight Sergeant Denis Alexander McKay.
A80707 Sergeant Peter James Lacey.
T83921 Corporal George Alexander James is appointed to a commission for a period of 8 years, in the rank of Pilot Officer (on prob.) with seniority from 26 April 1976 and effect from 18 June 1976.

Promotions

Squadron Leader (temp. Wing Commander) R. D. Naulls, C.ENG., M.I.E.R.E., M.N.Z.E.I., REGD.ENGR., R.E.A., to be Wing Commander, with seniority and effect from 14 December

Squadron Leader I. D. Woodmore, R.E.A., M.N.Z.E.I., to be Wing Commander, with seniority and effect from 13 December 1976.

Transfer to Reserve

Wing Commander Donald Ferguson Fleming, C.ENG., A.F.R.A.E.S., A.F.S.L.A.E.T., is transferred to the Reserve of Air Force Officers until 5 December 1978, with effect from 6 December 1976.

Transfer to Retired List

Squadron Leader Laurence Walter Tarr, B.E.M., is transferred to the Retired List "A", with effect from 18 December 1976.