Communities

6. The communities and community councils already in existence in the counties of Taieri and Waikouaiti shall enure as if they had been constituted by the council.

Ridings

- 7. The area of the former County of Taieri shall be divided into six ridings to be determined by the council.
- 8. The area of the former County of Waikouaiti shall be divided into three ridings, namely:
 - The Hawkesbury Riding, being the combined areas of the Hawkesbury and Waikouaiti Ridings of the former County of Waikouaiti as described in the New Zealand Gazette 1968, page 1207;

 - land Gazette 1968, page 120/;

 The Merton Riding, being the area of the Merton Riding of the former County of Waikouaiti as described in the New Zealand Gazette 1968, page 1207; and The Blueskin Riding, being the area of the Blueskin Riding of the former County of Waikouaiti as described in the New Zealand Gazette 1968, page 1207.

Representation

- 9. For the purposes of the 1977 triennial general election of councillors the county shall comprise nine ridings as provided by clauses 7 and 8 of this order, and each riding shall have one councillor.
- 10. The first meeting of the council shall be convened by the County Clerk of the Taieri County Council and the Chairman shall be chosen by and from the members of the council at that meeting.

Finance

- 11. Until the 31st day of March 1981 the county shall be divided into the following financial divisions.
 - (a) The Southern Financial Division, comprising the area of the former County of Taieri; and
 (b) The Northern Financial Division, comprising the area
 - of the former County of Waikouaiti.
- 12. The accounts of each financial division shall be kept in the manner provided for in form 7 of the Local Government Accounting Regulations 1974, and the opening balances of such accounts shall be the closing balances of the general of such accounts shall be the closing balances of the general and separate rates and general appropriation accounts of the former Taieri County Council and of the Waikouaiti County Council respectively at the date of their dissolution; and any money to the credit of each account shall, after all liabilities have been provided for, be expended to the benefit of the residents of the financial division in respect of which the account was established and any deficiency shall be found from within that financial division. from within that financial division:
 - Provided that the accounts of the financial divisions shall not be credited or debited with the closing balances of the accounts of the community councils.

Rating

- 13. The system of rating in the county shall be the capital value system:
 - Provided that before the 1980 triennial general election of councillors the council may resolve, or the rate-payers may demand, as the case may be, in accordance with the Rating Act 1967, that a system of rating other than the system prescribed in this clause be adopted; and for this purpose and until that election section 11 (6) (a) and section 13 (5) (a) of the Rating Act 1967 shall not apply to the county.
- 14. Notwithstanding the provisions of clause 13 of this order, for the period during which financial divisions are maintained the system of rating in the Southern Financial Division shall be the land value system and the system of rating in the Northern Financial Division shall be the capital value system:
 - Provided that should a change of rating system be made as provided for in clause 13 of this Order during the period in which financial divisions are maintained and before the 1980 triennial general election of coun-cillors, that change shall have effect for the purposes of rating in the two divisions.
- 15. Notwithstanding anything in clauses 13 and 14 of this Order, the rateable capital value of the Southern Financial Division and the rateable capital value of the Northern Financial Division shall be the rateable value for the purposes of section 134 (3) of the Counties Act 1956.
- 16. The provisions of Part IX of the Rating Act 1967 (which relate to the valuation equalisation) shall apply as if each financial division were a riding of a county.

Transitional

- 17. For the purposes of the Local Authorities (Petroleum Tax) Act 1970 the council shall be the successor of the Taieri County Council and the Waikouaiti County Council.
- 18. The council shall prepare a district planning scheme in accordance with section 28B (2) of the Town and Country Planning Act 1953.
- 19. The valuation rolls, electoral rolls, and rate records in force in the former County of Taieri and the former County of Waikouaiti shall continue in force in the county until new such rolls and records are made for the county.
- 20. For the purpose of arranging for and conducting the election of the council to be held on 8 October 1977 the County Clerk and returning officer for the county shall be the County Clerk and returning officer of the Taieri County Council.
 - P. G. MILLEN, Clerk of the Executive Council.

Appointments, Promotions, Extensions, Transfers, Resigna-tions and Retirements of Officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force

Pursuant to section 35 of the Defence Act 1971, His Excellency the Governor-General has approved the following appointments, promotions, extensions, transfers, resignations, and retirements of officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force:

REGULAR AIR FORCE

GENERAL DUTIES BRANCH

Appointments

Flight Lieutenant B. P. Keane to be temp. Squadron Leader,

with effect from 5 January 1977.

Flying Officer R. B. Wignall to be temp. Flight Lieutenant, with effect from 12 April 1977.

Promotions

The following officers to be Flying Officers, with seniority and effect from 28 May 1977:

Pilot Officer A. J. Russell. Pilot Officer D. R. Middlemass.

Pilot Officer S. M. Hassett.

Relinquishment of Rank

Flight Lieutenant (temp. Squadron Leader) B. P. Keane relinquishes the temporary rank of Squadron Leader, with effect from 5 April 1977.

Transfer

Acting Pilot Officer J. P. Watson is transferred to the Administrative and Supply Branch, Secretarial Division, in his present rank and seniority, with effect from 12 May 1977.

Transfers to Reserve

Squadron Leader David Anthony Soper is transferred to the Reserve of Air Force Officers until 21 April 1981, with effect from 22 April 1977.

Squadron Leader Neil Franklin Wright is transferred to the Reserve of Air Force Officers until 9 May 1979, with effect from 10 May 1977.

Flight Lieutenant Donald Wayne Carter is transferred to the Reserve of Air Force Officers until 29 April 1981, with

effect from 30 April 1977.

Flight Lieutenant Wayne Edward Matthews is transferred to the Reserve of Air Force Officers until 4 May 1981, with effect from 5 May 1977

Flight Lieutenant Alister John Buckingham is transferred to the Reserve of Air Force Officers until 4 May 1981, with effect from 5 May 1977.

ENGINEER BRANCH

Appointment

Flying Officer C. Torr to be temp. Flight Lieutenant, with effect from 10 January 1977.

Promotions

Flying Officer (temp. Flight Lieutenant) I. P. Wightman to be Flight Lieutenant, with senority and effect from 9 April

Pilot Officer G. A. James to be Flying Officer, with seniority and effect from 26 April 1977.