Now therefore pursuant to section 122 of the Local Elections and Polls Act 1976, section 192 of the Local Government Act 1974, and section 6A of the Auckland Regional Authority Act 1963 (as inserted by section 3 of the Auckland Regional Authority Amendment Act 1965), His Excellency the Governor-General, acting by and with the advice and consent of the Executive Council, hereby makes the following order. order.

ORDER

1. Title—This order may be cited as the Local Elections and Polls (Auckland Regional Authority) Order 1977.

2. Principal authorities and returning officers—(1) Each local authority named in the second column of the Schedule to this order is hereby declared to be the principal authority for the purposes of the election to be held on the 8th day of October 1977 (and any subsequent election) of the members of the Auckland Regional Authority to be elected by the electors of the combined district specified in the first column of that Schedule opposite the name of that local authority, and the Returning Officer of the district of that principal local authority shall be the Returning Officer for the conduct

of the election of the members of the Authority to be elected by the electors of that combined district.

(2) Every combined district specified in the first column of the Schedule to this order is hereby declared to be a combined local government area for the purposes of section 49 of the Local Elections and Polls Act 1976, and that section shall apply accordingly.

SCHEDULE

GENEDULL	
Combined District	Principal Authority
The County of Rodney and the Borough of Helensville The Cities of Takapuna and East Coast Bays	The Rodney County Council.
and the Boroughs of Birkenhead, Northcote, and Devonport The City of Waitemata and the Boroughs of	The Takapuna City Council.
Henderson, Glen Eden, and New Lynn The City of Auckland, the Borough of New-	The Waitemata City Council.
market, and the County of Waiheke The Boroughs of Mount Albert, Mount Eden,	The Auckland City Council
One Tree Hill, Ellerslie, Mount Roskill, Onehunga, and Mount Wellington The Cities of Manukau, Papatoetoe, and Papakura and the Boroughs	The Mount Albert Borough Council.
of Howick and Otahuhu The County of Franklin and the Boroughs of Pukekohe, Tuakau,	The Manukau City Council.
and Waiuku	The Franklin County Council.

P. G. MILLEN, Clerk of the Executive Council.

Appointments, Promotions, Extensions, Transfers, Resignations, and Retirements of Officers of the Royal New Zealand Navv

PURSUANT to section 35 of the Defence Act 1971, His Excellency the Governor-General has approved the following appointments, promotions, extensions, transfers, resignations, and retirements of officers of the New Zealand Naval Forces.

ROYAL NEW ZEALAND NAVY

Surgeon Lieutenant Commander Noel Roydhouse, v.R.D., M.B.(U.N.Z.), CH.M.(U. OTAGO), F.R.C.S.(ENG.), F.R.A.C.S., RNZNVR Retired List, assumes the appointment of Consultant Otorhinolaryngologist to the New Zealand Armed Forces for a term of three years, and is granted the honorary rank of Surgeon Captain. Lieutenant Commander Neville Cecil Genders Peach is placed on the Retired List, with effect from 25 May 1977. The appointment of Instructor Lieutenant Commander

A. G. Clarke is extended to 16 January 1983.

The appointments of the following Lieutenant Commanders are extended until retiring age for rank:

C. J. Niven.

E. D. Glass, B.SC., DIP.TCHG.

R. K. Longley, C.ENG. A.M.I.MAR.E.

J. F. Lowen.

P. M. Pokai. R. J. Gillbanks.

Instructor Lieutenant J. A. Guy, B.SC. (HONS.), to be Instructor Lieutenant Commander, with seniority and effect from 14 April 1977.

Lieutenant (acting Lieutenant Commander) M. de V. Moore, B.A. (CANT), M.SC. (ASTON), M.N.Z.P.S.S., to be temp. Lieutenant Commander, with effect from 28 April 1977.

The appointments of the following are extended until retiring age for rank:

Lieutenant M. D. Lloyd.

Lieutenant J. S. C. Clark.

Lieutenant K. J. Robertson.

Lieutenant J. E. R. Granville.

Lieutenant B. C. Petley.

Lieutenant (temp. Lieutenant Commander) J. K. Carter, N.Z.C.E.

N.Z.C.E.
Lieutenant (temp. Lieutenant Commander) A. R. Penellum.
Lieutenant P. M. McHaffie,
Lieutenant G. A. Clark.
Lieutenant R. G. G. Sanson.
Lieutenant D. J. Williams,
Lieutenant W. Rathbun.

The appointments of the following Lieutenants (on prob.) with seniority and effect from 27 February 1976 are confirmed:

A. R. Dudley.

A. R. Dudey.
G. M. Turner.
A. T. Golds.
Sub Lieutenant Nigel Anthony Pilkington is transferred to the Reserve of Naval Officers until 27 May 1981, with effect from 28 May 1977.
Sub Lieutenant G. D. Honnor to be temp. Lieutenant, with

Sub Lieutenant G. D. Honnor to be temp. Lieutenant, with effect from 10 January 1977.

Ensign (acting Sub Lieutenant) C. A. Lucas to be temp. Sub Lieutenant, with effect from 16 May 1977.

Ensign G. A. Rees to be acting Sub Lieutenant with effect from 16 May 1977.

Women's Royal New Zealand Naval Service

Third Officer Marion Alice Renner is transferred to the Reserve of Naval Officers until 17 June 1981, with effect from 18 June 1977.

The appointments of the following Fourth Officers (on prob.) are confirmed with effect from 30 May 1977:

M. A. Eskrick. J. L. Hinks. J. E. Lambert.

ROYAL NEW ZEALAND NAVAL RESERVE

Honorary Commander Denis Holden relinquishes his honorary rank as Commander, with effect from 5 March

John Andrew Barbour is appointed to a commission in the rank of Honorary Commander, with seniority and effect from 5 March 1977.

ROYAL NEW ZEALAND NAVAL VOLUNTEER RESERVE

Surgeon Lieutenant Commander J. P. Simcock, M.B., CH.B., M.R.A.C.P. (LOND.), to be Surgeon Commander, with seniority and effect from 31 March 1977.

Surgeon Lieutenant John Raeburn Talbot, M.B., CH.B., is re-appointed to the RNZNVR List 1 in the rank of Surgeon

Lieutenant Commander, with seniority from 1 January 1973 and effect from 2 May 1977.

Ensign P. A. Mullen to be Sub Lieutenant, with seniorty and effect from 1 March 1977.

John Bruce Barton, J106406, ORD, to be Ensign, with seniority and effect from 9 May 1977, and is appointed to the RNZNVR List 1 until 25 March 1997.

the RNZNVR List 1 until 25 March 1997.

Colin Bruce Carey, R106390, AB, to be Ensign, with seniority and effect from 9 May 1977, and is appointed to the RNZNVR List 1 until 5 October 1992.

John Grainger Kerr, Q100547, ORD, to be Ensign, with seniority and effect from 9 May 1977, and is appointed to the RNZNVR List 1 until 16 August 1999.