- 2. There shall be a board of governors to be known as the Hawke's Bay Community College Council which shall control the Hawke's Bay Community College.
- 3. The Hawke's Bay Community College Council shall be constituted as follows:
 - (a) One member appointed jointly by the Napier City Council, the Hastings City Council, and Havelock North Borough Council;

(b) One member elected by the local authorities listed in the First Schedule to this notice;

- (c) One member elected by the governing bodies of the secondary schools listed in the Second Schedule to this notice:
- (d) One member appointed by the Hawke's Bay branch of the Wellington Regional Employers Association;
- (e) Two members appointed by the Hawke's Bay Trades Council;
- (f) One member appointed by the Federated Farmers of New Zealand (Hawke's Bay Provincial District) Inc.;
- (g) One member elected by the associations listed in the Third Schedule to this notice;
- (h) One member appointed by the Hawke's Bay Education
- Board: (i) One member appointed by the Ikaroa District Maori Council;
- (j) One member who shall be the Principal of the Hawke's

Bay Community College;
(k) One member who shall represent the staff of Hawke's Bay Community College, and who shall be elected by full-time teachers employed by the council, and who shall himself be a full-time teacher

employed by the council:
Provided that for the 3 year period from the 1st day of November 1977 until the 31st day of October day of November 1977 until the 31st day of October 1980, or until the election of a member for the 3 year period commencing on the 1st day of November 1980, the full-time teacher elected to represent the full-time staff of the Hawke's Bay Community College shall continue to be that teacher elected to represent the staff of the institution previously controlled by the Hawke's Bay Technical Institute Council as provided for in the notice varying the Hawke's Bay Technical Institute Notice 1973, and published in the Gazette on the same day as this notice; and as this notice; and

(1) (i) One member who shall represent the students of the Hawke's Bay Community College and who shall be elected to a term of office of one academic year by students of the college and who shall himself be a

student of the college:
Provided that for the period from the 1st day of November 1977 until the election of a student representative for the 1978 academic year, this member shall continue to be that student elected to represent the students of the institution previously controlled by the Hawke's Bay Technical Institute Council as provided for in the notice varying the Hawke's Bay Technical Institute Notice 1973, and published in the *Gazette* on the same day as this

(ii) Subject to subparagraph (i) of this paragraph, the election of the student representative for each

the election of the student representative for each academic year shall take place as soon as practicable after the commencement of each academic year; (iii) The member elected pursuant to subparagraph (i) of this paragraph shall hold office until the 31st day of January in the year after the year of his election, and if on that date the election of his successor has not been notified to the council, he shall continue to hold office until the date on which that election is notified; and that election is notified; and

that election is notified; and

(iv) For the purposes of subparagraph (i) of this paragraph a "student of the college" shall be defined as any student enrolled in a course of study at the Hawke's Bay Community College at the time of the calling of nominations for the election of the student representative, and the term "academic year" shall be defined as being the period from the 1st day of February in any one calendar year to the 31st day of January in the subsequent calendar year.

(m) Not more than four members to be co-opted by the council itself, if and when it thinks fit, of whom one member shall be co-opted to represent the interests of local educational, youth, and welfare

interests of local educational, youth, and welfare organisations not otherwise represented, and one member shall be co-opted to represent the interests of local cultural organisations not otherwise represented.

4. (1) Subject to the provisions of this clause and the provisions of paragraph (k) and subparagraph (i) of paragraph (1) of clause 3 of this notice, the members of the Hawke's Bay Community College Council shall hold office for a term of 3 years but may from time to time be reappointed or re-elected.

(2) Every co-opted member of the council shall be appointed for such terms not exceeding 3 years as the

council thinks fit.

(3) Except in the case of a casual vacancy or as otherwise provided in this notice, every member, except the member elected pursuant to subparagraph (i) of paragraph (l) of clause 3 of this notice, shall hold office until the 31st day of October in the third year after the year of his appointment or election, and if, on the 31st day of October, the appointment or election of his successor has not been notified to the council, he shall continue to hold office until the date on which that appointment or election is notified.

(4) If any member dies or resigns his office by writing under his hand addressed to the council or the Chairman under his hand addressed to the council or the Chairman or the Secretary thereof, or is absent without leave from the meetings of the council for 3 consecutive months, or while holding office becomes ineligible to remain a member by reason of disability, insolvency, neglect of duty, or misconduct, the casual vacancy so created shall be filled, as soon as practicable thereafter, by the appointment or election of a member in the manner in which the vacating member was appointed or elected and the member appointed or elected. appointed or elected, and the member appointed or elected to fill the vacancy shall hold office for the residue of the term of office of the member whom he replaces.

(5) The powers of the council shall not be affected by any

vacancy in the membership thereof.

5. The Hawke's Bay Technical Institute Notice 1973*, as varied in 1977 by notice in the Gazette†, is hereby revoked.

FIRST SCHEDULE

THE local authorities referred to in paragraph (b) of clause 3 of this notice shall be the following:

Hawke's Bay County Council Waipawa Borough Council. Waipawa County Council. Waipukurau District Council. Wairoa Borough Council. Wairoa County Council.

SECOND SCHEDULE

THE secondary schools referred to in paragraph (c) of clause 3 of this notice shall be the following:

Central Hawke's Bay College. Colenso High School. Hastings Girls High School Hastings Boys High School. Havelock North High School. Iona College. Karamu High School.
Lindisfarne College.
Napier Boys High School.
Napier Girls High School.
Sacred Heart Girls College, Napier. Sacred Heart Girls College, Napier.
St Johns College, Hastings.
St Josephs Maori Girls College, Greenmeadows.
Taradale High School.
Tamatea High School. Te Aute College. Tenison College. Wairoa College. Woodford House.

THIRD SCHEDULE

THE associations referred to in paragraph (g) of clause 3 of this notice shall be the following:

Hawke's Bay Branch, New Zealand Society of Accountants. The Hawke's Bay District Law Society. The New Zealand Institute of Management, Hawke's Bay Division (Inc.)

Hawke's Bay Division, New Zealand Dental Association. Medical Association of New Zealand, Hawke's Bay Division.

Hawke's Bay Branch, N.Z. Institute of Surveyors.

New Zealand Institution of Engineers

Hawke's Bay Branch of the Quantity Surveyors Institute of New Zealand (Inc.).

New Zealand Institute of Architects, Hawke's Bay and Gisborne Branch. Hawke's Bay Branch of the Pharmaceutical Society of New

Zealand.