Neill Thomas Gillespie, of Lower Hutt, solicitor, a member appointed on the advice of the Minister of Works and

Development;
Alick Lindsay Poole, of Wellington, scientist, representing

the Soil Conservation and Rivers Control Council; Bruce William Spooner, of Wellington, civil engineer, representing the Water Resources Council;

William Roy Holmes, of Christchurch, medical practitioner, nominated by the Executive Committee of the New Zealand Catchment Authorities Association Incorporated;

Neil Albert Algar, of Matamata, medical practitioner, nominated by the Executive Committee of the Municipal Association of New Zealand Incorporated;
Clutha Nantes Mackenzie, of Waikari, farmer, nominated by the Executive Committee of the New Zealand Counties

Association Incorporated;

to be members of the National Water and Soil Conservation Authority from and after the date of this appointment.

As witness the hand of His Exellency the Governor-General this 7th day of July 1977.

W. L. YOUNG, Minister of Works and Development. (P.W. 74/1/2/1)

Appointments, Promotions, Extensions, Transfers, Resigna-tions, and Retirements of Officers of the New Zealand

PURSUANT to section 35 of the Defence Act 1971, His Excellency the Governor-General has approved the following appointments, promotions, extensions, transfers, resignations, and retirements of officers of the New Zealand Army.

REGULAR FORCE

GRADUATES-OFFICER CADET SCHOOL, PORTSEA

The following Officer Cadets graduated from the Officer Cadet School, Portsea, and are appointed to commissions in the rank of 2nd Lieutenant in the corps shown, with effect from 12 June 1977:

Robert Stanley Campbell, Royal N.Z. Infantry Regiment. Anthony Gerard Connell, Royal N.Z. Armoured Corps. Peter Fredrick Cosgrove, The Corps of Royal N. Engineers.

Sydney George Dewes, Royal N.Z. Army Service Corps. Gordon Moera Gullery, Royal N.Z. Infantry Regiment. Anthony James Haughey, Royal N.Z. Army Service Corps. Robert William Helm, Royal N.Z. Army Ordnance Corps. Stephen Guy Ransley, The Corps of Royal N.Z. Engineers. Alistair Brian Robertson, Royal N.Z. Army Ordnance Corps.

ROYAL REGIMENT OF N.Z. ARTILLERY

Lieutenant Colonel D. R. Kenning, M.B.E., to be acting Colonel with effect from 27 June 1977 and temp. Colonel, Colonel with effect from 27 June 1977 and temp. Colonel, with effect from 4 July 1977.

Lieutenant (temp. Captain) R. Barker to be Captain, with seniority and effect from 20 June 1977.

Lieutenant (temp. Captain) M. J. R. Pearce to be Captain, with seniority and effect from 20 June 1977.

2nd Lieutenant M. I. Pope to be Lieutenant, with seniority and effect from 20 June 1977.

ROYAL N.Z. ARMOURED CORPS

Lieutenant (temp. Captain) K. R. Brown to be Captain, with seniority and effect from 20 June 1977.

Lieutenant and Quartermaster R. W. Bostock is re-engaged to retiring age for rank, with effect from 2 May 1977.

2nd Lieutenant P. J. Speedy to be Lieutenant, with seniority and effect from 20 June 1977.

THE CORPS OF ROYAL N.Z. ENGINEERS

Captain (temp. Major) S. D. Jameson to be Major, with seniority and effect from 20 June 1977.

Lieutenant (temp. Captain) J. K. Williams to be Captain, with seniority and effect from 20 June 1977.

Lieutenant and Quartermaster G. E. Goldsworthy to be temp. Captain and Quartermaster, with effect from 1 April

Lieutenant S. T. J. Rouse, B.E.(CIV.), to be temp. Captain,

with effect from 3 June 1977.
2nd Lieutenant T. E. Jones to be Lieutenant with seniority and effect from 20 June 1977.

ROYAL N.Z. CORPS OF SIGNALS

Major (acting Colonel) T. D. Macfarlane to be temp. Lieutenant Colonel (acting Colonel), with effect from 1 May 1976, and Lieutenant Colonel (acting Colonel), with seniority and effect from 10 August 1976.

Major (temp. Lieutenant Colonel) B. P. Wells to be Lieutenant Colonel, with seniority and effect from 14 February

Captain (temp. Major) D. W. Smith to be Major, with seniority and effect from 20 June 1977.

P38216 Warrant Officer Class I William Mowatt is appointed to a commission in the rank of Lieutenant and Quartermaster, with seniority and effect from 19 June 1977.

ROYAL N.Z. INFANTRY REGIMENT

Major (temp. Lieutenant Colonel) B. P. C. Cudby to be Lieutenant Colonel, with seniority and effect from 16 February 1977.

Captain (temp. Major) J. R. Webb to be Major, with seniority and effect from 8 January 1977.

seniority and effect from 8 January 1977.
Captain (temp. Major) P. L. Holes to be Major, with seniority and effect from 30 June 1977.
Captain (acting Major) B. E. Hall, M.C., to be temp. Major, with effect from 26 April 1977.
Lieutenant (temp. Captain) M. M. Hugget to be Captain, with seniority and effect from 20 June 1977.
Lieutenant (temp. Captain) S. J. R. Hollander to be Captain, with seniority and effect from 20 June 1977.
Lieutenant (temp. Captain) and Quartermaster G. W. Clayton to be Captain and Quartermaster, with seniority and effect from 13 July 1977.

effect from 13 July 1977.

Lieutenant J. R. Campbell is re-engaged until 28 May 1987.

Lieutenant (temp. Captain) Trevor Wharetapu Patrick is transferred to the Territorial Force, with effect from 16 June

Lieutenant B. M. Young to be temp. Captain, with effect

from 17 May 1977.

Lieutenant G. M. Hart to be temp. Captain, with effect from 14 May 1977.

ROYAL N.Z. ARMY SERVICE CORPS

Major Raymond Charles Tanner is transferred to the Reserve of Officers General List, Royal N.Z. Army Service Corps, in the rank of Major, with effect from 2 July 1977. Captain (temp. Major) J. S. Thorn, M.v.o., to be Major, with seniority and effect from 20 June 1977. Captain G. E. A. Cook to be temp. Major, with effect from

28 May 1977.
Lieutenant (temp. Captain) D. M. Campbell to be Captain, with seniority and effect from 20 June 1977.
The following 2nd Lieutenants to be Lieutenant, with

seniority and effect from 20 June 1977.

R. R. Stephenson. W. H. Mulcahy. B. G. McGregor.

ROYAL N.Z. ARMY ORDNANCE CORPS

Captain K. J. Dreyer to be temp. Major, with effect from

4 July 1977.

2nd Lieutenant R. D. E. Edwards to be Lieutenant, with seniority and effect from 20 June 1977.

Supernumerary List

Major and Quartermaster David Ralph Hughes: the notice published in the Gazette, No. 64, 9 June 1977, p. 1607, is cancelled.

THE CORPS OF ROYAL N.Z. ELECTRICAL AND MECHANICAL Engineers

Major (temp. Lieutenant Colonel) M. Mc. R. Jameson to be Lieutenant Colonel, with seniority and effect from 18 April 1977.

ROYAL N.Z. DENTAL CORPS

Thomas Henry Logan, Colonel M.B.E., B.D.S. HDD.R.F.P.S. (GLAS.), D.P.H., F.R.A.C.D.S., F.I.C.D.S., Q.H.D.S., is transferred to the Reserve of Officers General List, Royal N.Z. Dental Corps, in the rank of Colonel, with effect from 2 April 1977.

Colonel J. A. McArthur, B.D.S., is re-engaged to retiring age for rank, with effect from 2 April 1977.

Captain Ian Gordon Short, B.D.S., is transferred from the Reserve of Officers, General List, in the rank of Major, with seniority and effect from 15 February 1977.

ROYAL N.Z. PROVOST CORPS

Major Douglas Anthony Waygood, from the Royal Military Police (Retired) is appointed to a commission in the rank of Major, with seniority and effect from 17 June 1977.

ROYAL N.Z. ARMY EDUCATION CORPS

Lieutenant (temp. Captain) P. G. Cattermole, B.A., to be Captain, with seniority from 10 December 1976 and effect from 6 April 1977.