Appointments, Promotions, Extensions, Transfers, Resignations, and Retirements of Officers of the Royal New Zealand Navv

Pursuant to section 35 of the Defence Act 1971, His Excellency the Governor-General has approved the following appointments, promotions, extensions, transfers, resignations, and retirements of officers of the New Zealand Naval Forces.

ROYAL NEW ZEALAND NAVY

The appointment of Commander W. S. Watson, o.B.E., is

extended to 18 December 1978.

Lieutenant Commander J. A. Barnes, B.E. (ELECT), to be Commander, with seniority from 1 August 1976 and effect from 1 August 1977.

Lieutenant Commander D. J. Collins, M.B.E., to be temp. Commander, with effect from 1 August 1977.

The appointment of Lieutenant Commander L. G. Leonard is extended to 20 December 1977.

The appointment of Lieutenant Commander D. D. Davies is extended to 7 July 1982.

Lieutenant G. O. Bell to be temp. Lieutenant Commander, with effect from 22 April 1977, and Lieutenant Commander, with seniority and effect from 16 August 1977. Lieutenant N. L. Pickett to be Lieutenant Commander,

with seniority and effect from 30 June 1977.

Lieutenant G. A. Clark to be temp. Lieutenant Com-

mander, with effect from 1 August 1977.

Sub Lieutenant (W) S. J. Taylor to be acting Lieutenant (W), with effect from 1 August 1977, and temp. Lieutenant (W), with effect from 8 August 1977.

Ensign (acting Sub Lieutenant) D. R. Murray to be temp.

Ensign (temp. Sub Lieutenant) D. K. Murray to be temp. Sub Lieutenant, with effect from 1 August 1977.

Ensign (temp. Sub Lieutenant) K. G. Black to be Sub Lieutenant with seniority, from 4 January 1976 and effect from 25 July 1977.

Ensign J. R. Meldrum, B.SC., to be temp. Sub Lieutenant, with effect from 26 February 1977.

Midshipman (temp. Ensign) D. J. Carpenter to be Ensign, with seniority from 7 January 1976, and temp. Sub Lieutenant, with effect from 5 July 1977.

The appointment of Midshipman Andrew David Denton is

terminated, with effect from 25 July 1977.

The following are appointed to commissions in the rank of Lieutenant (on prob.), with seniority and effect from 29 July 1977, terminating on the dates shown:

Brian Morris Gordon, W713434, WO WTR, 28 July 1982. Michael Graham Kirk, A14812, WEL, 25 March 1985. Stephen Grant Ebrey, R18277, CEW, 28 July 1985. Lionel Herbert Rayner, W16488, CPO CK, 28 July 1985. Michael John Ramsay, A17112, CPO DI, 28 July 1985. Robert William Pettis, W18719, PO PTI, 24 August 1986.

Cornelia Mary Beentjes, H28619, PO WREN, is appointed to the RNZN in the rank of Ensign (SP) (W) (on prob.), with seniority from 25 July 1977, and effect from 1 August 1977, terminating 6 May 1995.

WOMEN'S ROYAL NEW ZEALAND NAVAL SERVICE

The following are transferred to the Special List of Officers of the RNZN with effect from 29 July 1977 and seniority from the dates shown:

Second Officer S. K. Wootton to be Lieutenant (W), 23 April 1974.

Second Officer J. M. Marriott to be Lieutenant (W), 23 April 1975

Second Officer W. I. Alsop to be Lieutenant (W), 23

February 1977.
Third Officer S. J. Taylor to be Sub Lieutenant (W), 3 March 1976.

Third Officer J. Johnson to be Sub Lieutenant (W), 23

February 1977.
Third Officer L. C. J. Somervell to be Sub Lieutenant (W),

23 February 1977.

Fourth Officer M. J. Eskrick to be Ensign (W), 7 March 1977.

Fourth Officer J. L. Hinks to be Ensign (W), 7 March 1977. Fourth Officer J. E. Lambert to be Ensign (W), 7 March

The following are appointed to the WRNZNS as Fourth Officers (on prob.), with seniority and effect from 25 July 1977, terminating 24 July 1997, and are transferred to the Special List of Officers of the RNZN in the rank of Ensign (W) (on prob.), with seniority from 25 July 1977 and effect from 29 July 1977:

Jennifer Ann Easton. Susan Maria Van Den Boorn.

ROYAL NEW ZEALAND NAVAL RESERVE

Alan Robert Baillie is appointed to the RNZNR in the rank of temp. Lieutenant, with seniority and effect, from 25 July 1977, terminating on 24 December 1985.

ROYAL NEW ZEALAND NAVAL VOLUNTEER RESERVE

Surgeon Lieutenant Commander J. P. Simcock: the notice published in the Gazette, No. 75, 14 July 1977, p. 1941, is cancelled and the following substituted:

Surgeon Lieutenant Commander J. P. Simcock, M.B., CH.B., M.R.A.C.P., B.MED.SC., M.R.C.P. (LOND.), to be Surgeon Com-

mander, with seniority and effect from 31 March 1977.

Lieutenant T. H. Creagh to be Lieutenant Commander, with seniority and effect from 5 July 1977.

Sub Lieutenant J. D. Rust to be Lieutenant, with seniority and effect from 14 April 1977.

Instructor Sub Lieutenant K. McD. Hunter, M.D.S., to be Lieutenant, with seniority and effect from 7 August 1977.

The appointment of Sub Lieutenant Lindsay McLean Smith

terminated at his own request, with effect from 4 July 1977.

Dated at Wellington this 2nd day of September 1977. ALLAN McCREADY, Minister of Defence.

Appointment of Maori Wardens Under the Maori Welfare Act 1962

PURSUANT to subsection (1) of section 7 of the Maori Welfare Act 1962, as substituted by section 14 of the Maori Purposes Act 1975, the Minister of Maori Affairs hereby appoints for a term of 3 years, the persons, named in the Schedule hereto, to be Maori wardens for the areas of the Maori associations set opposite the name of each such person in the second column of the Schedule hereto.

SCHEDULE

Name Maori Association Auckland District Maori Council. Diane Hoete Joe Robert Auckland District Maori Council. Rangi-rangi Barbara Joyce Tapara Auckland District Maori Council. Vera Thompson Auckland District Maori Council. Thomas Kawe Katipa Harry Hihita Wilson Auckland District Maori Council. Waikato/Maniapoto District Maori Council. Waikato/Maniapoto District Maori Ripeka Tepaearangipuia Rapana Council. William Marama Tutaki Waikato/Maniapoto District Maori Council. King Grace Hemara .. Waikato/Maniapoto District Maori Council. Waikato/Maniapoto District Maori Council. Charles Pikia Codford John Tangiora ... Ikaroa District Maori Council. Rakai-paka Hauwai Tuhau Rangi Hauwai Ikaroa District Maori Council. Ikaroa District Maori Council Te Wai Pounamu District Maori Alfred Hapareta Gray Te Wai Pounamu District Maori Council. Areta Rita Wikiriwhi

Dated at Wellington this 8th day of September 1977.

DUNCAN MACINTYRE, Minister of Maori Affairs. (M.A. 36/4/2, 36/4/3, 36/4/7, 36/4/8, 36/4/10)

Reappointment of an Honorary Community Officer Under the Maori Welfare Act 1962

Pursuant to section 5 (1) of the Maori Welfare Act 1962, the Minister of Maori Affairs hereby appoints Kataraina Corbett as an honorary community officer for a further term of 3 years.

Dated at Wellington this 9th day of September 1977.

DUNCAN MacINTYRE, Minister of Maori Affairs. (M.A. 36/5/9; 36/5/2)

Appointment of an Honorary Community Officer Under the Maori Welfare Act 1962

Pursuant to section 5 (1) of the Maori Welfare Act 1962, the Minister of Maori Affairs hereby appoints Hapi Pihema as an honorary community officer for a term of 3 years.

Dated at Wellington this 9th day of September 1977.

DUNCAN MacINTYRE, Minister of Maori Affairs. (M.A. 36/5/9; 36/5/2)