Douglas Lauriston FYFE, of Christchurch. For services to

agricultural journalism.
Peter David Hensman GODFREY, of Auckland. For

services to music.

Henry Coleridge HITCHCOCK, of Wellington. Lately Senior Research Engineer, Head Office, New Zealand Electricity Department.

James Edward KNOWLING, of Auckland. For services to

rugby league.

William Trevor MARTIN, of Wellington. For services to cricket.

Colin QUINCEY, of Auckland. For displaying a remarkable feat of endurance by becoming the first person to row the Tasman Sea single-handed from New Zealand to Australia.

to Australia.

The Reverend Canon Rimu Hamiora RANGIIHU, of Waipatu. For services to the Maori people.

Arthur Wellesley Vivian REEVE, of Wellington. For services to scouting.

William SANDERS (Senior), of Te Awamutu. For services to the community and horse racing.

Charles Kesteven SAXTON, of Dunedin. For services to rugby

rugby.

Leonard Basil SWAN, of Dunedin. For services to trade union affairs.

Henry Charles Allan WARDS, of Lower Hutt. For services to the Young Farmers Clubs Federation.

Squadron Leader Walter Sinclair Anthony WATERSTON, of Otatara, Southland. Commander, Southland No. 12 (Invercargill), Air Training Corps Squadron, NZ Cadet **Forces**

Henry WOODYEAR-SMITH, of Auckland. For services to agriculture.
Dr John Stuart YEATES, of Palmerston North. For services

to horticulture.

The Queen's Service Medal for Community Service (QS.M.):

Mrs Christine Cairns BALLOCH, of Kaitangata.

Mrs Violet BLEASE, of Auckland.
Mrs Eleanor Mary BURGESS, of Wanganui.
Mrs Alice Maud CAMPBELL, of Auckland.
Mrs Jocelyn Ann CARLTON, of Fairlie.
Frederick Charles John CHITTOCK, of Auckland.
Mrs Rosea Merle CRAWFORD, of Hawera.
Cyril Mostin CROUCHER, up. of Tourse.

Mrs Rosea Merle CRAWFORD, of Hawera.
Cyril Martin CROUCHER, J.P., of Taupo.
Colin Henry Gilmour CURRAGH, of Christchurch.
Mrs Elsie May DE MEY, of Levin.
Owen Cecil FINER, of New Plymouth.
Mrs Ella Viola FRYER, J.P., of Dannevirke.
Mrs Violet Patricia HARRIS, of Mount Maunganui.
Mrs Gwendoline LATTEY, of Palmerston North.
Miss Martha Iris McCURDY, of Dipton, Southland.
Mrs Ivy Elizabeth McGREEVY, of Rotorua.
Miss Violet Adela Marie MacMILLAN, of Tauranga.
Miss Winifred Nora MARDON, of Palmerston North.
Mrs Myra Isobel MATHEWSON, of Timaru.
Mrs Dulcie Jessie Forrest MENZIES, of Hamilton.
The Reverend Father William Edward O'DONNELL, of Petone. Petone

Roland Joshua PAPPS, of Takaka. Mrs Te Whairangi Kumeroa Ngoi PEWHAIRANGI, J.P., of Tokomaru Bay

William Frank PONDER, of Lower Hutt.

Mrs Elizabeth Colman SAUNDERS, of Cambridge. Mrs Emily SHIRLEY, of Nightcaps.

Ralph SIMPSON, of Christchurch. Stuart Tichborne Campbell SPROTT, of Wellington.

Miss Iris Myrtle TERRY, of Palmerston North.
Murray THACKER, of Okains Bay, Banks Peninsula.
Mrs Lily Elsie WALKER, of Northland.
Ronald Ernest YOUNGMAN, of Whangaparaoa.

The Queen's Service Medal for Public Services (Q.S.M.):

John Bell BROTHERSTON, of Wanganui. Dr Allan Lindsay BRYANT, of Hokitika.

Dr Allan Lindsay BRYANI, of Hokitika.
Robert Burt CLELAND, J.P., of Stratford.
Eldred Ronald COMER, of Temuka.
Arthur Rae COX, J.P., of Rawene, Northland.
Ronald DONOVAN, of Duvauchelle.
Huia Gray GILPIN, J.P., of Christchurch.
Peter Edward GRAHAM, of Levin.
Oswald Bayly HAWKEN, of Wanganui.
Charles William HAWKINS, J.P., of Fern

Charles William HAWKINS, J.P., of Fernhill, Hawke's Bay.

Thomas William HORGAN, of Christchurch, Chief Instructor, Christchurch Prison, Department of Justice. Miss Myrtle Jessie KAY, of Dunedin.

Gordon Robert KEAR, J.P., of Palmerston North.

Hector Berkley LAWRY, J.P., of Tokoroa.

Mrs Mary Catherine McNAMARA, of Nelson. Principal Nurse, Braemar Hospital, Nelson.

Owen Stanley PRIEST, of Winchester, South Canterbury. Ellesmere John STALKER, of Christchurch.

Harold STRODE, of Naseby.
Robert Frew WATSON, of Orepuki, Southland.
Frederick Charles YULE, J.P., of Greytown.

The Queen's Fire Service Medal for Distinguished Service $(\widetilde{Q}.F.S.M.)$:

Edwin Wallace SAUNDERS, Chief Fire Officer, Area

Commander, 5D/1, Greymouth.

Sidney Raymond HIDE, Senior Station Officer, (Officer-in-charge, Mt Maunganui), Tauranga Fire Brigade.

Leslie George HOUSTON, Volunteer Station Officer, New Plymouth Fire Brigade.

POLICE LIST

To be a Member of the Civil Division of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (M.B.E.):

Peter Maxwell GENTRY, Detective Chief Inspector, New Zealand Police.

The Queen's Service Medal for Public Services (Q.S.M.):

Peter Forbes ORR, Sergeant, New Zealand Police.

The Queen's Police Medal for Distinguished Service (Q.P.M.):

Anzac Thomas PARATENE, Constable, New Zealand Police

Frederick Timothy FOLEY, Lately Constable, New Zealand Police.

MILITARY LIST

To be a Companion of the Military Division of the Most Honourable Order of the Bath (C.B.):

Major General Ronald Douglas Patrick HASSETT, C.B.E. (W30173). Chief of General Staff.

To be a Commander of the Military Division of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (C.B.E.):

Brigadier Brian Matauru POANANGA, o.B.E., (G30251), Deputy Chief of General Staff.

To be Officers of the Military Division of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (O.B.E.):

Commander Christopher Richard VENNELL (N11880), Royal New Zealand Navy. Lieutenant Colonel Evan John TORRANCE (F676734),

Royal New Zealand Infantry Regiment. Group Captain Stuart McINTYRE, D.F.C. (J73884), Royal

New Zealand Air Force.

To be Members of the Military Division of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (M.B.E.):

Lieutenant Commander John Wilfred JENNINGS (G18475), Royal New Zealand Navy.

Lieutenant Commander Kenneth Neil CAMERON (M13213), Royal New Zealand Navy.

Major Harry Roberts BURT (H53015), Royal New Zealand Infantry Regiment.

Major Anthony Leonard BIRKS (P20718), Poyal New

Major Anthony Leonard BIRKS (P30718), Royal New

Zealand Infantry Regiment.

Major and Quartermaster Girvan Ross HORNBROOK,
B.E.M., (W11405), Royal New Zealand Infantry Regiment.

Warrant Officer Class I Graham NASH (P34237), Royal New Zealand Infantry Regiment. Squadron Leader George Stephen HIGGINS (R817826), Royal New Zealand Air Force. Squadron Leader Thomas Michael STRANG (W75115), Royal New Zealand Air Force.

The Air Force Cross (A.F.C.):

Flight Lieutenant Nigel Albert DAVEY (M82650), Royal New Zealand Air Force.

To be an Associate of the Royal Red Cross Second Class (A.R.R.C.):

Lieutenant Colonel Lois JONES (F215469), Royal New Zealand Nursing Corps (Retired).

The British Empire Medal, Military Division (B.E.M.):

Chief Engineering Mechanic Laurence Francis McGUIRE (N16227), Royal New Zealand Navy. Chief Radioman John Hamilton BULLOCK (D17069),

Royal New Zealand Navy.
Control Electrical Mechanician First Class John Ingram JOHNSON (H17441), Royal New Zealand Navy.