James Utanga Morgan, B.SC. (HONS) (PSYCH), is appointed to a commission in the rank of Lieutenant with seniority and effect from 6 December 1977.

ROYAL N.Z. NURSING CORPS

Captain (W) M. J. Hunt to be Major (W) with seniority and effect from 11 November 1977.

Captain (W) Joyce Valerie Carr resigns her commission with effect from 10 January 1978.

TERRITORIAL FORCE ROYAL N.Z. INFANTRY REGIMENT

2nd Battalion (Canterbury and Nelson, Marlborough and

West Coast), RNZIR

Captain Bruce Marshall Stevenson is transferred to the Reserve of Officers, General List, in the rank of Captain with effect from 21 November 1977.

Lieutenant T. Rabbidge is transferred to the Regular Force

with effect from 7 November 1977.

Licutenant William Wakefield Bishop is transferred to the Reserve of Officers, Regimental List, 2nd Battalion (Canterbury and Nelson, Marlborough and West Coast), RNZIR, in his present rank and seniority with effect from 4 October

The commission of 2nd Lieutenant (on prob.) A. I. Clark

is confirmed with effect from 23 October 1976.

3rd Battalion (Auckland (Countess of Ranfurly's Own) and Northland), RNZIR

Lieutenant (temp. Captain) Brian Peter Comrie is transferred to the Reserve of Officers, Regimental List, 3rd Battalion (Auckland (Countess of Ranfurly's Own) and Northland), RNZIR, in the rank of Lieutenant with effect from 27 October 1977.

7th Battalion (Wellington (City of Wellington's Own) and Hawkes Bay), RNZIR

Lieutenant James Barrie Burns is transferred to the Reserve of Officers, Regimental List, 7th Battalion (Wellington (City of Wellington's Own) and Hawkes Bay), RNZIR, in his present rank and seniority with effect from 3 November 1977.

ROYAL N.Z. ARMY MEDICAL CORPS

1st Field Hospital, RNZAMC

Ross Douglas Blair, M.B., CH.B., F.R.A.C.S., is appointed to a commission in the rank of Captain with seniority from 14 December 1975, and to be temp. Major with effect from 14 December 1977.

3rd Field Ambulance, RNZAMC

Captain Michael George Sargent, M.B., CH.B., is transferred to the Reserve of Officers, General List, in the rank of Captain with effect from 10 November 1977.

University Medical Unit, RNZAMC

Lieutenant N. G. Anderson, M.B., CH.B., to be temp. Captain with effect from 12 December 1977.

EXTRA REGIMENTAL EMPLOYMENT

Headquarters, 1st Infantry Brigade Group

Colonel E. J. Valintine, O.B.E., E.D., to be Brigadier, and is transferred to the Brigadiers' List (Territorial Force) with effect from 1 December 1977, on assuming the appointment of Territorial Adviser to the Army General Staff, vice Brigadier M. C. Churton, O.B.E., E.D., M.D.S., F.A.C.D.S.

RESERVE OF OFFICERS

Regimental List

Headquarters, 3rd Infantry Brigade Group Captain (temp. Major) Alister George Young, E.D., RNZA, is transferred from the Reserve of Officers, General List, Royal Regiment of N.Z. Artillery, in his present rank with seniority from 5 February 1966 and effect from 7 December 1977.

General List

Royal Regiment of N.Z. Artillery

Captain (temp. Major) Alister George Young, E.D., is transferred to the Territorial Force with effect from 7 December 1977.

Royal N.Z. Infantry Regiment

Major Athol Kenneth Blair is posted to the Retired List with effect from 27 December 1977.

Royal N.Z. Army Medical Corps

Lieutenant Ralph Thomas Bright, M.B., CH.B., is posted to the Retired List with effect from 9 December 1977. Royal N.Z. Army Ordnance Corps

Brigadier Allan Huia Andrews is posted to the Retired List with effect from 1 October 1977.

Retired List

Royal Regiment of N.Z. Artillery

Captain G. G. Roch, E.D., is reposted to the Territorial Force, 16th Field Regiment, RNZA, in his present rank with seniority from 1 April 1976 and effect from 7 October 1977.

Dated at Wellington this 3rd day of February 1978.

ALLAN McCREADY, Minister of Defence.

Appointments, Promotions, Extensions, Transfers, Resignations, and Retirements of Officers of the Royal New Zealand

Pursuant to section 35 of the Defence Act 1971, His Excellency the Governor-General has approved the following appointments, promotions, extensions, transfers, resignations, and retirements of officers of the New Zealand Naval Forces.

ROYAL NEW ZEALAND NAVY

CHIEF OF NAVAL STAFF

Rear Admiral John Foster McKenzie, C.B., C.B.E., is placed on the Retired List with effect from 14 December 1977.

Commodore N. D. Anderson, C.B.E., A.D.C., to be acting Rear Admiral, with effect from 10 December 1977, Rear Admiral with seniority and effect from 14 December 1977, and is appointed Chief of Naval Staff.

Lieutenant Commander Richard Francis Ryan is transferred to the Reserve of Naval Officers until 15 December 1981, with effect from 2 January 1978.

The appointment of Lieutenant Commander C. J. Freeborn

The appointment of Lieutenant Commander C. J. Freeborn is extended to 29 May 1982.

Instructor Lieutenant Commander James Arthur Guy, B.S.C.(HONS), is transferred to the Reserve of Naval Officers until 13 December 1981, with effect from 14 December 1977.

The appointment of Lieutenant (temp. Lieutenant Commander) M. de V. Moore is extended to 27 July 1991.

Lieutenant (temp. Lieutenant Commander) M. F. Piper to be Lieutenant Commander with seniority and effect from 20 January 1978.

20 January 1978.

Lieutenant (temp. Lieutenant Commander) Howey Hautonga Mana Kipa, C.ENG., M.I.MAR.E., M.N.Z.I.E., is transferred to the Reserve of Naval Officers until 6 December 1979, with effect from 7 December 1977

Lieutenant G. S. Adair, B.Sc., is transferred to the Instructor List of Officers in the rank of Instructor Lieutenant with seniority from 20 August 1975 and effect from 1 January 1978, terminating 4 January 1990.

Sub Lieutenant Terence Alan Smith is transferred to the Reserve of Naval Officers until 16 December 1981, with

Reserve of Naval Officers until 16 December 1981, with effect from 17 December 1977.

The following to be Sub Lieutenants with seniority and effect from the dates shown:
Ensign S. J. Tollenaar, 6 January 1978.
Ensign J. H. Aitken, 6 January 1978.
Ensign L. A. Cocks, 6 January 1978.
Ensign S. E. Wilkinson, 6 January 1978.
Ensign (temp. Sub Lieutenant) R. N. Mason, 7 January 1978.

1978.

Ensign (temp. Sub Lieutenant) R. J. Scott, 7 January 1978. Ensign (temp. Sub Lieutenant) I. R. Logan, 7 January 1978.

Ensign (temp. Sub Lieutenant) B. L. McLennan, 7 January 1978.

Ensign W. T. Stevens, 7 January 1978.

Ensign W. T. Stevens, 7 January 1978.
The following Midshipmen to be acting Ensigns with effect from 5 January 1978:
G. S. Jackson.
D. P. Pickerill.
W. T. M. Sullivan.
N. E. Handey.
M. Jacobs

M. Jacobs. R. E. Morris.

The appointment of Midshipman Richard Dennis Stevens is terminated with effect from 19 November 1977.

David Edward Barratt, M.B.E., is appointed to the RNZN in the rank of Lieutenant Commander with seniority from 3 May 1958 and effect from 9 January 1978; terminating 5 May

Lieutenant (W) Sally Kay Wootton is re-appointed to the RNZN in the rank of Lieutenant (W) with seniority from 10 July 1974 and effect from 9 January 1978; terminating 19 August 1990.

Ian Gillon Smith, A12512 WMAA, is appointed to the RNZN in the rank of Lieutenant (Sp) with seniority and effect from 9 January 1978; terminating on 3 January 1981.

Jeffrey Cameron Kennedy is appointed to the RNZN in the rank of Sub Lieutenant (Sp) (on prob.) with seniority from