- 5. Administering Authority—The administering authority of the council shall be the Masterton Borough Council.
- 6. First Appointment of Members—(1) Each constituent authority shall, not later than 1 month after the date of the commencement of this order, appoint the first member or the first members of the council which that authority is to appoint under clause 4 of this order.

under clause 4 of this order.

(2) The members of the council appointed pursuant to subclause (1) of this clause shall come into office on the day of the first meeting of the council.

(3) Each constituent authority shall, not later than the 31st day of December 1978, give the names of the person or persons appointed by it pursuant to subclause (1) of this clause to the principal officer of the administering authority.

(4) The principal officer of the administering authority shall not be prevented, by any failure to comply with subclause (3) of this clause, from convening the first meeting of the council in accordance with clause 7 of this order.

7. First Meeting of Council—(1) The first meeting of the council shall be held not later than 2 months after the date of the commencement of this order.

(2) The principal officer of the administering authority shall convene the first meeting of the council and shall preside at that meeting until the election of a chairman.

(3) That principal officer may do all things necessary for the convening of that meeting.

8. Committees—(1) Subject to section 104 of the Local Government Act 1974, section 6 of the Town and Country Planning Act 1977, and subclause (2) of this clause, the council may appoint such committees as it thinks fit.

(2) The council shall appoint and maintain a Civil Defence Committee which committee shall include a nominee of the Director of Civil Defence and a nominee of the Commissioner

of Works.

9. Finance—For the purposes of and subject to section 123 of the Local Government Act 1974 the net expenditure of the council shall be apportioned among the constituent authorities of the region as follows:

Eketahuna County Council shall pay one sixteenth;
Masterton County Council shall pay three sixteenths;
Masterton Borough Council shall pay one quarter;
Wairarapa South County Council shall pay one eighth;
Carterton Borough Council shall pay one sixteenth;
Featherston County Council shall pay one sixteenth;
Greytown Borough Council shall pay one sixteenth;
Martinborough Borough Council shall pay one sixteenth Martinborough Borough Council shall pay one sixteenth.

P. G. MILLEN, Clerk of the Executive Council.

(I.A. 104/121)

West Coast Region Constitution Order 1978

KEITH HOLYOAKE, Governor-General ORDER IN COUNCIL

At the Government House at Wellington this 27th day of November 1978

HIS EXCELLENCY THE GOVERNOR-GENERAL IN COUNCIL PURSUANT to the Local Government Act 1974, His Excellency the Governor-General, acting by and with the advice and consent of the Executive Council, hereby makes the following order:

ORDER

1. Title and commencement—(1) This Order may be cited as the West Coast Region Constitution Order 1978.

(2) This order shall come into force on the 30th day of

November 1978.

2. West Coast Region—(1) There is hereby constituted a region to be called the West Coast Region (hereinafter referred to as "the region").

(2) The constituent districts of the region are the districts of:

(a) The County of Buller,

- (b) The Borough of Westport, (c) The County of Inangahua,
- (d) The County of Grey, (e) The Borough of Runanga, (f) The Borough of Greymouth,

- (g) The County of Westland, and (h) The Borough of Hokitika.
- 3. West Coast United Council—The Council for the region shall be a united council described as "The West Coast United Council" (hereinafter referred to as "the council").
- 4. Membership of Council—The council shall consist of 14 members, of whom:
 - (a) Two shall be appointed by the Buller County Council:
 (b) One shall be appointed by the Westport Borough
 - Council: (c) One shall be appointed by the Inangahua County Council:
 - (d) Two shall be appointed by the Grey County Council: (e) One shall be appointed by the Runanga Borough
 - Council (f) Three shall be appointed by the Greymouth Borough
 - Council (g) Three shall be appointed by the Westland County Council:
 - (h) One shall be appointed by the Hokitika Borough Council:
- 5. Administering authority—The administering authority of the council shall be the Grey County Council.
- 6. First appointment of members—(1) Each constituent authority shall, not later than 1 month after the date of the commencement of this order, appoint the first member or the first members of the council which that authority is to appoint under clause 4 of this order.

(2) The members of the council appointed pursuant to subclause (1) of this clause shall come into office on the day

of the first meeting of the council.

(3) Each constituent authority shall, not later than the 31st day of December 1978, give the names of the person or persons appointed by it pursuant to subclause (1) of this clause to the principal officer of the administering authority.

(4) The principal officer of the administering authority shall not be prevented by any failure to comply with subclause (3) of this clause, from convening the first meeting of the council in accordance with clause 7 of this order.

7. First meeting of Council—(1) The first meeting of the council shall be held not later than 2 months after the date of the commencement of this order.

(2) The principal officer of the administering authority shall convene the first meeting of the council and shall preside

at that meeting until the election of a chairman.

(3) That principal officer may do all things necessary for the convening of that meeting.

8. Committees—(1) Subject to section 104 of the Local Government Act 1974, section 6 of the Town and Country Planning Act 1977, and subclause (2) of this clause, the council may appoint such committees as it thinks fit.

(2) The council shall appoint and maintain a Civil Defence Committee which committee shall include a nominee of the Director of Civil Defence and a nominee of the Commissioner

of Works.

9. Finance—(1) For the purposes of and subject to section 123 of the Local Government Act 1974 the net expenditure of the council shall be charged and assessed to each constitute outbasity according to the critismetic mean of the net stituent authority according to the arithmetic mean of the net adjusted capital value and population of its district expressed as proportions of the adjusted net capital value and population of the region.

(2) For the purposes of section 123 of the Local Government Act 1974 the functions of regional planning and civil defence shall be deemed to be functions for the benefit of

the whole region.

P. G. MILLEN, Clerk of the Executive Council. (I.A. 104/130)

Appointments, Promotions, Extensions, Transfers, Resignations, and Retirements of Officers of the New Zealand

PURSUANT to section 35 of the Defence Act 1971, His Excellency the Governor-General has approved the following appointments, promotions, extensions, transfers, resignations, and retirements of officers of the New Zealand Army.

REGULAR FORCE

ROYAL REGIMENT OF N.Z. ARTILLERY

Captain (temp. Major) D. T. Weston to be Major, with seniority and effect from 11 October 1978.