Sub Lieutenant (temp. Lieutenant) D. L. Sherriff to be Lieutenant, with seniority from 5 September 1975 and effect from 9 December 1977.

Sub Lieutenant Nigel Robert Murray is transferred to the Reserve of Naval Officers in the rank of Sub Lieutenant, with effect from 16 January 1978 until 15 January 1982.

The following Ensigns (*temp.* Sub Lieutenants) to be Sub Lieutenants, with seniority from 3 January 1977, and effect from 20 January 1978:

C. A. Lucas.

D. R. Murray.

The appointment of Ensign Cecil Wayne Mills is terminated,

Ine appointment of Ensign Cecil Wayne Mills is terminated, with effect from 18 January 1978. Ensign (W) M. J. Eskrick to be Sub Lieutenant (W), with seniority and effect from 7 March 1978. Ensign (W) C. M. Beentjes to be Sub Lieutenant (W), with seniority from 1 July 1974 and effect from 15 November 1977. Midshipman H. B. Johnson to be acting Ensign, with effect from 7 Debruor. 1079

from 7 February 1978. John Rex Monigatti is appointed to the RNZN in the rank of Surgeon Lieutenant (on prob.), with seniority from 27 November 1975 and effect from 13 February 1978 on a fixed

term engagement terminating on 12 August 1982. The following are appointed to the RNZN as Midshipmen, with seniority from 1 January 1978 and effect from 12 January 1978:

Richard William Stuteley.

Perry Graham Tait.

ROYAL NEW ZEALAND NAVAL RESERVE

The appointment of Temporary Lieutenant (on prob.) A. R. Bailie is confirmed, with seniority from 25 July 1977 and effect from 1 March 1978.

ROYAL NEW ZEALAND NAVAL VOLUNTEER RESERVE

Lieutenant Commander Neil Graham Ritchie, V.R.D., S.D.O. (N.Z.), is placed on the Retired List of the RNZNVR, with effect from 2 March 1978.

Lieutenant Ivan John Taylor, v.R.D., is placed on the Retired List of the RNZNVR, with effect from 5 May 1977. Ensign D. M. Costello, B.COM., to be Sub Lieutenant, with seniority from 16 September 1977 and effect from 19 December 1977

John Oliver Rymer (Anglican) to be Chaplain (on prob.), from 20 February 1978 and is appointed to the RNZNVR List 1.

EMERGENCY LIST OF THE ROYAL NEW ZEALAND NAVY

The period of service of Lieutenant John Keith Alexander, B.E., B.SC., M.N.Z.I.E., A.N.Z.I.C., on the Emergency List of the RNZN is terminated, with effect from 22 December 1977.

Dated at Wellington this 29th day of March 1978.

ALLAN McCREADY, Minister of Defence.

Appointments, Promotions, Extensions, Transfers, Resignations and Retirements of Officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force

PURSUANT to section 35 of the Defence Act 1971, His Excel-lency the Governor-General has approved the following appointments, promotions, extensions, transfers, resignations, and retirements of officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force:

REGULAR AIR FORCE

GENERAL DUTIES BRANCH

Appointments

Squadron Leader B. P. Bygate to be acting Wing Com-mander, with effect from 23 January 1978 and temp. Wing Commander, with effect from 31 January 1978. Squadron Leader R. J. Denniston is appointed to a perma-nent commission, with effect from 2 November 1977. The following Officer Cadets are appointed to commissions in the rank of Acting Pilot Officer (on prob.), with effect from 9 December 1977:

M88561 Officer Cadet David Michael Abbott. U88453 Officer Cadet Bruce William Bartlett. N87228 Officer Cadet Alan Graham Beach. W88455 Officer Cadet Dennis John Davidson. W87512 Officer Cadet Paul Richard Divett, B88459 Officer Cadet Peter Brent Fleming. X87513 Officer Cadet Christopher Graham Golding. N88562 Officer Cadet David Wayne Harris. A88320 Officer Cadet Peter Stephen Ireland. X88456 Officer Cadet Herbert Bruce Keightley. V88457 Officer Cadet David Glenn Lumsden

Y88457 Officer Cadet David Glenn Lumsden.

P88563 Officer Cadet Kim Rutherford McKay.

S88014 Officer Cadet Malcolm David Parkes.

Q88564 Officer Cadet Alan James David Pumphrey. A88458 Officer Cadet Jeremy Mark Abingdon Sharp. B88321 Officer Cadet Glenn Allan Todd. C88322 Officer Cadet William Grant Walker.

Promotion

Flying Officer G. A. Cooper to be Flight Lieutenant, with seniority and effect from 28 January 1978.

Adjustment of Seniority

The seniority of Flying Officer Keith Ivan Pollock, B.SC., is adjusted to 28 August 1976.

Transfers to Reserve

Wing Commander Raymond Reginald Black is transferred to the Reserve of Air Force Officers until 8 December 1979, with effect from 1 February 1978.

Squadron Leader Ian William Collins is transferred to the Reserve of Air Force Officers until 2 February 1980, with effect from 3 February 1978.

ENGINEER BRANCH

Appointment

Flight Lieutenant G. W. Blue to be temp. Squadron Leader, with effect from 7 February 1978.

motions

Squadron Leader (temp. Wing Commander) D. W. Hill, B.E. (MECH.) (HONS.), to be Wing Commander, with effect from 28 January 1978.

Squadron Leader G. St. A. Murray to be acting Wing Com-mander, with effect from 12 December 1977, and Wing Commander, with seniority and effect from 27 January 1978.

ADMINISTRATIVE AND SUPPLY BRANCH **Appointments**

Secretarial Division Mary Elizabeth Cox is appointed to a commission in the rank of Pilot Officer (W) (on prob.), with seniority and effect from 9 January 1978.

Supply Division

Flight Lieutenant S. F. Teague to be temp. Squadron Leader,

with effect from 21 December 1977. Anthony Clive Comrie is appointed to a commission in the rank of Flight Lieutenant, with seniority from 21 December 1975 and effect from 17 November 1977.

Special Duties Division

Malcolm Lloyd Shore, B.S. (HONS.), is appointed to a com-mission in the rank of Flying Officer, with seniority from 18 October 1975 and effect from 18 October 1976.

Promotion

Special Duties Division Flight Lieutenant (temp. Squadron Leader) K. L. Milne to be Squadron Leader, with seniority and effect from 6 February 1978.

Transfers to Reserve

Secretarial Division

Flying Officer Barbara Leslie Coburn is transferred to the Reserve of Air Force Officers until 30 January 1982, with effect from 31 January 1978.

Supply Division

Flight Lieutenant William Brian Murphy is transferred to the Reserve of Air Force Officers until 15 January 1980, with effect from 16 January 1978.

Transfers to Retired List

Special Duties Division

Squadron Leader Roger Musson Cattermole, M.B.E., is trans-ferred to the Retired List "A", with effect from 21 January 1978.

Squadron Leader Donnelly Keelan Wapp is transferred to the Retired List "A", with effect from 28 January 1978.

EDUCATION BRANCH

Extension of Commission The commission of Squadron Leader B. G. Clark, B.SC., is extended to 14 September 1988.

Transfers to Reserve

Squadron Leader Winston Ross Swap, B.SC., DIP.TCHG., is transferred to the Reserve of Air Force Officers until 31 March 1978, with effect from 21 January 1978. Flight Lieutenant Eric James McKinstry, N.Z.C.E., is trans-ferred to the Reserve of Air Force Officers until 12 February 1980, with effect from 13 February 1978.