Amending an Order in Council Appointing a Non-Elective Member of the Marlborough Catchment Board

### KEITH HOLYOAKE, Governor-General ORDER IN COUNCIL

At the Government Buildings at Wellington this 17th day of April 1978.

### Present:

THE RIGHT HON. R. D. MULDOON PRESIDING IN COUNCIL

Pursuant to section 7 of the Soil Conservation and Rivers Control Act 1941, His Excellency the Governor-General acting by and with the advice and consent of the Executive Council, hereby amends the Order in Council dated the 14th day of December 1955, and published in Gazette, 15 December 1955, at p. 1983, as amended by the Order in Council dated 27 August 1973, and published in Gazette, 6 September 1973, at p. 1684, appointing three non-elective members of the Marlborough Catchment Board by deleting "Principal Forester, New Zealand Forest Service, Nelson" and substituting "Assistant Conservator of Forests, New Zealand Forest Service, Nelson.'

P. G. MILLEN, Clerk of the Executive Council. (P.W. 75/20)

Upper Waitaki Irrigation Scheme, Altering Irrigation Water Charges and Terms of Supply

## KEITH HOLYOAKE, Governor-General ORDER IN COUNCIL

At the Government Buildings at Wellington this 24th day of April 1978.

#### Present:

THE RIGHT HON. B. E. TALBOYS PRESIDING IN COUNCIL

PURSUANT to sections 11 and 18 of the Public Works Amendment Act 1960, His Excellency the Governor-General, acting by and with the advice and consent of the Executive Council, hereby alters the Upper Waitaki Irrigation Scheme irrigation water charges and terms of supply as follows:

(a) The repayment of the losses over the 10-year development period from the date of completion of the water supply works shall be spread over the remaining 30 years of assessed scheme life.

(b) The interest rate shall be  $8\frac{1}{2}$  percent per annum on a quarter of the capital cost of the scheme.

(c) The half water quota is hereby reduced to a depth of 250 millimetres, with annual water use in excess of that figure to be sold at the extra water charge rate applicable at the time.

There shall be an annual increase of 20 percent per annum for the charges for both half the water quota and the extra water, applicable from the start of the 1977/78 irrigation season and continuing every year until the financial recovery reaches the then current level of costs of operation and maintenance and interest in one quarter of the capital cost of the scheme;

(ii) Thereafter any increase will be at yearly intervals if required at a rate of up to 20 percent per annum to cover any further increases in the costs of operation and maintenance of the scheme and renewal

of the water supply works.

P. G. MILLEN, Clerk of the Executive Council.

(P.W. 74/7/1)

Appointing Seven Members of the Soil Conservation and Rivers Control Council

### KEITH HOLYOAKE, Governor-General

Pursuant to section 3 of the Soil Conservation and Rivers Control Act 1941, I, The Right Honourable Sir Keith Jacka Holyoake, the Governor-General of New Zealand, hereby appoint

Robert George Norman, of Wellington, registered civil engineer, as the officer of the Ministry of Works and Development:

Keith Wilbur Blackmore, of Alexandra, retired contractor, representing borough and town councils; Hugh Wilson Hayward, of Ngatea, farmer, representing

county councils;

David William Dudding, of Ngatea, farmer, representing

drainage and river boards; John Thomas Kneebone, of Tirau farmer, representing agricultural and pastoral interests;

Eric Arthur Batson, of Tutira, farmer, representing regional water boards of the North Island; and John Courtney Westall Wilding, of Marlborough, farmer,

representing regional water boards of the South Island,

to be members of the Soil Conservation and Rivers Control Council for a term of 5 years from the date of this appoint-

As witness the hand of His Excellency the Governor-General this 11th day of April 1978.

W. L. YOUNG, Minister of Works and Development. (P.W. 74/1/3/3)

Appointments, Promotions, Extensions, Transfers, Resignations and Retirements of Officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force

PURSUANT to section 35 of the Defence Act 1971, His Excellency the Governor-General has approved the following appointments, promotions, extensions, transfers, resignations, and retirements of officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force:

# REGULAR AIR FORCE

## GENERAL DUTIES BRANCH

### Appointments

The following officers (R.A.F. (retired)) are appointed to a commission in their present rank with seniority and effect from the dates shown:

Squadron Leader Peter Backhouse Curtin, seniority 4 October 1975, effect 4 October 1977. Squadron Leader James Lawrence Blackford, seniority 28

February 1976, effect 28 February 1977.

Flight Lieutenant Leslie Thomas Matthews, seniority 10

November 1973, effect 10 November 1976.

The following Flight Lieutenants (R.A.F. (retired)) are appointed to a commission, on a fixed-term engagement, in their present rank with seniority and effect from the dates shown:

Basil Rex Anderson, seniority 5 April 1972, effect 25 February 1977.

Alan Barker, seniority 19 August 1973, effect 19 August Peter Norman Keeble, seniority 5 February 1975, effect

5 February 1976.

The following Flight Lieutenants to be temp. Squadron Leaders with effect from the dates shown:

K. A. Skilling, 19 September 1977.

J. H. Seward, 12 January 1978.

Wayne Edward Matthews is transferred from the Reserve

of Air Force Officers in the rank of Flight Lieutenant with seniority from 2 August 1975 and effect from 23 September

Brian Neil Phillips is appointed to a commission in the rank of Flight Lieutenant with seniority from 15 August 1975 and effect from 15 August 1977.

Lieutenant Denis Mervyn Laird, from the Royal New Zealand Army, is appointed to a commission in the rank of Flying Officer, with seniority from 20 December 1975 and effect from 9 July 1976, on a fixed term engagement.

### **Promotions**

Flight Lieutenant S. D. White to be Squadron Leader with seniority and effect from 27 March 1978.

The following Flying Officers to be Flight Lieutenants with seniority and effect from 22 March 1978:

R. B. Wignall.

R. A. Hyndman.

R. S. Ginders.

M. C. Fort.

A. E. Pond.

W. R. Bell.

G. C. Alexander.

Alexander.

The following acting Pilot Officers to be Pilot Officers with seniority and effect from 18 March 1977, and Flying Officers with seniority and effect from 18 March 1978:
K. R. Short.
K. B. Young.

## Cancellations of Commissions

The commissions of the following Acting Pilot Officers (on prob.) are cancelled with effect from the dates shown:

Gary Paul Campbell, 4 May 1977. David John Davis, 15 April 1977.

Mark James Hazelhurst, 15 April 1977. Alan Graham Beach, 15 March 1978.

Stuart McKay George, 4 March 1978. Daryl Vance Devereux, 11 June 1977.