P. J. Garnett, 16 December 1977; and

R. A. Cross, 16 December 1977.

Flight Lieutenant G. L. Wood to be temp. Squadron Leader with effect from 29 November 1977 and is appointed

to a permanent commission with effect from 22 July 1977. Flight Lieutenant A. G. White is appointed to a permanent commission with effect from 21 July 1977.

Promotions

Wing Commander N. E. Richardson to be acting Group Captain with effect from 5 December 1977 and Group Captain with seniority and effect from 10 December 1977. Wing Commander J. J. Gordon to be acting Group Captain with effect from 19 December 1977 and Group Captain with seniority and effect from 27 December 1977. Squadron Leader J. B. Clements to be acting Wing Com-mander with effect from 21 November 1977 and Wing Commander with seniority from 26 November 1976 and effect from 26 November 1977.

The following Flight Lieutenants to be Squadron Leaders with seniority and effect from the dates shown:

D. E. Geddes, 3 November 1977; A. R. Marbeck, 24 November 1977; and R. W. Singleton, 3 December 1977.

The following Flying Officers to be Flight Lieutenants with seniority and effect from the dates shown:

G. L. Wellington, 1 August 1977; A. M. S. Filsell, 28 September 1977; and P, J. Stockwell, 22 December 1977.

The following Pilot Officers to be Flying Officers with seniority and effect from 12 November 1977:

G. J. Howse,

S. D. Pilkington,

M. N. Knox, C. F. Pearce,

G. A. Rasmussen,

J. A. Romeril, A. J. McWilliam, and T. E. Palin.

Acting Pilot Officer J. K. Duxfield to be Flying Officer with seniority from 4 August 1977 and effect from 4 November 1977.

Extensions of Commissions

The commissions of the following officers are extended to the dates shown:

Squadron Leader R. L. Randal, 13 January 1985; Squadron Leader G. J. Watson, 7 January 1983; and Flight Lieutenant D. A. Bamfield, 4 July 1986.

The notice published in the *Gazette*, 20 October 1977, No. 107, p. 2743, relating to the extension of the commission of Flight Lieutenant G. L. Wood is cancelled.

Extensions of Commissions and Ages for Retirement

The commissions and ages for retirement of the following officers are extended to the dates shown:

Squadron Leader H. J. Moffatt, A.F.C., 26 June 1983; and Flight Lieutenant G. A. Wrathall, 3 June 1988.

Cancellation of Commissions

The commissions of the following Acting Pilot Officers (on prob.) are cancelled with effect from the dates shown:

Graeme John Bell, 31 October 1977; and Christopher John Erlbeck, 10 November 1977.

Transfer

Squadron Leader B. N. Tunley is transferred to the Administrative and Supply Branch, Special Duties Division, in his present rank and seniority with effect from 12 November 1977.

Transfer to Reserve

Wing Commander (acting Group Captain) Brian Stanley-Hunt, A.F.C., is transferred to the Reserve of Air Force Officers until 28 November 1979 with effect from 29 November 1977.

ENGINEER BRANCH

Appointments

Wing Commander G. B. Gilmore, GRAD.I.E.E., GRAD.R.AE.S., to be acting Group Captain with effect from 21 November 1977, and temp. Group Captain with effect from 2 December 1977. Squadron Leader D. W. Hill, B.E. (MECH) (HONS), to be acting Wing Commander with effect from 11 November 1977, and temp. Wing Commander with effect from 17 November 1977 November 1977.

Flight Lieutenant W. E. Larking to be temp. Squadron Leader with effect from 21 November 1977.

Flight Lieutenant M. J. Melville, N.Z.C.E., to be temp. Squadron Leader with effect from 9 January 1978 and is appointed to a permanent commission with effect from 12 September 1977.

The following are appointed to permanent commissions with effect from the dates shown:

Flight Lieutenant P. H. Lagan, 21 July 1977; Flight Lieutenant G. W. Blue, GRAD.N.Z.E.I., N.Z.C.E., 26

July 1977; Flight Lieutenant G. J. Sibbald, N.Z.C.E., 21 July 1977; and Flight Lieutenant A. M. Gill, N.Z.C.E., 14 September 1977.

Flying Officer T. M. J. Greening to be temp. Flight Lieutenant with effect from 6 October 1977.

Promotion

Flight Lieutenant (temp. Squadron Leader) M. J. Turnbull, B.E. (ELECT.), to be Squadron Leader with seniority from 4 December 1976 and effect from 7 July 1977.

Extensions of Commissions

The commissions of the following officers are extended to the dates shown:

Squadron Leader W. E. C. Morris, 17 December 1984; Flying Officer M. P. Smith, 16 October 1989; and Flying Officer G. K. Hill, 2 September 1989.

The notice published in the Gazette, 20 October 1977, No. 107, p. 2743, relating to the extensions of commissions of Flight Lieutenants P. H. Lagan, G. W. Blue, and G. J. Sibbald, is cancelled.

The notices published in the *Gazette*, 24 November 1977, No. 120, p. 3089, relating to the extensions of commissions of Flight Lieutenants M. J. Melville and A. M. Gill, are cancelled.

Transfers to Reserve

Squadron Leader Kenneth Arthur Roberts Butcher, A.M.R.AES.,

AN.Z.I.M., is transferred to the Reserve of Air Force Officers until 7 November 1979 with effect from 8 November 1977. Flight Lieutenant (*temp.* Squadron Leader) Neville John Milne, R.E.A., GRAD.N.Z.E.I., is transferred to the Reserve of Air Force Officers until 1 December 1979 with effect from 2 December 1977.

Transfer to Retired List

Group Captain Reginald Thorpe, O.B.E., C.ENG.M.R.AE.S., R.E.A., is transferred to the Retired List "A" with effect from 2 December 1977.

ADMINISTRATIVE AND SUPPLY BRANCH

Appointments **Appointments**

Secretarial Division

Squadron Leader J. P. Butler is appointed to a permanent commission with effect from 11 January 1978. Supply Division

The following Flying Officers to be temp. Flight Lieutenants with effect from 1 August 1977:

K. A. Jones, and A. L. Davidson.

Special Duties Division

The following Flying Officers to be temp. Flight Lieutenants with effect from 1 August 1977:

B. A. Clarkson, and R. M. Angelo.

Graham John Poucher is appointed to a commission in the rank of Flying Officer with seniority from 13 April 1976 and effect from 13 April 1977, to be temp. Flight Lieutenant from 1 August 1977.

Promotions Secretarial Division

Squadron Leader P. J. Hughan to be acting Wing Com-mander with effect from 9 January 1978 and Wing Commander with seniority and effect from 14 January 1978. Acting Pilot Officer J. P. Watson to be Pilot Officer with seniority and effect from 4 November 1977.

Supply Division

Flight Lieutenant (temp. Squadron Leader) W. M. Chappell to be Squadron Leader with seniority and effect from 1 December 1977.

Special Duties Division

Squadron Leader B. N. Tunley to be Wing Commander with seniority and effect from 12 November 1977. Flight Lieutenant H. A. Gledhill to be Squadron Leader with seniority and effect from 6 November 1977.