3. The Waipawa District Council is hereby appointed the hydatids control authority for the Waipawa Hydatids Control District.

4. Revocation—The Waipawa Hydatids Control District Order 1972* is hereby revoked.

P. G. MILLEN, Clerk of the Executive Council.

*New Zealand Gazette, 1972, p. 916.

Appointing Members of the National Water and Soil Conservation Authority

KEITH HOLYOAKE, Governor-General

PURSUANT to section 5 of the Water and Soil Conservation Act 1967, I, The Right Honourable Sir Keith Jacka Holyoake, the Governor-General of New Zealand, hereby appoint:

Malcolm James Conway, of Wellington, professional forester, representing the Soil Conservation and Rivers Control Council, and Maxwell Stuart Carrie, of Christchurch, scientist, representing the Water Resources Council

to be members of the National Water and Soil Conservation Authority from and after the 3rd day of June 1978 until the 31st day of March 1980.

As witness the hand of His Excellency the Governor-General this 25th day of May 1978.

W. L. YOUNG, Minister of Works and Development. (P.W. 74/1/2/1)

Further Extending the Time Within Which the Royal Commission on the Courts May Report

ELIZABETH the Second, by the Grace of God Queen of New Zealand and Her Other Realms and Territories, Head of the Commonwealth, Defender of the Faith:

To our Trusty and Well-beloved The Honourable DAVID STUART BEATTIE, of Wellington, a Judge of the Supreme Court of New Zealand, IAN HUGH KAWHARU, of Palmerston North, University Professor, RITA MARY KING, of Wellington, Married Woman, JOHN DONALD MURRAY, of Dunedin, Stipendiary Magistrate, and JOHN HAMILTON WALLACE, of Auckland, One of Our Counsel Learned in the Law:

GREETING:

WHEREAS by Our Warrant dated the 4th day of October 1976* We nominated, constituted, and appointed you the said The Honourable DAVID STUART BEATTIE, IAN HUGH KAWHARU, RITA MARY KING, JOHN DONALD MURRAY, and JOHN HAMILTON WALLACE to be a Commission to inquire into and report on the structure and operation of the judicial system in New Zealand:

And whereas by Our said Warrant dated the 4th day of October 1976 you were required to report to His Excellency the Governor-General, not later than the 31st day of December 1977, your findings and opinions on the matters aforesaid, together with such recommendations as you thought fit to

make in respect thereof:
And whereas by Our Warrant dated the 21st day of November 1977† the time within which you were so required to report was extended until the 30th day of June 1978:
And whereas it is expedient that the time for so reporting should be further extended as hereinsfter provided:

should be further extended as hereinafter provided:

Now, therefore, We do hereby extend until the 31st day of August 1978, the time within which you are so required to report, without prejudice to the liberty conferred on you by Our said Warrant dated the 4th day of October 1976 to report your proceedings and findings from time to time if you should judge it expedient so to do:

And we do hereby confirm Our said Warrant dated the 4th day of October 1976 and the Commission thereby constituted, save as modified by Our said Warrant dated the 21st day of November 1977 and by these presents:

And, lastly, it is hereby declared that these presents are issued under the authority of the Letters Patent of His Late Majesty King George the Fifth, dated the 11th day of May 1917, and under the authority of and subject to the provisions of the Commissions of Inquiry Act 1908, and with the advice and consent of the Executive Council of New Zealand.

In witness whereof We have caused these presents to be issued and the Seal of New Zealand to be hereunto affixed at Wellington this 26th day of June 1978.

Witness The Right Honourable Sir Keith Jacka Holyoake, Knight Grand Cross of the Most Distinguished Order of Saint Michael and Saint George, Member of the Order of the Companions of Honour, Principal Companion of the Queen's Service Order, Governor-General and Commander-in-Chief in and over New Zealand.

KEITH HOLYOAKE, Governor-General.

By His Excellency's Command-

R. D. MULDOON, Prime Minister.

Approved in Council-

P. G. MILLEN, Clerk of the Executive Council.

*Gazette, 1976, p. 2276 †Gazette, 1977, p. 3088

Appointments, Promotions, Extension, Transfers, Resignations and Retirements of Officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force

PURSUANT to section 35 of the Defence Act 1971, His Excellency the Governor-General has approved the following appointments, promotions, extensions, transfers, resignations and retirements of officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force:

REGULAR AIR FORCE GENERAL DUTIES BRANCH

A ppointments

Appointments

Squadron Leader M. L. Manttan to be acting Wing Commander, with effect from 15 May 1978, and temp. Wing Commander, with effect from 23 May 1978.

Flight Lieutenant L. J. R. Francis to be acting Squadron Leader, with effect from 24 April 1978, and temp. Squadron Leader, with effect from 1 May 1978.

Flight Lieutenant D. A. Bamfield to be acting Squadron Leader, with effect from 27 May 1978.

Flight Lieutenant K. L. Crofskey is appointed to a permanent commission, with effect from 10 April 1978.

Flight Lieutenant Richard John Metcalfe (Retired) is appointed to a commission in the rank of Flight Lieutenant, with seniority from 6 March 1972 and effect from 6 March 1978.

1978.
The following Officer Cadets are appointed to permanent commissions in the rank of Acting Pilot Officer (on prob.), with effect from 28 April 1978:
E86829 Scott Whiteman Fraser, B.SC.
G86831 Victor Surendonk, B.SC.
The following Officer Cadets are appointed to commissions in the rank of Acting Pilot Officer (on prob.), with effect from 28 April 1978:
D88346 Michael Keith Adair, DIP.ED.
W88501 Dean Joseph Beverley

W88501 Dean Joseph Beverley. Y88503 Jeremy James Burfoot.

B88666 Michael James Canning. A88504 Glendon Keith Edwards, B.Sc.

C88667 Keith Richard Graham.

D88668 Mark Desmond Helliwell.

D88668 Mark Desmond Helliwell. E88669 Huia John Hunter. F88670 Ronald Wayne Irons, B.C.A. E88347 William Alexander Lamb. F88348 Thomas Frederick Leighs. G88671 Stephen John Morrissey. B88505 Allan Phillip Myers. N87527 Graham David Pullyn. G88349 Grant Anthony Waring.

Promotions

Squadron Leader J. S. Hosie to be Wing Commander, with

Squadron Leader J. S. Hosie to be Wing Commander, with seniority and effect from 1 June 1978.

Flight Lieutenant T. K. Butler, D.F.C., to be Squadron Leader, with seniority and effect from 3 June 1978.

Flight Lieutenant D. J. Comber to be Squadron Leader, with seniority and effect from 24 March 1978.

Pilot Officer R. W. D. Smith to be Flying Officer, with seniority and effect from 27 May 1978.

The following Acting Pilot Officers (on prob.) to be Flying Officer, with seniority from the dates shown and effect from 26 May 1978:

R. A. Cammell. 26 November 1977

from 26 May 1978:

R. A. Cammell, 26 November 1977.

H. I. Brice, 26 February 1978.

J. C. Mathewson, 26 February 1978.

J. D. Crosby, 26 May 1978.

The following Acting Pilot Officers (on prob.) to be Pilot Officer, with seniority from the dates shown and effect from 26 May 1978. 26 May 1978:

D. D. Kemsley, 26 February 1978.R. N. Guinea, 26 May 1978.R. J. Harris, 26 May 1978.