HONORARY COLONEL

Brigadier The Honourable D. S. Thomson, M.C., E.D., M.P., Reserve of Officers, General List, is reappointed Honorary Colonel 5th Battalion (Wellington, West Coast and Taranaki) RNZIR, for a period of 3 years, with effect from 1 April 1978.

Lieutenant J. B. M. Henderson to be temp. Captain, with effect from 25 June 1978. 6th Battalion (Hauraki), RNZIR

HONORARY COLONEL

Major M. Conder, E.D., Retired List, is appointed Honorary Colonel, for a period of three years, with effect from 1 April 1978 vice Lieutenant Colonel A. H. Balzer, E.D.

Captain (temp. Major) John Edwin Heremia Marsh is transferred to the Reserve of Officers, General List, in the rank of temp. Major, with effect from 13 February 1978.

Captain John Desmond Cameron Watson resigns his commission with effect from 10 February 1978.

7th Battalion (Wellington (City of Wellington's Own) and Hawke's Bay) RNZIR

2nd Lieutenant B. W. Searle to be Lieutenant, with seniority and effect from 1 April 1978.

ROYAL N.Z. ARMY SERVICE CORPS

1st Army Air Supply Organisation, RNZASC
Captain P. W. Broadbent to be temp. Major, with effect from 10 July 1978.

ROYAL N.Z. ARMY MEDICAL CORPS

2nd (GH) Field Hospital, RNZAMC

2nd Lieutenant (on prob.) M. J. McGaughran, whose commission is confirmed with effect from 2 July 1975, to be temp. Lieutenant, with effect from 2 July 1977, and Lieutenant, with seniority and effect from 28 October 1977.

University Medical Unit, RNZAMC

Bruce Blyth is appointed to a commission in the rank of 2nd Lieutenant (on prob.), with effect from 10 December 1976.

Michael John Knapton, M.B., CH.B., is appointed to a commission in the rank of Captain, with seniority from 13 December 1972 and effect from 14 July 1978.

THE CORPS OF ROYAL N.Z. ELECTRICAL AND MECHANICAL ENGINEERS

3rd Infantry Workshop, RNZEME

Ian Robert Divers is appointed to a commission in the rank of 2nd Lieutenant (on prob.), with effect from 3 July 1978.

ROYAL N.Z. PROVOST CORPS

1st Infantry Brigade Group Provost Unit, RNZPRO

2nd Lieutenant (on prob.) N. E. Garnett, whose commission is confirmed with effect from 25 May 1977, to be Lieutenant, with seniority and effect from 26 May 1978.

ROYAL N.Z. NURSING CORPS

Lieutenant (W) L. A. Flannery is transferred to the Regular Force, with effect from 2 July 1978.

Margaret Joy Roke is appointed to a commission in the rank of Lieutenant (W), with seniority from 12 August 1975 and effect from 12 July 1978, for duty with 1st Field Hospital, RNZAMC.

RESERVE OF OFFICERS

REGIMENTAL LIST

7th Battalion (Wellington (City of Wellington's Own) and Hawke's Bay) RNZIR

Lieutenant Michael Stuart Gardner resigns his commission, with effect from 8 May 1978.

GENERAL LIST

The following are posted to the Retired List, with effect from the dates shown:

Royal Regiment of N.Z. Artillery Major Robert Leonard Sanderson, E.D., 9 July 1978.

Royal N.Z. Infantry Regiment

Lieutenant Colonel Anthony Taroa Averill Mataira, M.B.E., 16 July 1978.

Lieutenant David John Winterbourn, 8 August 1977.

Royal N.Z. Dental Corps

Major Henry Allan Hill, B.D.S., 17 February 1976. Major William David Prowse, B.D.S., 1 August 1978.

Dated at Wellington this 14th day of August 1978.

ALLAN McCREADY, Minister of Defence.

Appointments, Promotions, Extensions, Transfers, Resignations and Retirements of Officers of the Royal New Zealand

PURSUANT to section 35 of the Defence Act 1971, His Excellency the Governor-General has approved the following appointments, promotions, extensions, transfers, resignations, and retirements of officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force:

REGULAR AIR FORCE

GENERAL DUTIES BRANCH

Appointments

Flying Officer B. J. Coppersmith to be temp. Flight

Lieutenant, with effect from 5 August 1978.

R7923 Master Air Electronics Operator Andrew William Liggins Mitchell is appointed to a commission in the rank of Flight Lieutenant (on prob.), with seniority from 15 May 1978 and effect 6 July 1978.

The following are appointed to commissions in the rank of Flying Officer (on prob.), with seniority from the dates shown and effect from 6 July 1978:

R81228 Flight Sergeant Brian Chiocchi, 15 May 1976.
L85547 Sergeant Graeme Neil McKay, 15 May 1978.

Acting Pilot Officer K. J. Murray to be Pilot Officer, with seniority and effect from 30 September 1977.

The following Acting Pilot Officers to be Pilot Officers, with seniority and effect from 4 November 1977:

P. M. Symmans A. C. Kenworthy I. R. McClelland D. J. Watson

Adjustment of Seniority

The seniority of Flying Officer J. C. Mathewson is postdated to 26 May 1978.

Transfer to Reserve

Flight Lieutenant Nigel Albert Davey, A.F.C., B.Sc., is transferred to the Reserve of Air Force Officers until 14 July 1982, with effect from 15 July 1978.

ENGINEER BRANCH

Appointments

The following are appointed to commissions (on prob.) in the ranks stated, with seniority from 15 May 1978 and effect from 6 July 1978:

Flight Lieutenants

R77844 Warrant Officer Linecor Mark Hall. U79299 Warrant Officer Stanley Knighton.

Flying Officers

N932800 Sergeant Denis William Didham. S83752 Sergeant Phillip Kendall Rice. X81533 Sergeant Bernard Francis Kay.

Promotion

Flight Lieutenant (temp. Squadron Leader) P. J. Lennard to be Squadron Leader, with seniority and effect from 1 August 1978.

ADMINISTRATIVE AND SUPPLY BRANCH

Appointments

Secretarial Division

J83636 Sergeant Brent Michael Pincott is appointed to a commission in the rank of Flying Officer (on prob.), with seniority from 15 May 1978 and effect from 6 July 1978.

Helen Jessie Webber is appointed to a commission in the rank of Pilot Officer (W) (on prob.) with seniority from 15 May 1978 and effect from 6 July 1978.

Squadron Leader T. J. Kelly, M.B.E., to be temp. Wing Commander, with effect from 31 July 1978.

E83609 Sergeant Stewart Bruce Baillie is appointed to a commission in the rank of Flying Officer (on prob.), with seniority from 15 May 1978 and effect from 6 July 1978.

The following are appointed to commissions (on prob.) in the ranks stated with seniority from 15 May 1978 and effect from 6 July 1978:

Flying Officer M83409 Sergeant Barry Gerald Edgington.

Pilot Officers

X86041 Corporal (W) Dorothy Lorraine Creighton. N87113 Leading Aircraftsman Ross Kenneth Horton. Michelle Coralianne Blaxland (W).