Appointments, Promotions, Extensions, Relinquishments, Cancellations, Transfers, Resignations and Retirements of Officers of the New Zealand Cadet Forces

PURSUANT to section 59 of the Defence Act 1971, the Minister of Defence hereby approves the following appointments, promotions, extensions, relinquishments, cancellations, transfers, resignations and retirements of officers of the New Zealand Cadet Forces:

SEA CADET CORPS

Promotions

Temporary Lieutenant Commander Frank Bertram Jones to be Lieutenant Commander with effect from 7 July 1977.

Ensign Terence Paul Carr to be Sub Lieutenant with effect from 17 December 1977.

Extension

Lieutenant E. L. May is granted an extension until 1 November 1978.

Retirements

Lieutenant Victor Hope Harvey is retired with effect from 1 November 1977.

Lieutenant Leslie Railton Reeves is retired with effect from 31 December 1977.

Resignation Sub Lieutenant John James Hartigan resigns his cadet commission with effect from 10 December 1977.

Terminations

Ensign Clive Owen Thompson's cadet commission is terminated with effect from 17 November 1977.

SCHOOL CADET CORPS

Promotions

Lieutenant Robert Meikle to be Captain with effect from 14 September 1976.

Lieutenant Norman Guirey to be Captain with effect from 22 November 1976.

Transfer

Sub Lieutenant Martin Hugh Griffiths is transferred from the Sea Cadet Section to the Army Cadet Section of Christs College in the rank of Lieutenant with effect from 19 December 1977 and seniority from 15 April 1977.

AIR TRAINING CORPS

Appointments

Paul McEvoy Thomson is appointed to a cadet commission in the rank of Pilot Officer for 3 years with effect from 17 November 1977 and seniority from 14 October 1977.

Flight Lieutenant William Gordon Paterson is appointed Unit Commander with effect from 14 December 1977.

Flying Officer Stewart James Boyce is appointed Unit Commander with effect from 6 October 1977.

Promotions

Flight Lieutenant John Ledingham McIlroy to be Squadron Leader with effect from 25 October 1977.
Flight Lieutenant William Gordon Paterson to be Squadron

Leader with effect from 14 December 1977.

Flying Officer Norman Joseph Thwaites to be Flight Lieutenant with effect from 10 January 1978.

Pilot Officer Daniel Collins to be Flying Officer with effect from 15 November 1977.

Pilot Officer John Vernon Neal to be Flying Officer with

effect from 9 December 1977.
Pilot Officer Richard Paul Davies to be Flying Officer with effect from 1 January 1978.

Extensions

Flight Lieutenant E. T. Hamill is granted an extension of his cadet commission until 30 January 1980.

Flight Lieutenant G. M. Hider is granted an extension of his cadet commission until 22 November 1980.

Flying Officer P. F. Wilson is granted an extension of his cadet commission until 20 January 1981.

Transfers

Flying Officer Kenneth Ivan Williamson is transferred from the Supernumerary List to No. 7 (Hamilton) ATC Squadron with effect from 1 May 1977.

Flying Officer Graham Baden McEwen is transferred from the Supernumerary List to No. 57 (Dargaville) ATC Squadron with effect from 12 September 1977.

Resignations

Flight Lieutenant Derek McClement Williams resigns his

cadet commission with effect from 21 August 1977.

Flight Lieutenant Richard Albert Patston resigns his cadet commission with effect from 31 December 1977.

Flight Lieutenant Michael James Fairgray resigns his cadet

commission with effect from 27 February 1978.

Flying Officer John Fordon McHardy resigns his cadet commission with effect from 10 September 1977.

Flying Officer Donald Brian Simpson resigns his cadet

commission with effect from 14 October 1977.

Pilot Officer John Douglas Kane resigns his cadet commission with effect from 4 November 1977.

Squadron Leader Noel Herbert Scott is retired with effect from 14 December 1977.

Squadron Leader Reginald David Woollard is retired with effect from 30 December 1977.

ALLAN McCREADY, Minister of Defence.

Chairman and Member of Overseas Investment Commission Appointed

Pursuant to section 3 (2) (a) of the Overseas Investment Act 1973, His Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to appoint

Robert William Stannard

of Wellington, chartered accountant, to be Chairman of the Overseas Investment Commission up to and including the 24th day of March 1979.

Pursuant to sections 3 (2) (a) and 6 (4) of the Overseas Investment Act 1973, His Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to appoint

John Desmond Todd

of Wellington, company director, to be a member of the Overseas Investment Commission up to and including the 24th day of March 1980.

30 January 1978.

R. D. MULDOON, Minister of Finance.

Deputy Chairman of New Zealand Export-Import Corporation Appointed

PURSUANT to sections 3 and 9 of the New Zealand Export-Import Corporation Act, 1974, His Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to appoint

Garth Butler, Managing Director, of Nelson, to be deputy chairman of the New Zealand Export - Import

Corporation, for a term of 3 years, commencing on the 7th day of February 1978.

Dated at Wellington this 2nd day of February 1978.

B. E. TALBOYS, Minister of Overseas Trade.

Member of Land Valuation Committee Appointed

PURSUANT to section 19 of the Land Valuation Proceedings Act 1948, as substituted by section 2 of the Land Valuation Proceedings Amendment Act 1977, His Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to appoint

Haddon Gilbert, Stipendiary Magistrate,

to be a member and chairman of the Wellington No. 1 Land Valuation Tribunal vice Barry James McKenzie Kerr, Esquire, S.M., resigned.

Dated at Wellington this 25th day of January 1978.

D. S. THOMSON, Minister of Justice.

(Adm. 3/18/2/14)

Appointment of Member to Industries Development Commission

PURSUANT to the Industries Development Commission Act 1961, His Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to appoint

Kenneth Hugh MacDonald

as a member of the Industries Development Commission for a term of 3 years commencing on 1 December 1977.

Dated at Wellington this 1st day of February 1978.

L. R. ADAMS-SCHNEIDER, Minister of Trade and Industry.