# Exempting Land in Westland Land District from the Operation of Part III of the Coal Mines Act 1925

## KEITH HOLYOAKE, Governor-General

PURSUANT to section 171 of the Coal Mines Act 1925, I, The Right Honourable Sir Keith Jacka Holyoake, the Governor-General of New Zealand, do hereby exempt the land described in the Schedule hereto from the operation of Part III of the said Act.

Reserving nevertheless unto the Crown firstly, in terms of section 168A of the Coal Mines Act 1925, all coal existing in its natural condition on or under the surface of the said land, and secondly in terms of section 8 of the Mining Act 1971, every mineral existing in its natural condition on or under the surface of the said land.

#### SCHEDULE

SECTION 15, Block XL, Runanga Village Settlement, situated in Block III, Cobden Survey District. Area, 1011 square metres, more or less. S.O. 830.

As witness the hand of His Excellency the Governor-General this 5th day of October 1978.

GEORGE F. GAIR, Minister of Energy.

(Mines Division 6/10/100-1)

Appointments, Promotions, Extensions, Transfers, Resigna-tions, and Retirements of Officers of the New Zealand Army

PURSUANT to section 35 of the Defence Act 1971, His Excellency the Governor-General has approved the following appointments, promotions, extensions, transfers, resignations, and retirements of officers of the New Zealand Army.

#### **REGULAR FORCE**

#### ROYAL REGIMENT OF N.Z. ARTILLERY

The following Captains to be temp. Majors with effect from the dates shown: D. G. Box, 26 June 1978. D. K. Bowler, 5 September 1978.

ROYAL N.Z. ARMOURED CORPS

Captain H. R. Bush to be Major, with seniority and effect from 26 June 1978.

Captain (W) (temp. Major (W)) Y. M. Hall to be Major (W), with seniority from 22 January 1978 and effect from 26 June 1978.

Captain J. Ballance to be temp. Major, with effect from 10 July 1978.

and Quartermaster R. Ballance to be temp. Lieutenant Captain and Quartermaster, with effect from 18 September 1978.

THE CORPS OF ROYAL N.Z. ENGINEERS

Major D. J. O'Brien, B.E. (HONS.), M.N.Z.I.E., to be temp. Lieutenant Colonel, with effect from 9 October 1978.

#### **ROYAL N.Z. INFANTRY REGIMENT**

Major and Quartermaster William Elliott is posted to the Retired List, with effect from 2 September 1978. Captain (temp. Major) T. Loorparg, M.P.P., B.A., to be Major, with seniority from 1 January 1978 and effect from 12 July 1978.

ROYAL N.Z. ARMY ORDNANCE CORPS

Captain J. F. Hyde to be temp. Major, with effect from 2 October 1978.

THE CORPS OF ROYAL N.Z. ELECTRICAL AND MECHANICAL ENGINEERS

Captain J. B. Bickner to be temp. Major, with effect from 26 June 1978.

Supernumerary List

Captain and Quartermaster William Leslie Johnson is posted to the Retired List, with effect from 18 September 1978

#### ROYAL N.Z. DENTAL CORPS

The seniority of Lieutenant Colonel R. W. Beckman, B.D.S., M.SC. (LOND.) is ante-dated to 12 June 1977. Major K. M. Young, B.D.S., F.D.S.R.C., F.D.S.R.C.D.S., is re-engaged until retiring age for rank. Captain A. D. Collie, B.D.S., to be temp. Major, with effect from 12 October 1978.

# ROYAL N.Z. ARMY EDUCATION CORPS

Major T. E. Salt, B.A., DIP.TCHG., is re-engaged until retiring age for rank.

Captain T. B. Powell, M.A., DIP.TCHG., to be temp. Major, with effect from 3 July 1978.

Captain P. Boyle, M.A. (HONS.), to be temp. Major, with effect from 2 October 1978.

#### TERRITORIAL FORCE

## ROYAL REGIMENT OF N.Z. ARTILLERY

16th Field Regiment, RNZA Captain Archibald Hamish Morrison Allison is transferred to the Reserve of Officers, General List, in the rank of Captain, with effect from 31 August 1978.

Lieutenant Alastair Malcolm Irving is transferred to the Reserve of Officers, Regimental List, 16th Field Regiment, RNZA, in his present rank and seniority, with effect from 31 January 1976.

#### ROYAL N.Z. ARMOURED CORPS

1st Squadron, New Zealand Scottish, RNZAC 2nd Lieutenant B. S. Simpson to be Lieutenant, with seniority and effect from 22 December 1977. The commission of 2nd Lieutenant (on prob.) S. C. Taylor

is confirmed, with effect from 1 June 1977.

# ROYAL N.Z. INFANTRY REGIMENT

2nd Battalion (Canterbury and Nelson, Marlborough and West Coast), RNZIR 2nd Lieutenant E. W. Henning to be Lieutenant, with seniority and effect from 14 July 1978.

seniority and effect from 14 July 1978.
3rd Battalion (Auckland (Countess of Ranfurly's Own) and Northland), RNZIR
Major D. W. Ives, B.SC., E.D., to be Lieutenant Colonel, with seniority and effect from 1 October 1978. Captain K. L. Maloney to be temp. Major, with effect from 1 June 1978.

Simon Charles Chapman, M.B., is appointed to a commission

in the rank of Lieutenant, with seniority from 16 September 1974 and effect from 28 August 1978, and to be temp. Captain, with effect from 28 August 1978. 2nd Lieutenant K. Varney to be Lieutenant, with seniority

2nd Lieutenant N. varney to be Lieutenant, with seniority and effect from 1 August 1978. John Torby Fairfax Potter is appointed to a commission in the rank of 2nd Lieutenant (on prob.), with effect from 3 July 1978.

7th Battalion (Wellington (City of Wellington's Own) and Hawke's Bay), RNZIR

With reference to the notice published in the New Zealand

Gazette, No. 78, 14 September 1978, p. 2520, for "D. J. Tatara" substitute "D. J. Tatere". Captain (temp. Major) L. G. Scott, E.D., to be Major, with seniority and effect from 11 August 1978. The commission of 2nd Lieutenant (on prob.) Nicholas Martin King lapses, with effect from 3 July 1978.

### N.Z. SPECIAL AIR SERVICE

1st N.Z. Special Air Service Squadron, NZSAS

Lieutenant Edward Staniland West resigns his commission, with effect from 25 July 1978.

# ROYAL N.Z. ARMY SERVICE CORPS

Headquarters, 21st Supply Company, RNZASC

Headquarters, 21st Supply Company, RNZASC Captain (temp. Major) Michael Frederick John Bent resigns his commission, with effect from 28 July 1978. Ist Transport Company, RNZASC Lieutenant (temp. Captain) Michael Wilson Boyd is trans-ferred to the Reserve of Officers, General List, in the rank of Captain, with effect from 5 September 1978.

ROYAL N.Z. ARMY MEDICAL CORPS

1st Field Hospital, RNZAMC

Andrew Duncan Spiers, B.S.C., M.B., CH.B., is appointed to commission in the rank of Lieutenant, with seniority from December 1975, and to be temp. Captain, with effect from September 1978. 4

Roberta Elizabeth Meijer is appointed to a commission in the rank of 2nd Lieutenant (on prob.), with effect from 18 September 1978.

Lieutenant (*temp.* Captain) A. P. Lawson to be Captain, with seniority and effect from 25 November 1977. Lieutenant A. A. Young to be Captain, with seniority from 21 June 1978 and effect from 20 July 1978.

3rd Battalion (Auckland (Countess of Ranfurly's Own) and Northland), RNZIR

Captain Murray Grenfell Jamieson, M.B., CH.B., is trans-ferred to the Reserve of Officers, General List, in the rank of Captain, with effect from 31 August 1978. 3rd Field Ambulance, RNZAMC