2. Marlborough Region—(1) There is hereby constituted a region to be called the Marlborough Region (hereinafter referred to as "the region").

(2) The constituent districts of the region are the districts of:

- (a) The County of Marlborough.
  (b) The Borough of Picton.
  (c) The Borough of Blenheim. (d) The County of Kaikoura.
- 3. Marlborough United Council—The council for the region shall be a united council described as "The Marlborough United Council" (hereinafter referred to as "the council").
- 4. Membership of Council—The council shall consist of 13 members, of whom:

(a) Six shall be appointed by the Marlborough County
Council;

- (b) One shall be appointed by the Picton Borough Council;
  (c) Five shall be appointed by the Blenheim Borough
  Council; and
- (d) One shall be appointed by the Kaikoura County Council.
- 5. Administering Authority—The administering authority of the council shall be the Marlborough County Council.
- 6. First Appointment of Members—(1) Each constituent authority shall, not later than 1 month after the date of the commencement of this order, appoint the first member or the first members of the council which that authority is to appoint under clause 4 of this order.

(2) The members of the council appointed pursuant to subclause (1) of this clause shall come into office on the day of the first meeting of the council.

(3) Each constituent authority shall, not later than the 31st day of January 1979 give the names of the person or persons appointed by it pursuant to subclause (1) of this clause to the principal officer of the administering authority.

(4) The principal officer of the administering authority shall

not be prevented, by any failure to comply with subclause (3) of this clause, from convening the first meeting of the council in accordance with clause 7 of this order.

7. First Meeting of Council—(1) The first meeting of the council shall be held not later than 2 months after the date of

the commencement of this order.

(2) The principal officer of the administering authority shall convene the first meeting of the council and shall preside at that meeting until the election of a chairman.

(3) That principal officer may do all things necessary for the convening of that meeting.

convening of that meeting.

8. Committees—(1) Subject to section 104 of the Local Government Act 1974, section 6 of the Town and Country Planning Act 1977, and subclause (2) of this clause, the council may appoint such committees as it thinks fit.

(2) The council shall appoint and maintain a Civil Defence Committee which committee shall include a nominee of the Director of Civil Defence and a nominee of the Commissioner of Works

9. Finance—(1) For the purposes of and subject to section 123 of the Local Government Act 1974 the net expenditure of the council shall be apportioned among the constituent authorities of the region as follows:

Marlborough County Council shall pay six thirteenths; Picton Borough Council shall pay one thirteenth;

Blenheim Borough Council shall pay five thirteenths;
Kaikoura County Council shall pay one thirteenth.

(2) For the purposes of section 123 of the Local Government Act 1974, the functions of regional planning and civil defence shall be deemed to be functions for the benefit of the whole region.

P. G. MILLEN, Clerk of the Executive Council. (I.A. 104/126)

The Taranaki Region Constitution Order 1978

## KEITH HOLYOAKE, Governor-General ORDER IN COUNCIL

At the Government House at Wellington this 18th day of December 1978

Present:

HIS EXCELLENCY THE GOVERNOR-GENERAL IN COUNCIL

Pursuant to the Local Government Act 1974, His Excellency the Governor-General, acting by and with the advice and consent of the Executive Council, hereby makes the following order.

## ORDER

1. Title and commencement—(1) This order may be cited as the Taranaki Region Constitution Order 1978.

(2) This order shall come into effect on the 31st day of

December 1978.

2. Taranaki Region—(1) There is hereby constituted a region to be called the Taranaki Region (hereinafter referred to as "the region").

(2) The constituent districts of the region are the districts

- (a) The County of Clifton;(b) The Borough of Waitara;(c) The City of New Plymouth;
- (d) The County of Taranaki; (e) The County of Inglewood;
- (f) The Borough of Inglewood;
- (g) The County of Stratford;
- (h) The Borough of Stratford;

- (i) The County of Egmont;
  (j) The County of Waimate West;
  (k) The Town District of Manaia;
- (l) The County of Eltham;
- (m) The Borough of Eltham; (n) The District of Hawera;

- (o) The County of Patea; (p) The Borough of Patea; and (q) The Town District of Waverley.
- 3. Taranaki United Council—The council for the region shall be a united council described as "The Taranaki United Council" (hereinafter referred to as "the council").
- 4. Membership of Council—The council shall consist of 18 members, of whom:

  - (a) One shall be appointed by the Clifton County Council;(b) One shall be appointed by the Waitara Borough Council;(c) Three shall be appointed by the New Plymouth City Council;
  - (d) One shall be appointed by the Taranaki County Council; (e) One shall be appointed by the Inglewood County Council; (f) One shall be appointed by the Inglewood Borough
  - Council;
  - (g) One shall be appointed by the Stratford County Council; (h) One shall be appointed by the Stratford Borough Council;

  - Council;
    (i) One shall be appointed by the Egmont County Council;
    (j) One shall be appointed jointly by the Waimate West
    County Council and the Manaia Town Council;
    (k) One shall be appointed by the Eltham County Council;
    (l) One shall be appointed by the Eltham Borough Council;
    (m) Two shall be appointed by the Hawera District Council;
    (n) One shall be appointed by the Patea County Council; and
    (o) One shall be appointed jointly by the Patea Borough
    Council and the Waverley Town Council.
- 5. Administering authority—The administering authority of the council shall be the New Plymouth City Council.
- 6. First appointment of members—(1) Each constituent authority shall, not later than 1 month after the date of the commencement of this order, appoint the first member or the first members of the council which that authority is to appoint under clause 4 of this order.

  (2) The members of the council appointed pursuant to subclause (1) of this clause shall come into office on the day of the first meeting of the council.

  (3) Each constituent authority shall not later than the 21st

of the first meeting of the council.

(3) Each constituent authority shall, not later than the 31st day of January 1979, give the names of the person or persons appointed by it pursuant to subclause (1) of this clause to the principal officer of the administering authority.

(4) The principal officer of the administering authority shall not be prevented, by any failure to comply with subclause (3) of this clause, from convening the first meeting of the Council in accordance with clause 7 of this order.

7. First meeting of Council—(1) The first meeting of the council shall be held not later than 2 months after the date of the commencement of this order.

(2) The principal officer of the administering authority shall convene the first meeting of the council and shall preside at that meeting until the election of the chairman.

(3) That principal officer may do all things necessary for

the convening of that meeting.

8. Committees—(1) Subject to section 104 of the Local Government Act 1974, section 6 of the Town and Country Planning Act 1977, and subclause (2) of this clause, the council may appoint such committees as it thinks fit.