Appointments, Promotions, Extensions, Transfers, Resignations, and Retirements of Officers of the Royal New Zealand

Pursuant to section 35 of the Defence Act 1971, His Excellency the Governor-General has approved the following appointments, promotions, extensions, transfers, resignations, and retirements of officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force.

### REGULAR AIR FORCE

### GENERAL DUTIES BRANCH

#### Chief of Air Staff

Air Commodore D. E. Jamieson, O.B.E., to be acting Air Vice Marshal, with effect from 15 October 1979, and Air Vice Marshal on assuming the appointment of Chief of Air Staff, with seniority and effect from 16 October 1979, vice Air Vice Marshal C. L. Siegert, C.B., C.B.E., M.V.O., D.F.C.,

# Appointments

Squadron Leader Noel William Beale, from the General Reserve, is appointed to a commission on an engagement to retiring age for rank, in his present rank, with seniority and effect from 12 March 1979.

Flight Lieutenant A. Barker to be acting Squadron Leader, with effect from 17 October 1979, and temp. Squadron Leader,

with effect from 17 October 1979, and temp. Squadron Leader, with effect from 29 October 1979.

Flight Lieutenant Henry Allen Bunn (RNZAF Retired) is appointed to a commission on a fixed term engagement of 8 years, in his present rank, with seniority from 25 October 1972 and effect from 25 October 1978.

Lieutenant Ian Owen McLeod (RN Retired) is appointed to a commission on a standard engagement in the rank of Flight Lieutenant, with seniority from 1 August 1976 and effect from 6 Sentember 1977. effect from 6 September 1977.

### **Promotions**

The following Flying Officers to be Flight Lieutenant, with seniority and effect from 1 August 1979:

M. E. O'Brien. B. Chiocchi.

# Extension of Commission

The commission of Squadron Leader R. J. Carran is extended to 9 June 1983.

# Transfer to Reserve

Flight Lieutenant Ian George Clements is transferred to the Reserve of Air Force Officers until 12 October 1983, with effect from 13 October 1979.

# Transfer to Retired List

Air Vice Marshal Cyril Laurence Siegert, C.B., C.B.E., M.V.O., D.F.C., A.F.C., is transferred to the Retired List "A", with effect from 16 October 1979.

# ENGINEER BRANCH

#### Promotion

Flying Officer S. J. Rabbits, B.E., to be Flight Lieutenant, with seniority from 22 December 1977 and effect from 9 October 1979.

# Relinquishment of Rank

Flight Lieutenant (temp. Squadron Leader) P. H. Lagan: the notice published in the New Zealand Gazette, No. 16, 17 February 1977, p. 333, is cancelled.

# Extension of Commission and Age for Retirement

The commission and age for retirement of Squadron Leader B. G. M. Palmer are extended to 24 September 1984.

# ADMINISTRATIVE AND SUPPLY BRANCH

#### A ppointments

Secretarial Division The following Flying Officers to be temp. Flight Lieutenant, with effect from 1 August 1979:

D. J. Wapp.B. G. Flanagan.

The following are appointed to commissions in the ranks as shown, with seniority and effect from 19 February 1979: L85570 Sergeant David Murray Hamilton, Flying Officer

(on prob.) E87082 Leading Aircraftswoman Deborah Anne Ingram,

Pilot Officer (on prob.).

Special Duties Division

G74181 Warrant Officer Murray Muir Lambert Smith is appointed to a commission in the rank of Flight Lieutenant, with seniority and effect from 19 February 1979.

#### **Promotions**

Supply Division

The following to be Wing Commander:

Squadron Leader (acting Wing Commander) J. B. Penney, M.N.Z.I.P.S., with seniority and effect from 25 April 1977. Squadron Leader (temp. Wing Commander) W. H. O'Byrne, M.B.E., with seniority from 26 April 1977 and effect from 12 May 1977.

### Adjustment of Seniority

Special Duties Division
The seniority of Flight Lieutenant B. Tennent is antedated to 16 March 1972.

## Relinquishment of Rank

Supply Division

Flight Lieutenant (temp. Squadron Leader) R. R. F. Meyrick relinquishes the temp. rank of Squadron Leader, with effect from 17 September 1979.

Extension of Commission and Age for Retirement

Supply Division

The commission and age for retirement of Wing Commander W. H. O'Byrne are extended to 2 October 1981.

#### Retirement

Special Duties Division

Squadron Leader Albert Victor Williams, B.E.M., is retired, with effect from 17 October 1979.

#### **EDUCATION BRANCH**

#### Promotion

Flying Officer J. E. W. Talbot to be Flight Lieutenant, with seniority and effect from 1 August 1979.

#### MEDICAL BRANCH

#### Appointment

Flight Lieutenant Roland John Wilson, M.B., CH.B., from the Active Reserve, is appointed to a commission on a Special Medical Engagement of 3 years in his present rank, with seniority from 12 December 1972 and effect from 24 August 1978.

## TERRITORIAL AIR FORCE

# ADMINISTRATIVE AND SUPPLY BRANCH

Extension of Commission

Special Duties Division

The commission of Flight Lieutenant P. G. Woodrow is extended to 7 April 1984.

## RESERVE OF AIR FORCE OFFICERS

# Transfers

The following are transferred to the Regular Air Force, with effect from the dates shown:

Squadron Leader N. W. Beale, 12 March 1979. Flight Lieutenant R. J. Wilson, M.B., CH.B., 24 August 1978. Dated at Wellington this 6th day of November 1979.

DAVID THOMSON, for Minister of Defence.

# Appointing a Member of the Water Resources Council

# KEITH HOLYOAKE, Governor-General

Pursuant to section 7 of the Water and Soil Conservation Act 1967, I, The Right Honourable Sir Keith Jacka Holyoake, the Governor-General of New Zealand, hereby appoint

## Arthur Lewis Thorstensen,

an officer of the Department of Health, as a member of the Water Resources Council, from and including 8 October 1979 for the residue of the term of his predecessor, Mr R. R. Harcourt.

As witness the hand of His Excellency the Governor-General this 31st day of October 1979.

W. L. YOUNG, Minister of Works and Development. (P.W. 74/1/4/1)