4. Membership of Council—The Council shall consist of 17 members of whom:

(a) Two shall be appointed jointly by the Mangonui County

Council and the Kaitaia Borough Council; (b) One shall be appointed by the Whangaroa County Council:

(c) One shall be appointed by the Hokianga County Council;

Council;

(d) Three shall be appointed jointly by the Bay of Islands
County Council and the Kaikohe Borough Council;

(e) Three shall be appointed jointly by the Whangarei
County Council and the Hikurangi Town Council;

(f) Four shall be appointed by the Whangarei City Council;

(g) Two shall be appointed jointly by the Hobson County
Council and the Dargaville Borough Council;

(h) One shall be appointed by the Otamatea County
Council

Council.

5. Administering Authority—The administering authority of the Council shall be the Whangarei City Council.

6. First Appointment of Members--(1) Each constituent authority shall, not later than 1 month after the date of the commencement of this order, appoint the first member or the first members of the Council which that authority is to appoint under clause 4 of this order.

(2) The members of the Council appointed, pursuant to subclause (1) of this clause, shall come into office on the day of the first meeting of the Council.

(3) Each constituent authority shall, not later than the 14th day of February 1980, give the names of the person or persons appointed by it, pursuant to subclause (1) of this clause, to the principal officer of the administering authority.

(4) The principal officer of the administering authority shall not be prevented, by any failure to comply with subclause (3) of this clause, from convening the first meeting of the Council in accordance with clause 7 of this order.

7. First Meeting of Council—(1) The first meeting of the Council shall be held not later than 2 months after the date of the commencement of this order.

(2) The principal officer of the administering authority shall convene the first meeting of the Council and shall preside at that meeting until the election of the Chairman.

(3) That principal officer may do all things necessary for the convening of that meeting.

8. Committees—(1) Subject to section 104 of the Local Government Act 1974, section 6 of the Town and Country Planning Act 1977, and subclause (2) of this clause, the Council may appoint such committees as it thinks fit.

(2) The Council shall appoint and maintain a Civil Defence Committee which committee shall include a nominee of the Director of Civil Defence and a nominee of the Commissioner of Works.

9. Finance—(1) For the purposes of, and subject to, section 123 of the Local Government Act 1974, the net expenditure of the Council shall be apportioned among the constituent authorities of the Region on the following

The Mangonui County Council and the Kaitaia Borough Council jointly shall pay two-seventeenths;

The Whangaroa County Council shall pay one-seventeenth;

The Hokianga County Council shall pay one-seventeenth;

The Bay of Islands County Council and the Kaikohe

Borough Council jointly shall pay three-seventeenths;

The Whangarei County Council and the Hikurangi Town

Council jointly shall pay three-seventeenths;

The Whangarei City Council shall pay four-seventeenths;

The Hobson County Council and the Dargaville Borough

Council jointly shall pay two-seventeenths:

Council jointly shall pay two-seventeenths;
The Otamatea County Council shall pay one-seventeenth.

(2) The net expenditure of the Council to be met jointly by each group of constituent authorities which jointly appoint members to the Council shall be apportioned on a basis to be agreed between those constituent authorities and failing agreement shall be apportioned in the proportion that the adjusted net capital value of each district bears to the total adjusted net capital value of their districts.

(3) For the purposes of section 123 of the Local Government Act 1974 the functions of regional planning and civil defence shall be deemed to be functions for the benefit of the whole Region.

P. G. MILLEN, Clerk of the Executive Council.

Pest of Local Importance Declared in South Otago Pest Destruction District (Notice No. 2274, Ag. 6/13/2/6A)

KEITH HOLYOAKE, Governor-General ORDER IN COUNCIL

At the Government House in Wellington this 19th day of November 1979

Present ·

HIS EXCELLENCY THE GOVERNOR-GENERAL IN COUNCIL PURSUANT to the Agricultural Pests Destruction Act 1967, His Excellency the Governor-General, acting by and with the advice and consent of the Executive Council, hereby makes the following order.

ORDER

1. (1) This order may be cited as the Pest of Local Importance Order 1979, No. 2.
(2) This order shall come into force on the day after its

notification in the Gazette.

2. The rook is hereby declared a pest of local importance in the South Otago Pest Destruction District.

P. G. MILLEN, Clerk of the Executive Council.

Extending The Time Within Which The Commission of Inquiry Into the Taxation of Travelling Allowances May Report

KEITH HOLYOAKE, Governor-General ORDER IN COUNCIL

To all to whom these presents shall come, and to:

WILLIAM WILSON, of Auckland, Chartered Accountant: GREETING:

WHEREAS, by an Order in Council made on the 20th day of August 1979*, you, the said William Wilson, were appointed to be a Commission to inquire into and report upon the taxation of travelling allowances paid to employees (including in particular the travelling allowances paid to certain classes of employees of Air New Zealand Limited and Safe Air Limited):

And whereas by the said Order in Council you were required to submit your report not later than the 30th day of November 1979:

And whereas it is expedient that the time for so reporting

And whereas it is expedient that the time for so reporting should be extended as hereinafter provided:

Now, therefore, pursuant to the Commissions of Inquiry Act 1908, I, The Right Honourable Sir Keith Jacka Holyoake, the Governor-General of New Zealand, acting by and with the advice and consent of the Executive Council, hereby extend until the 31st day of January 1980 the time within which you are so required to report, without prejudice to the continuation of the liberty conferred upon you by the said recommendation of the liberty conferred upon you by the said recommendation of the liberty conferred upon you by the said recommendation of the liberty conferred upon you by the said recommendation of the liberty conferred upon you by the said recommendation of the liberty ways proceedings and recommendations. Order in Council to report your proceedings and recommendations from time to time if you should judge it expedient so to do, and hereby confirm the said Order in Council and the Commission thereby constituted, save as modified by these presents.

Given in Executive Council under the hand of His Excellency the Governor-General this 26th day of November 1979.

P. G. MILLEN, Clerk of the Executive Council. *Gazette, 1979, p. 2506

Warrant Appointing a Member of the Accident Compensation Commission Under the Accident Compensation Act 1972

KEITH HOLYOAKE, Governor-General

PURSUANT to section 6 of the Accident Compensation Act 1972, I, Sir Keith Holyoake, the Governor-General of New Zealand, hereby appoint

James Lennon Fahy

of Wellington, to be a member of the Accident Compensation Commission for a term of 3 years commencing on the 20th day of December 1979.

As witness the hand of His Excellency the Governor-General this 15th day of November 1979.

JIM BOLGER, Minister of Labour.