5th Battalion (Wellington West Coast and Taranaki), RNZIR

Captain (temp. Major) P. Jenkins, E.D., to be Major, with seniority and effect from 12 August 1978. The following are appointed to commissions in the rank of 2nd Lieutenant (on prob.), with effect from 30 October 1978. David James Gettings. Peter James Wood.

6th Battalion (Hauraki), RNZIR

Lieutenant Raymond Charles Goldring is transferred to the Reserve of Officers, General List, in the rank of Lieutenant, with effect from 11 October 1978.

Desmond Pihopa Rogers is appointed to a commission in the rank of Lieutenant, with seniority and effect from 17 January 1979.

The following are appointed to commissions in the rank of and Lieutenant (on prob.), with effect from the dates shown: George Rupuka Skudder, 3 July 1978. Gregory Max Williams, 30 October 1978.

7th Battalion (Wellington (City of Wellington's Own) and Hawkes Bay), RNZIR

2nd Lieutenant G. F. Robinson to be Lieutenant, with seniority and effect from 9 December 1978.

ROYAL N.Z. ARMY SERVICE CORPS

Headquarters, 21st Supply Company, RNZASC

Michael Wayne Edwards is appointed to a commission in the rank of 2nd Lieutenant (on prob.), with effect from 30 October 1978.

ROYAL N.Z. ARMY MEDICAL CORPS

1st Field Ambulance, RNZAMC

The commission of 2nd Lieutenant (on prob.) J. G. East-wood, M.B., is confirmed, with effect from 29 November 1977. 1st Field Hospital, RNZAMC Captain (temp. Major) J. C. Powell to be Major, with seniority from 7 April 1978 and effect from 1 December 1978. Captain W. J. Childs, M.B., CH.B., to be temp. Major, with effect from 29 November 1978. Lieutenant L. Hounsell to be temp. Captain, with effect from 18 December 1978

from 18 December 1978. The commission of 2nd Lieutenant (on prob.) J. F. Buck-land is confirmed, with effect from 5 November 1977; to be Lieutenant, with seniority from 5 November 1978 and effect

from 1 December 1978. 2nd Lieutenant John Michael Foster resigns his commission, with effect from 25 January 1979.

3rd Field Ambulance, RNZAMC

Lieutenant Anthony James Morkane resigns his commission. with effect from 25 October 1978.

The commission of 2nd Lieutenant (on prob.) P. A. Hamer is confirmed, with effect from 15 August 1977. The commission of 2nd Lieutenant (on prob.) Graham Michael White lapses, with effect from 25 October 1978.

ROYAL N.Z. DENTAL CORPS

1st Field Ambulance, RNZAMC The commission of 2nd Lieutenant (on prob.) R. D. Flett is confirmed, with effect from 10 December 1976.

ROYAL N.Z. PROVOST CORPS

Ist Infantry Brigade Group Provost Unit, RNZPRO Mark Franklin Hall is appointed to a commission in the rank of 2nd Lieutenant (on prob.), with effect from 30 October 1978.

ROYAL N.Z. NURSING CORPS

The following are transferred to the Reserve of Officers, Regimental List, 2nd (GH) Field Hospital, RNZAMC, in their present rank and seniority, with effect from the dates shown:

Major (W) Constance Mary Noel Robertshawe, 10 October 1978.

Captain (W) Robyn Eileen Taylor, 22 November 1978. Captain (W) Gaile Patricia Bilton is transferred to the Reserve of Officers, General List, in the rank of Captain (W), with effect from 1 December 1978.

The following Lieutenants (W) to be Captain (W): P. G. Aickin, with seniority from 17 May 1977 and effect from 19 November 1978. P. C. Hepburn, with seniority from 1 June 1978 and effect from 18 November 1978. F. E. Lendrum, with seniority from 18 June 1978 and effect from 19 November 1079.

from 19 November 1978.

Lieutenant (W) A. M. Green, DIP.N., DIP.OBST., to be temp. Captain, with effect from 1 November 1978. The commission of 2nd Lieutenant (W) (on prob.) K. B.

Reed is confirmed, with effect from 20 June 1977.

EXTRA REGIMENTAL EMPLOYMENT

Headquarters, Logistic Support Group Lieutenant Colonel Alan Olaf Bloomfield, M.B.E., E.D., RNZIR, is transferred to the Reserve of Officers, Regimental List, Headquarters, Logistic Support Group, in his present rank and seniority, with effect from 3 November 1978.

RESERVE OF OFFICERS

General List

The following are posted to the Retired List with effect from the dates shown:

Royal Regiment of N.Z. Artillery Lieutenant Colonel Thomas Gerald Martin, 1 January 1979. Lieutenant Colonel Edward James McKinney, 23 January 1979.

Major David Alister Mannering, 12 January 1979.

Lieutenant Dennis Frederick Anson, 15 December 1978.

Royal N.Z. Infantry Regiment Major Michael Gordon Howley, 4 November 1978.

Royal N.Z. Army Medical Corps Lieutenant Colonel William Dickson Meldrum, M.B., CH.B., F.F.A.R.C.S., 19 January 1979.

Royal N.Z. Army Ordnance Corps Major David Roland Medd, 29 November 1978.

Dated at Wellington this 14th day of February 1979.

FRANK GILL, Minister of Defence.

Appointments, Promotions, Extensions, Transfers, Resigna-tions and Retirements of Officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force

PURSUANT to section 35 of the Defence Act 1971, His Excellency the Governor-General has approved the following appointments, promotions, extensions, transfers, resignations, and retirements of officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force:

REGULAR AIR FORCE

GENERAL DUTIES BRANCH

A ppointments

Squadron Leader B. E. Gilliver to be temp. Wing Com-mander, with effect from 3 November 1978. The following Flight Lieutenants to be temp. Squadron Leaders, with effect from the dates shown:

B. M. Butterfield, 13 November 1978. J. R. Jennings, 4 December 1978.

The following are appointed to permanent commissions with effect from the dates shown:

Flight Lieutenant D. M. Hamilton, 5 December 1978. Flying Officer J. K. Duxfield, B.Sc., 17 October 1978. Flying Officer J. C. Mathewson, 9 November 1978.

is appointed to a commission in the rank of Flight Lieutenant (on prob.) with seniority and effect from 25 September 1978.

Promotions

The following Squadron Leaders (temp. Wing Com-manders) to be Wing Commander, with seniority and effect from the dates shown:

R. B. Parker, 17 December 1978.
B. P. Bygate, 16 December 1978.
M. Palairet, 11 January 1979.
M. L. Manttan, 9 January 1979.
M. H. Bond, 10 January 1979.

The following Squadron Leaders to be Wing Commander, with seniority and effect from the dates shown:

I. A. Wright, 15 December 1978.

K. A. Gayfer, 8 January 1979.

The following Flight Lieutenants (temp. Squadron Leaders) to be Squadron Leader, with seniority and effect from 24 November 1978:

R. A. Cross.

G. A. McCullough. I. G. Brunton.