- To be Companions of The Queen's Service Order for Community Service (Q.S.O.).
  - Mrs Joyce Doreen FLYNN, of Wanganui.
  - Eric Harold GROCOTT, J.P., of Long Bay, Coromandel.
  - James Earl HUNT, of Palmerston North. Tumokai KATIPA, of Ngaruawahia.
  - Mrs Olive Margaret McLeod MANNING, of Auckland.
- To be Companions of The Queen's Service Order for Public Services (Q.S.O.):
  - Neville Robert AINSWORTH, of Lowry Bay, Wellington.

  - Neville Robert AINSWORTH, of Lowry Bay, Wellington. General Manager, State Insurance Office, since 1966.
    John Mokonuiarangi BENNETT, of Haveloek North. Chairman, Maori Education Foundation.
    Edward George BUCKTON, of Lower Hutt, Lately, Principal Private Secretary to the Prime Minister.
    Dr David Gordon EDGAR, of Hamilton. Lately, Director, Ruakura Animal Research Station, Ministry of Agricul-ture and Fisheries.
    Trevor Freeman HORNE TR of Malacr.
  - Trevor Freeman HORNE, J.P., of Nelson.
  - Rex Thomas MORPETH, J.P., of Whakatane. Mayor of Whakatane.
  - Patrick George SHEEHAN, J.P., of Auckland. Mayor of Devonport.

Joseph Leslie TERRY, J.P., of Pahiatua.

- To be Members of the Civil Division of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (M.B.E.):
  - George Kent ARMSTRONG, D.S.O., M.C., of Queenstown. For services to the engineering profession. Eric Samuel AYERS, J.P., of Ashburton. For services to
  - education
  - Russell William BOND, of Waikanae. For services to journalism and the arts.
- Cleland James Graham BRASS, J.P., of Invercargill. For services to local body and community affairs. John Reginald BURFORD, of Palmerston North. For services to exporting. Miss Thelma Patricia BURTON, of Lower Hutt. For
- services to nursing.
- Robert Tertius DOUGLAS, of Wanganui. Lately, Chief Chemical Inspector, Department of Health.
- James Geoffrey FURNESS, M.C., of Blenheim. For services to the community.
- Miss Gwladys Louise GARDNER, of Auckland. Lately, Head Mistress, Auckland Girls' Grammar School. Sholto Hamilton GEORGESON, of Christchurch. For
- services to aeronautics
- Grahame Frederick GLAISTER, of Auckland, For services to exporting.
- Ritchie Donald HASSED, of Raumati Beach. For services to quarrying. Harold Ashworth HOLMES, J.P., of Rotorua. For services
- to the community. Harry Tilson KERSHAW, of Martinborough. For services
- Harry Theon KERSHAW, of Mathibiologic, For services to local body and community affairs.
   Robert Hugh Wither KIRTON, of Warkworth. For services to the dairy industry.
   John Harold LUCAS, of Wellington. For services to
- scouting James Edward MILNER, of Christchurch. For services to
- paraplegics. Stanley Guy RUSSELL, J.P., of Raglan. For services to
- the community. Maurice Barrington SMYTHE, of Waikanae. For services
- to racing. Lincoln Francis WARREN, of Auckland. For services to rugby.
- Charles Edward Catlow WEBB, of Levin. For services to the farming industry and the community. Max Phillip WHATMAN, of Christchurch. For services to journalism and the community.
- Mrs Elsie Hamer WILKIE, of Matamata. For services to bowling
- Harold Robert WILLIAMS, of New Plymouth. For services to oil and gas exploration and development in New Zealand.
- The Queen's Service Medal for Community Service (Q.S.M.):
- Thomas Willie ABBOTT, J.P., of Papatoetoe. Miss Margaret Brenda Dillon BELL, of Palmerston, South Island.
- Mrs Joyce Winifred BROWN, of Wellington. Mrs Stella Adelaide BROWN, of Auckland. Sydney Charles BURTON, of Auckland.
- Mrs Rachel CHISHOLM, of Blenheim.

- Maurice Walter CHURCH, of Portula East. Mrs Beatrice Mary CLIFFORD, of Hamilton. Mrs Beatrice May COUSINS, of Waitahuna. Mrs Mereana Kingi DAVIS, of Torere, Bay of Plenty. Louis Rodgers FOX, of Titahi Bay. Cecil Henry HILTON, of Rotorua. Clifford HOLDSWORTH, of Christchurch.

Maurice Walter CHURCH, of Porirua East.

- Ceiff rdeiny fillsford, of Robina. Clifford HOLDSWORTH, of Christchurch. Miss Winifred Edith Georgina KNIGHT, of Hawera. William Morland LIMPUS, J.P., of Auckland. Mrs Joan Anita LITTLE, of Tokoroa. Mrs Maisie McNAIR, of Christchurch. Mrs Clarice Mary MAY, of Winton. Mrs Nancy Elizabeth MONEY, of Auckland. Mrs Marjory Catherine OGG, of Wanganui. John Edward ORD, of Taumarunui. Mrs Florence Gertrude ROBERTS, of Christchurch. Mrs Rosa Olga SANSOM, of Gore. Mrs Elizabeth Mary Wheeler SHAW, of Ashburton. Miss Ann Gladys SMITH, of Dunedin. The Reverend David Howard VEREKER-BINDON (Brother David John, SSF), of Auckland. Mrs Jean WARREN, of Christchurch. Mrs Evelyn Grace WILLIAMS, J.P., of Kaitaia. Mrs Margaret Mary YOUNG, of Invercargill.
- Mrs Margaret Mary YOUNG, of Invercargill.
- The Queen's Service Medal for Public Services (Q.S.M.):
  - Mrs Mary ARMSTRONG, of Waimangaroa, Westport. Postmistress, New Zealand Post Office. Herbert William BEASLEY, of Auckland. Miss Lettice Marion CORSBIE, of Kaikohe, Northland.

  - Cecil Charles DAY, of Wanganui. Ronald Daniel EASTWOOD, of Te Aroha. Mrs Phoebe Mildred FROST, of Wellington.
  - Charles Anthony GALLAGHER, of Fairlie, South Canter-
  - bury

  - bury. James Benjamin GRAHAM, J.P., of Christchurch. Eric William KING, of Richmond. Miss Lillia Mabel LANGRIDGE, of Ashburton. Leonard Joseph LANIGAN, J.P., of Auckland. Allister Park MCDONALD, of Whakatane. John William McINTOSH, J.P., of Waiheke Island. Mrs Sheilagh Rosalee MAXWELL, of Gisborne. Miss Tui Alfreda MAYO, of Feilding. Mrs Kathleen Patricia REDMOND, of Whangarei. Chief Nursing Officer, Northland Hospital Board. Ole Ellegaard SORENSON, of Lower Hutt. Lately, Assistant Director (Field Operations), Ministry of Agriculture and
  - Director (Field Operations), Ministry of Agriculture and Fisheries.

  - Mrs Florence Alice VINCENT, J.P., of Wellington. Fred John WILLIAMS, of Gisborne. Kira WILLIAMS, J.P., of Kaeo, Northland. Harold Alfred Lewis WRIGHT, of Marton. Lately, Head Nurse, Maximum Security Unit, Lake Alice Hospital.
- The Queen's Fire Service Medal for Distinguished Service (Q.F.S.M.):
  - William CLARKSON, Fire Force Commander, New Zea-
  - Iand Fire Service, Hamilton.
     Peter Kenneth BURTON-WOOD, Chief Fire Officer, Director of Fire Safety Division, National Headquarters, New Zealand Fire Service
  - Desmond Maurice ROBERTSON, Chief Fire Officer, Waihi Volunteer Fire Brigade.
  - Arthur William James PLUMMER, Lately, District Officer, Sumner Volunteer Fire Brigade. William John HARRISON, Senior Station Officer, Inver-
  - cargill Fire Brigade (Volunteer).

## POLICE LIST

To be an Officer of the Civil Division of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (O.B.E.):

Graeme Augustine DALLOW, Deputy Assistant Commissioner, New Zealand Police.

- The Queen's Service Medal for Public Services (Q.S.M.):
- Stewart Dudley BELCHER, Senior Sergeant, New Zealand Police.
- Henry Charles HOLLANDER, Constable, New Zealand Police.
- The Queen's Police Medal for Distinguished Service (Q.P.M.): Robert Josiah WALTON, O.B.E., E.D., Commissioner of Police, New Zealand Police. William Edward HOLLINSHEAD, Chief Superintendent,
  - New Zealand Police.

82