Declaring Land Acquired for a Local Work to be Crown Land

KEITH HOLYOAKE, Governor-General A PROCLAMATION

PURSUANT to the Public Works Act 1928, I, The Right Honourable Sir Keith Jacka Holyoake, the Governor-General of New Zealand, hereby declare the land described in the Schedule hereto to be Crown land subject to the Land Act 1948.

SCHEDULE

HAWKE'S BAY LAND DISTRICT

ALL those pieces of land situated in Block VII, Te Mata Survey District, Hawke's Bay R.D., described as follows: A. R. P. Being

1 0 21 Part Lot 2, D.P. 4564, part Kaokaoroa Block; coloured blue on plan M.O.W. 23634 (S.O. 5971).
2 0 14 Part Lot 3, D.P. 4564, part Kaokaoroa Block; coloured orange on plan M.O.W. 23634 (S.O.

0 9 Part Lot 1, D.P. 4564, part Kaokaoroa Block; coloured orange on plan M.O.W. 23634 (S.O. 5971).

3

1 38 Part Lot 6, D.P. 4564, part Kaokaoroa Block; coloured blue on plan M.O.W. 23635 (S.O. 5972).
3 8 Part Lot 5, D.P. 4564, part Kaokaoroa Block; coloured sepia on plan M.O.W. 23635 (S.O.

Part Lot 1, D.P. 9131, part Kaokaoroa Block; coloured orange on plan M.O.W. 23635 (S.O. 1 4 8 5972).

8 Part Lot 10, D.P. 4564, part Kaokaoroa Block coloured sepia on plan M.O.W. 23635 (S.O. 1

As the same are more particularly delineated on the plans marked and coloured as above-mentioned, and deposited in the office of the Minister of Works and Development at Wellington.

Given under the hand of His Excellency the Governor-General, and issued under the seal of New Zealand, this 10th day of April 1979.

W. L. YOUNG, Minister of Works and Development.

[L.S.] GOD SAVE THE QUEEN!

(P.W. 96/231000/0; Na. D.O. AD 6/3/231032)

The Wanganui Region Constitution Order 1979

KEITH HOLYOAKE, Governor-General ORDER IN COUNCIL

At the Government Buildings at Wellington this 7th day of May 1979

Present:

THE RIGHT HON. R. D. MULDOON PRESIDING IN COUNCIL PURSUANT to the Local Government Act 1974, His Excellency the Governor-General, acting by and with the advice and consent of the Executive Council, hereby makes the following order:

ORDER

- 1. Title and commencement—(1) This order may be cited as the Wanganui Region Constitution Order 1979.
- (2) This order shall come into force on the 18th day of May 1979, except insofar as it is necessary for the constituent authorities to proceed with the appointment of the first members of the council in terms of clause 6 of this order, and for matters incidental thereto.
- 2. Wanganui Region—(1) There is hereby constituted a region to be called the Wanganui Region (hereinafter referred to as "the region").

 (2) The constituent districts of the region shall be the districts of:

- (a) The County of Waimarino;(b) The Borough of Raetihi;(c) The Borough of Ohakune;
- (d) The County of Waitotara; (e) The County of Wanganui; (f) The City of Wanganui; (g) The County of Rangitikei;
- (h) The Borough of Taihape; and (i) The Borough of Marton.

- 3. Wanganui United Council—The council for the region shall be a united council described as "The Wanganui United Council" (hereinafter referred to as "the council").
- 4. Membership of Council—The council shall consist of 12 members of whom:
 - (a) One shall be appointed by the Waimarino County Council;
 - (b) One shall be appointed jointly by the Raetihi Borough Council and the Ohakune Borough Council;
 (c) One shall be appointed by the Waitotara County
 - Council:
 - (d) One shall be appointed by the Wanganui County Council:
 - (e) Three shall be appointed by the Wanganui City Council:
 - (f) Three shall be appointed by the Rangitikei County Council:
 - (g) One shall be appointed by the Taihape Borough Council; and
 - (h) One shall be appointed by the Marton Borough Council.
- 5. Administering authority—The administering authority of the council shall be the Wanganui City Council.
- 6. First appointment of members—(1) Each constituent authority shall, not later than 1 month after the date of the commencement of this order, appoint the first member or the first members of the council which that authority is to appoint under clause 4 of this order.

(2) The members of the council appointed pursuant to sub-clause (1) of this clause shall come into office on the day of

(3) Each constituent authority shall, not later than the 18th day of June 1979, give the names of the person or persons appointed by it pursuant to subclause (1) of this clause to the principal officer of the administering authority.

(4) The principal officer of the administering authority shall not be prevented, by any failure to comply with subclause (3) of this clause, from convening the first meeting of the council in accordance with clause 7 of this order.

7. First meeting of Council—(1) The first meeting of the council shall be held not later than 2 months after the date of the commencement of this order.

(2) The principal officer of the administering authority shall convene the first meeting of the council and shall preside at that meeting until the election of the chairman.

(3) That principal officer may do all things necessary for the convening of that meeting.

the convening of that meeting.

8. Committees—(1) Subject to section 104 of the Local Government Act 1974, section 6 of the Town and Country Planning Act 1977, and subclause (2) of this clause, the council may appoint such committees as it thinks fit.

(2) The council shall appoint and maintain a Civil Defence Committee which committee shall include a nominee of the Director of Civil Defence and a nominee of the Commissioner of Works.

9. Finance—(1) For the purposes of and subject to section 123 of the Local Government Act 1974, the net expenditure of the council shall be apportioned among the constituent authorities of the region on the following basis:

Waimarino County Council shall pay one-twelfth;
Raetihi Borough Council and Ohakune Borough Council
jointly shall pay one-twelfth;
Waitotara County Council shall pay one-twelfth;
Wanganui County Council shall pay one twelfth;
Wanganui City Council shall pay one-cuparter;

Wanganti County Council shall pay one-quarter; Wanganui City Council shall pay one-quarter; Rangitikei County Council shall pay one-quarter; Taihape Borough Council shall pay one-twelfth; Marton Borough Council shall pay one-twelfth.

- (2) The net expenditure to be met jointly by the Raetihi Borough Council and the Ohakune Borough Council shall be apportioned on a basis to be agreed between those councils and failing agreement shall be apportioned according to the proportion that the adjusted net capital value of the districts bears to the total adjusted net capital values of the two districts.
- (3) For the purposes of section 123 of the Local Government Act 1974 the functions of regional planning and civil defence shall be deemed to be functions for the benefit of the whole region.
 - P. G. MILLEN, Clerk of the Executive Council.