8. Summit Road (Canterbury) Protection Act 1963—Upon the assumption by the council of the powers, functions, and duties of the Canterbury Regional Planning Authority purduries of the Canterbury Regional Planning Authority pur-suant to section 24 of the Town and Country Planning Act 1977, the council shall also assume the functions of the Canterbury Regional Planning Authority under the Summit Road (Canterbury) Protection Act 1963 and shall have all the rights, powers, duties, obligations, and responsibilities of that authority and every reference in the last mentioned Act to that authority shall be read as a reference to the council.

9. Committees—(1) Subject to section 104 of the Local Government Act 1974, section 6 of the Town and Country Planning Act 1977, and subclause (2) of this clause, the council may appoint such committees as it thinks fit.

(2) The council shall appoint and maintain a Civil Defence Committee which committee shall include a nominee of the Director of Civil Defence and a nominee of the Commissioner of Works.

10. Finance—(1) For the purpose of, and subject to, section 123 of the Local Government Act 1974, the net expenditure of the council for each financial year shall be apportioned among the constituent authorities of the region in the propor-tion that the population of the district of each constituent authority at the commencement of that year bears to the total population of the region at the commencement of that year. (2) For the purpose of section 123 of the Act the functions

of regional planning and civil defence shall be deemed to be functions for the benefit of the whole region.

P. G. MILLEN, Clerk of the Executive Council.

The Southland Region Constitution Order 1979

KEITH HOLYOAKE, Governor-General

ORDER IN COUNCIL

At the Government House at Wellington this 14th day of May 1979

Present:

HIS EXCELLENCY THE GOVERNOR-GENERAL IN COUNCIL

PURSUANT to the Local Government Act 1974, His Excel-lency the Governor-General, acting by and with the advice and consent of the Executive Council, hereby makes the following order.

ORDER

1. Title and commencement-(1) This order may be cited as

(2) This order shall come into force on the 31st day of May 1979, except insofar as it is necessary for the constituent authorities to proceed with the appointment of the first members of the council in terms of clause 6 of this order, and for matters incidental thereto.

2. Southland Region-(1) There is hereby constituted a region to be called the Southland Region (hereinafter referred to as "the region").

(2) The constituent districts of the region are the districts of:

(a) The County of Fiord;
(b) The County of Wallace;
(c) The Borough of Riverton;
(d) The County of Southland;
(e) The Borough of Gore;
(f) The Borough of Mataura;
(g) The Borough of Winton;
(h) The City of Invercargill;
(i) The Borough of Pluff:

(i) The Borough of Bluff; (j) The County of Stewart Island.

3. Southland United Council—The council for the region hall be a united council described as "The Southland shall be a united council described as "The Southlar United Council" (hereinafter referred to as "the council").

4. Membership of Council-The council shall consist of 15 members of whom:

- (a) Three shall be appointed jointly by the Wallace County
- (b) Five shall be appointed jointly by the Wallace Council;
 (b) Five shall be appointed jointly by the Southland County Council and the Stewart Island County Council;
- (c) Two shall be appointed jointly by the Gore Borough
- (d) Five shall be appointed jointly by the Gore Borough Council,
 (d) Five shall be appointed jointly by the Invercargill City Council, the Bluff Borough Council, and the Winton Borough Council.

5. Administering authority-The administering authority of the council shall be the Invercargill City Council.

6. First appointment of members—(1) The constituent authorities shall, not later than 1 month after the commence-ment of this order, appoint the first members of the council which those authorities are to appoint under clause 4 of this order.

(2) The members of the council appointed pursuant to

(2) The members of the council appointed pursuant to subclause (1) of this clause shall come into office on the day of the first meeting of the council.
(3) The constituent authorities shall, not later than the 30th day of June 1979, give the names of those persons appointed by them pursuant to subclause (1) of this clause to the principal officer of the administering authority.
(4) The principal officer of the administering authority.

(4) The principal officer of the administering authority shall not be prevented by any failure to comply with sub-clause (3) of this clause, from convening the first meeting of

the council in accordance with clause 7 of this order. 7. First meeting of council—(1) The first meeting of the council shall be held not later than 2 months after the date of the commencement of this order.

(2) The principal officer of the administering authority shall convene the first meeting of the council and shall preside

at that meeting until the election of the chairman. (3) That principal officer may do all things necessary for the convening of that meeting.

8. Committees—(1) Subject to section 104 of the Local Government Act 1974, section 6 of the Town and Country Planning Act 1977, and subclause (2) of this clause, the council may appoint such committees as it thinks fit.

(2) The council shall appoint and maintain a Civil Defence Committee which committee shall include a nominee of the Director of Civil Defence and a nominee of the Commissioner of Works.

9. Finance-(1) For the purpose of, and subject to, section 123 of the Local Government Act 1974, the net expenditure of the council for each financial year shall be apportioned among the constituent authorities of the region in accordance with the following formula:

$$\frac{1+2b}{3}$$

where---

- is the percentage that the population of each district bears to the total population of the region; and is the percentage that the total adjusted net capital value а
- of each district bears to the total adjusted net capital value of the region.

(2) For the purpose of section 123 of the Local Govern-ment Act 1974, the functions of regional planning and civil defence shall be deemed to be functions for the benefit of the whole region.

P. G. MILLEN, Clerk of the Executive Council.

Appointments, Promotions, Extensions, Transfers, Resignations, and Retirements of Officers of the Royal New Zealand Navv

PURSUANT to section 35 of the Defence Act 1971, His Excellency the Governor-General has approved the following appointments, promotions, extensions, transfers, resignations, and retirements of officers of the New Zealand Naval Forces.

ROYAL NEW ZEALAND NAVY

Captain Richard Nathaniel Montgomerie Lea, C.ENG., F.M.I.MECH.E., F.I.MAR.E., is placed on the Emergency List of the RNZN, until 10 February 1981, with effect from 11 February 1979.

Commander John Andrew Barnes, B.E. (ELECT), is placed on the Retired List of RNZN officers, with effect from 2 February 1979.

The appointments of the following Lieutenant Commanders are extended to the dates shown:

N. T. Byrne, 24 April 1987.

C. F. Bryant, 3 July 1985. C. P. C. Calkin, 10 January 1991.

The following are placed on the Retired List of RNZN officers with effect from the dates shown:

Lieutenant Commander Keith Ivor Knight, O.B.E., 21 March 1979.

Lieutenant Commander Eric Donald Glass, B.SC., DIP.TCHG., 25 February 1979.