To be Officers of the Civil Division of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (O.B.E.):

James Neil AITKEN, of Patearoa, Centrol Otago. For

william Stewart ARMITAGE, of Dunedin. For services to the community.

Malcolm Cort ASTLEY, J.P., of Auckland. For services as a Stipendiary Magistrate and to the community. Thomas James ATCHISON, of Ngaruawahia. For services

Mrs Audrey Ngaere GALE, of New Plymouth. For services

to the community.
Timothy HURLEY, of Wanganui. For services to the tourist

and travel industry.

Dr Norris Roy JEFFERSON, E.D., of Invercargill. For

services to paraplegics, sport and medicine.

Edward Anthony KENNEDY, of Paraparaumu Beach.

Lately, Deputy Chairman, State Services Commission.

Mrs Dorothy Pauline McNAB, of Owaka, Balclutha. For services to the community.

(James Frank) Edgar MANSFIELD, of Napier. For services

as a bookbinder and sculptor.

Maurice Noel MANTHEL, of Wellington. For services to the community.

William Gordon NOLAN, J.P., of Wairoa, For services to local government

Edward Ronald PRINCE, of Wanganui. For services to

sport and the community Lieutenant Commander Peter Maxwell SANDERS, M.B.E., of

Wellington. New Zealand Cadet Forces.

Arthur Frederick THOMAS, of Auckland. For services to local government.

Lawrence David TINKHAM, of Wellington. For services to the performing arts.

Emeritus Professor John Le Bailly WARREN, of Dunedin. Lately, Dean, University of Otago Dental School.

To be Companions of The Queen's Service Order for Community Service (Q.S.O.):

Mrs Dorothy Elizabeth Jane DOLAN, of Methven. Noel Alfred KIDD, of Pukekohe.
Mrs Emily Pehipa Matiu PAKI, J.P., of Huntly.
Alfred Lorraine WILLIAMS, J.P., of Auckland.

To be Companions of The Queen's Service Order for Public Services (Q.S.O.):

Rex Douglas ALLEN, of Oamaru. Mayor of Oamaru.
John Simeon BLENKHORN, of Levin.
Wallace Colin Thomas BRUNTON, of Thames.
Mervyn Mackie CHISHOLM, M.B.E., of Blenheim. Late'y,
Supervisor Manager, Molesworth Station.
Lester Laurence DAVIS, of Wellington. Government
Insurance Commissioner since 1973.
Miss Beryl Overton HOWIE, of Ludhiana, India. Professor
of Obstetrics and Gynaecology, Christian Medical
College, Ludhiana, India.

College, Ludhiana, India.

Pita Tipunakore KAUA, J.P., of Gisborne.

Edward Conway KEATING, of Upper Hutt. Government
Printer since 1976.

Mrs Emere Makere Waiwaha Kaa MOUNTAIN, J.P.,

Kawakawa, Bay of Islands.

James Humphrey ROSE. of Auckland.

Iver Edgar TRASK, of Paraparaumu. Lately, Deputy General Manager, New Zealand Railways.

To be Members of the Civil Division of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (M.B.E.):

Gary Thomas William BUTLER, of Wanganui. For services to the community.

John Morton DICKEY, J.P., of Auckland, For services to the pharmaceutical profession, sport and community.

Robert DOSSOR, of Picton. For services to the province

of Marlborough.

Charles DUDLEY, of Auckland. For services to racing and trotting

Alan Falconer FRASER, of Rangiora. For services to sport.

Miss Betty FRASER, of Wellington. Lately, Principal
Wellington Girls' College.

Abraham Saul GOLDSMITH, J.P., of Wellington. For services to the community.

Rupert Garth HARRIS, of Christchurch. For services to diabetics

Mrs Phyllis Mary HOLLEY, of Dunedin. For services to

Hugh JANSON, of Carterton. For services to speech and drama teaching and the community.

Robert Dickson JENNINGS, of Auckland. For services to

children.

Mrs Linda Christine JONES, of Cambridge. For services as a jockev.

Edward Joseph LYNSKEY, of Wellington. For services as Commissioner for the Chatham Islands.

Mrs Rona Iris McCARTHY, of Hastings. For services to

sport, especially netball

Mrs Isabelle Vincente MAJOR, of Dunedin. For services to singing.

Robert Kenneth MALCOLM, of Opotiki. For services to

the dairy industry.

Campbell George PATERSON, J.P., of Auck!and. For services to philately.

George Ernest PERRY, of Trentham. For services to the community, especially surf life saving and water safety. John Pym Gray PRING, of Auckland. For services to rugby refereeing

Thomas RAM of Taumarunui. For services to the community.

Richard Newell STEVENSON, J.P., of Auckland. For services to the Cancer Society of New Zealand. Clifford Vincent TAIT, of Hamilton. For services to

aviation.

John Osborne TAYLOR, of Christchurch. For services to horticulture.

Roi Carl TE PUNGA, of Wellington. Lately. Assistant Director-General, Department of Social Welfare. Roy Blount WALKER, of Dunedin. For services to the

theatre

Keith Albert Fabian WILLS, of Hamilton. For services to the community.

The Queen's Service Medal for Community Service (Q.S.M.):

George Livingston BAKER, of Patea. Mrs Margaret Alice Mary BEAR, J.P.

Mrs Maude Harriett Lowry BEDINGHAM, of Auckland.
Mrs Kathleen D'bett COTTRELL, of Mount Maunganui.
Mrs Audree Clarence Larraine CURTIS, of Pukahu,

Mrs Gladys Annie FREELAND, of Palmerston, South

Island.
Kelvin Robert GAY, of Nelson.
Miss Olive Victoria GORDON, of Roxburgh East, Otago.
Mrs Elsie GRIEVE, of Dannevirke.
Mrs Rita HENRY. of Wairoa.
Miss Joan Phyllis IRVINE. of Dannevirke.
Everard Stanley Martin KELL, of Auckland.
Ludwik KOWALCZYK, of Petone.
Nathan Roy LOW, of New Plymouth.
Mrs Margaret Anne LYNCH, of Rotorua.
Miss Margaret McDONALD, of Tapanui.
Herbert Walter NORTH, J.P., of Tokanui, Southland.
Robert Allen ROGERS, of Hamilton.
Mrs Annie SCHULER, J.P., of Auckland.
George Alexander TELFER, of Otorohanga.
Mrs Phyllis Ada THOMASON, of Motueka.

The Queen's Service Medal for Public Services (Q.S.M.):

Dr Deidre Morag AIREY, of Coromandel.
Alfred George BARWELL, of Dunsandel.
Mrs Isabel May CHARLES, J.P., of Silverstream.
Russell Harold COOMBE, of Auck'and.
Miss Josephine CORBETT, of Thames. Lately, Supervising
Principal Nurse, Thames Hospital Board.

Mrs Eileen Vera CROSBY, J.P., of Hawera. William Thomas EARLEY, of Invercargill.

Wultam Thomas EARLEY, of Invercargill.

Warren John ELLIS, of Taupo.

Joseph GRBAVAC. of Kumeu.

Peter James HURLEY, of Kotemaori. Line Ganger,
Electricity Division, Ministry of Energy, Kotemaori.

Miss Lorna Winifred LEMAN, of Pukekohe, Auckland.

Michael Lawrence MOLONEY of Hastings.

Stanlev Tetekura NEWTON, J.P., of Rotorua.
Miss Phyllis Margaret ROLLS, of Masterton.
Mrs Patricia Anne ROWELL, of Timaru.
Francis Leslie SMITH, J.P., of B'enheim.
John WALKER, of Waitahuna.

The Queen's Fire Service Medal for Distinguished Service $(\widetilde{Q}.F.S.M.)$:

William GIRLING-BUTCHER, Chief Fire Control Officer, New Zealand Forest Service Wellington.

Arthur James EASTON, Chief Fire Officer, Levin Volunteer Fire Brigade.

Geoffrey Cyril STEPHENS, Chief Fire Officer, Blenheim Volunteer Fire Brigade. Ian James WALKER, Chief Fire Officer, Lower Hutt Fire

Brigade. Albert William WHITE, Station Officer (Volunteer), Napier Fire Brigade.