SCHEDULE

THAT piece of land situated in the City of Wanganui, fronting on to Somme Parade, Guyton Street, Harrison Street and St. Georges Gate, described as Lots 1-6, D.P. 6373, Lot 4, D.P. 939, and the closed road containing an area of 7366 square metres.

Given under the hand of His Excellency the Governor-General, and issued under the Seal of New Zealand, this 25th day of July 1979.

D. F. QUIGLEY, Minister of Housing.

[L.S.]

GOD SAVE THE QUEEN!

Land Taken for Road in Block XV, Clutha Survey District, Clutha County

KEITH HOLYOAKE, Governor-General A PROCLAMATION

Pursuant to the Public Works Act 1928, I, The Right Honourable Sir Keith Jacka Holyoake, the Governor-General of New Zealand, hereby proclaim and declare that the land described in the Schedule hereto is hereby taken for road.

SCHEDULE

OTAGO LAND DISTRICT

ALL that piece of land containing 16.7 perches, being part closed road, Block XV, Clutha Survey District; as shown on plan M.O.W. 22603 (S.O. 16574), deposited in the office of the Minister of Works and Development at Wellington, and thereon coloured orange.

Given under the hand of His Excellency the Governor-General, and issued under the Seal of New Zealand, this 1st day of August 1979.

W. L. YOUNG, Minister of Works and Development.

[L.S.]

GOD SAVE THE QUEEN!

(P.W. 72/92/17/0; Dn. D.O. 20/143/2)

The Bay of Plenty Region Constitution Order 1979

KEITH HOLYOAKE, Governor-General ORDER IN COUNCIL

At the Government House at Wellington this 13th day of August 1979

HIS EXCELLENCY THE GOVERNOR-GENERAL IN COUNCIL

PURSUANT to the Local Government Act 1974, His Excellency the Governor-General, acting by and with the advice and consent of the Executive Council, hereby makes the following

ORDER

1. Title and commencement—(1) This order may be cited as the Bay of Plenty Region Constitution Order 1979.

(2) This order shall come into force on the 31st day of

August 1979, except in so far as it is necessary for the constituent authorities to proceed with the appointment of the first members of the Council in terms of clause 6 of this order, and for matters incidental thereto.

2. Bay of Plenty Region—(1) There is hereby constituted a region to be called the Bay of Plenty Region (hereinafter referred to as "the Region").

(2) The constituent districts of the Region shall be the districts of:

(a) The County of Tauranga.(b) The City of Tauranga,

(c) The Borough of Mount Maunganui, (d) The Borough of Te Puke,

(e) The District of Whakatane,

(f) The Borough of Kawerau, (g) The Borough of Murupara, and

(h) The District of Rotorua.

3. Bay of Plenty United Council—The council for the Region shall be a united council described as "The Bay of Plenty United Council" (hereinafter referred to as "the Council").

- 4. Membership of Council—The Council shall consist of 13 members of whom:
 - (a) Two shall be appointed by the Tauranga County Council;
 - (b) Two shall be appointed by the Tauranga City Council; (c) One shall be appointed by the Mount Maunganui
 - Borough Council; (d) One shall be appointed by the Te Puke Borough
 - Council; (e) Two shall be appointed by the Whakatane District Council;

 - (f) One shall be appointed jointly by the Kawerau Borough
 Council and the Murupara Borough Council; and
 (g) Four shall be appointed by the Rotorua District
- Council. 5. Administering authority—The administering authority of
- 6. First appointment of members—(1) Each constituent authority shall, not later than 1 month after the date of the commencement of this order, appoint the first member or the first members of the Council which that authority is to

the Council shall be the Rotorua District Council.

appoint under clause 4 of this order.

(2) The members of the Council appointed pursuant to subclause (1) of this clause shall come into office on the day of the first meeting of the Council.

(3) Each constituent authority shall, not later than the 30th day of September 1979, give the names of the person or persons appointed by it pursuant to subclause (1) of this clause to the principal officer of the administering authority.

(4) The principal officer of the administering authority shall not be prevented, by any failure to comply with subclause (3) of this clause, from convening the first meeting of the Council in accordance with clause 7 of this order.

7. First meeting of Council—(1) The first meeting of the Council shall be held not later than 2 months after the date of the commencement of this order.

(2) The principal officer of the administering authority shall convene the first meeting of the Council and shall preside at that meeting until the election of the Chairman.

(3) That principal officer may do all things necessary for the convening of that meeting.

8. Committees—(1) Subject to section 104 of the Local Government Act 1974, section 6 of the Town and Country Planning Act 1977, and subclause (2) of this clause, the Council may appoint such committees as it thinks fit.

(2) The Council shall appoint and maintain a Civil Defence Committee which committee shall include a nominee of the Director of Civil Defence and a nominee of the Commissioner

of Works.

9. Finance—(1) For the purposes of and subject to section 123 of the Local Government Act 1974, the net expenditure of the Council shall be apportioned among the constituent authorities of the Region in accordance with the following formula:

$$\frac{a+b}{2}$$

a is the percentage that the population of each district bears to the total population of the Region; and

is the percentage that the total adjusted net capital value of each district bears to the total adjusted net capital value of the Region;

Provided that the net expenditure to be met by each constituent authority shall be not less than 5 percent of the net expenditure of the Council for every member which that authority is to appoint under clause 3 of this scheme, and for the purposes of this proviso a group of constituent authorities which jointly appoints a member to the Council shall be deemed to be one constituent authority. shall be deemed to be one constituent authority.

- (2) The net expenditure of the Council to be met jointly by each group of constituent authorities which jointly appoint a member to the Council shall be apportioned on a basis to be agreed between those constituent authorities and failing agreement shall be apportioned according to the arithmetic mean of the adjusted net capital value and population of each district expressed as a proportion of the sum of the adjusted net capital values and populations of their districts.
- (3) For the purposes of section 123 of the Act, the functions of regional planning and civil defence shall be deemed to be functions for the benefit of the whole Region.

P. G. MILLEN, Clerk of the Executive Council.