Appointments, Promotions, Extensions, Transfers, Resignations, and Retirements of Officers of the New Zealand Army

PURSUANT to section 35 of the Defence Act 1971, His Excellency the Governor-General has approved the following appointments, promotions, extensions, transfers, resignations, and retirements of officers of the New Zealand Army.

REGULAR FORCE

ROYAL REGIMENT OF N.Z. ARTILLERY

Major R. A. Williamson is transferred to the Supernumerary List on reaching retiring age for rank, with effect from 22 November 1978.

Supernumerary List
Captain and Quartermaster P. R. R. Rutherford to be temp. Major and Quartermaster, with effect from 9 July 1979.

ROYAL N.Z. ARMOURED CORPS

Major (temp. Lieutenant Colonel) G. R. Routledge is transferred to the Supernumerary List on reaching retiring age for rank, with effect from 12 November 1977 and his engagement is extended to 11 November 1982.

Major (temp. Lieutenant Colonel) I. J. Duthie to be Lieutenant Colonel, with seniority from 4 May 1979 and

effect from 2 July 1979, and is re-engaged until retiring age

for rank.

Lieutenant R. C. Lee, B.E.M., is transferred to the Supernumerary List on reaching retiring age for rank, with effect from 3 February 1979, and his engagement is extended until 2 February 1984.

THE CORPS OF ROYAL N.Z. ENGINEERS

Major (temp. Lieutenant Colonel) H. E. Wedde, B.E. (CIV), to be Lieutenant Colonel, with seniority from 16 May 1979 and effect from 2 July 1979, and is re-engaged until retiring

age for rank.
Captain H. A. Mawson, E.D., B.E. (CIV), is transferred to the Territorial Force, with effect from 15 October 1978.
Captain (temp. Major) Kenneth John Woods, M.B.E., is transferred to the Reserve of Officers, General List, with effect from 25 July 1979.

ROYAL N.Z. INFANTRY REGIMENT

Lieutenant Colonel O. E. Mann to be acting Colonel, with effect from 23 July 1979; to be Colonel and is transferred to the Colonels' List, with seniority and effect from 28 July 1979.

Captain (temp. Major) and Quartermaster Girvan Ross Hornbrook, M.B.E., B.E.M., is transferred to the Supernumerary List on reaching retiring age for rank, with effect from 5

Captain D. J. Partner to be temp. Major, with effect from

30 July 1979.

The following Lieutenant and Quartermasters to be temp. Captain and Quartermaster with effect from the dates shown: F. W. Daniel, 14 July 1979. D. P. Beattie, 28 July 1979.

ROYAL N.Z. ARMY ORDNANCE CORPS

Major E. R. Adams is transferred to the Supernumerary List on reaching retiring age for rank, with effect from 6 September 1978.

Lieutenant (temp. Captain) B. Stewart is transferred to the Supernumerary List on reaching retiring age for rank, with effect from 3 November 1977.

Lieutenant (temp. Captain) Louis Joseph Gardiner, B.A. (MIL), is transferred to the Reserve of Officers, General List, with effect from 10 July 1979.

ROYAL N.Z. NURSING CORPS

Captain B. D. Rennie, A.R.R.C., to be temp. Major, with effect from 12 May 1979.

The following are appointed to commissions on fixed term engagements of 3 years, in the rank of Lieutenant (W), with seniority and effect from the dates shown:

Nia Karen Berkahn, 4 July 1979.

Lindsey Anne Blair, 16 July 1979.

TERRITORIAL FORCE

THE CORPS OF ROYAL N.Z. ENGINEERS

6th Field Squadron, RNZE
2nd Lieutenant A. J. McCaw to be Lieutenant, with seniority and effect from 8 May 1979.

ROYAL N.Z. INFANTRY REGIMENT

3rd Battalion (Auckland (Countess of Ranfurly's Own) and Northland), RNZIR
Captain J. L. Hughes to be temp. Major, with effect from

2 June 1979.

7th Battalion (Wellington (City of Wellington's Own) and

Hawke's Bay), RNZIR
Lieutenant Trevor Burward Hoy is transferred to the
Reserve of Officers Regimental List, 7th Battalion (Wellington
(City of Wellington's Own) and Hawke's Bay), RNZIR, in present rank and seniority, with effect from 21 June

2nd Lieutenant T. M. Tarsau to be Lieutenant, with seniority and effect from 4 May 1979.

ROYAL N.Z. ARMY MEDICAL CORPS

1st Field Hospital, RNZAMC
The commission of 2nd Lieutenant (on prob.) Brian David Beer lapses, with effect from 3 June 1979.
University Medical Unit, RNZAMC
Martin Campbell Davis is appointed to a commission in the rank of Lieutenant, with seniority from 8 December 1978 and effect from 26 May 1979.

ROYAL N.Z. CHAPLAINS' DEPARTMENT

Chaplain 3rd Class Tikituterangi Raumati (Anglican), is posted to the Retired List, with effect from 25 March 1979.

ROYAL N.Z. NURSING CORPS

Joan Alison Dean is appointed to a commission in the rank of Lieutenant (W), with seniority from 11 July 1977 and effect from 11 July 1979.

EXTRA REGIMENTAL EMPLOYMENT

Headquarters, N.Z. Land Forces
Captain Hubert Alder Mawson, E.D., B.E.(CIV), RNZE, is transferred from the Regular Force in his present rank, with seniority from 18 December 1971 and effect from 15 October

RESERVE OF OFFICERS

General List

The following officers are posted to the Retired List, with The following officers are posted to the Reured List, with effect from the dates shown:

Royal N.Z. Corps of Signals
Lieutenant Colonel William John Wray, 2 July 1979.

Royal N.Z. Infantry Regiment

Major Henry Donald Matson, 7 July 1979.

Captain Ian Craig Macalister, 1 July 1979.

Captain and Quartermaster John Clayton Livesey, 22 June

Lieutenant Christopher Arthur Marshall, 3 July 1979.

Dated at Wellington this 7th day of August 1979.

FRANK GILL, Minister of Defence.

Appointments, Promotions, Extensions, Transfers, Resigna-tions and Retirements of Officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force

Pursuant to section 35 of the Defence Act 1971, His Excellency the Governor-General has approved the following appointments, promotions, extensions, transfers, resignations, and retirements of officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force:

REGULAR AIR FORCE GENERAL DUTIES BRANCH

Chief of Defence Staff

The appointment of Air Marshal Sir Richard Bruce Bolt, K.B.E., C.B., D.F.C, A.F.C., A.M.R.Ae.S., as Chief of Defence Staff, is extended to 15 April 1980.

Chief of Air Staff

The appointment of Air Vice Marshal C. L. Siegert, C.B., C.B.E., M.V.O., D.F.C., A.F.C., as Chief of Air Staff, is extended to 15 October 1979.

Appointment

Squadron Leader (acting Wing Commander) B. E. Gilliver to be temp. Wing Commander, with effect from 6 July 1979.

Promotions

The following Acting Pilot Officers to be Pilot Officer, with seniority from the dates shown, and effect from 27 April 1979:

J. J. Burfoot, 16 October 1978 K. R. Graham, 16 January 1979.

Transfers to Reserve

The following Flight Lieutenants are transferred to the Reserve of Air Force Officers until 30 June 1983, with effect from 1 July 1979:

Alan George White. Andrew Derek Lyttle. Christopher Keith Williams.