5th Battalion (Wellington, West Coast and Taranaki), RNZIR

Lieutenant Emerson Studholme Rangi is posted to the Retired List, with effect from 25 May 1979.

7th Battalion (Wellington (City of Wellington's Own) and

Hawkes Bay), RNZIR
Lieutenant I. C. Hunter to be Captain, with seniority and effect from 19 May 1979.

The commission of 2nd Lieutenant (on prob.) D. J. Tatere is confirmed, with effect from 3 July 1978.

THE N.Z. SPECIAL AIR SERVICE

1st NZSAS Squadron, NZSAS

2nd Lieutenant (on prob.) A. J. Martin, whose commission is confirmed with effect from 24 March 1977, to be Lieutenant, with seniority from 24 March 1979 and effect from 15 May 1979.

> ROYAL N.Z. ARMY MEDICAL CORPS 2nd (GH) Field Hospital, RNZAMC

Captain D. J. McHaffie, M.B., Ch.B., M.R.A.C.P., to be temp. Major, with effect from 26 February 1978.

Captain Lawrence Gibb Knight, M.B., Ch.B., M.SC., is transferred to the Reserve of Officers, General List, with effect from 29 June 1979.

> ROYAL N.Z. DENTAL CORPS 3rd Field Ambulance, RNZAMC

Captain Alastair Hartley Blackie, B.D.S., is transferred to the Reserve of Officers, General List, with effect from 3 July

ROYAL N.Z. CHAPLAINS' DEPARTMENT

Chaplain 3rd Class Ian Douglas Grierson (Presbyterian) is posted to the Retired List, with effect from 10 November 1976.

ROYAL N.Z. NURSING CORPS

The following resign their commissions, with effect from the dates shown:

Captain (W.) Susan Irene Lockhart, 29 May 1979. Lieutenant (W.) Denise Jean Dockery, 27 April 1979. Lieutenant (W.) S. A. Martin to be Captain (W.), with seniority and effect from 5 August 1979.

Dated at Wellington this 23rd day of August 1979.

FRANK GILL, Minister of Defence.

Appointments, Promotions, Extensions, Transfers, Resigna-tions and Retirements of Officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force

Pursuant to section 35 of the Defence Act 1971, His Excellency the Governor-General has approved the following appointments, promotions, extensions, transfers, resignations, and retirements of officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force:

> REGULAR AIR FORCE GENERAL DUTIES BRANCH

Appointment and Extension

Flight Lieutenant B. R. Anderson to be temp. Squadron Leader with effect from 13 July 1979, and his commission is extended to 4 February 1984.

Transfers to Reserve

Flight Lieutenant Gregory John Fallow is transferred to the Reserve of Air Force Officers until 12 August 1983, with effect from 13 August 1979.

The following are transferred to the Reserve of Air Force Officers until 15 August 1983, with effect from 16 August

1979:

Flight Lieutenant Geoffrey Alan Cooper. Flight Lieutenant Russell Bruce Wignall.

Retirement

Flight Lieutenant Peter Norman Keeble is retired, with effect from 1 August 1979.

ENGINEER BRANCH

Promotions

Flight Lieutenant (temp. Squadron Leader) D. A. Provan to be Squadron Leader, with seniority and effect from 6 February 1979.

Flying Officer (temp. Flight Lieutenant) T. J. Mayer to be Flight Lieutenant, with seniority and effect from 27 July 1979.

Relinquishment of Rank

Flying Officer (temp. Flight Lieutenant) S. J. Rabbits, B.E., relinquishes the temp. rank of Flight Lieutenant, with effect from 7 August 1979.

Extension of Commission

The commission of Flight Lieutenant I. P. Wightman, N.Z.C.E., is extended to 10 January 1986.

Transfer to Reserve

Flight Lieutenant (temp. Squadron Leader) Dieter Joachim Kurz is transferred to the Reserve of Air Force Officers until 29 July 1981, with effect from 30 July 1979.

ADMINISTRATIVE AND SUPPLY BRANCH

Transfer to Reserve

Special Duties Division

Flying Officer Karin Wilhelmina Westcott is transferred to the Reserve of Air Force Officers until 5 August 1983, with effect from 6 August 1979.

Retirements

Supply Division
Flight Lieutenant (temp. Squadron Leader) John Macnaghten Jay is retired, in the rank of Squadron Leader, with effect from 31 July 1979.
Flight Lieutenant Raymond Patrick Harrington is retired, with effect from 18 August 1979.

with effect from 18 August 1979.

EDUCATION BRANCH

David Sydney Smith is appointed to a commission in the rank of Flight Lieutenant, with seniority from 3 October 1975 and effect from 3 October 1977.

TERRITORIAL AIR FORCE

ADMINISTRATIVE AND SUPPLY BRANCH

Extension of Commission

Special Duties Division

The commission of Flight Lieutenant A. H. Burnett is extended to 19 December 1985.

Extension of Commission and Age for Retirement

Special Duties Division

The commission and age for retirement of Squadron Leader B. N. Graham are extended to 6 May 1985.

Retirements

Special Duties Division

The following are retired with effect from 1 August 1979: Flight Lieutenant Ronald Walter Campbell. Pilot Officer Peter Charles Mayne.

> RESERVE OF AIR FORCE OFFICERS Extension of Commission

The commission of Squadron Leader G. A. Oldfield is extended to 7 September 1983.

Transfer

Squadron Leader G. A. Oldfield is transferred from the General Reserve to the Active Reserve, with effect from 8 September 1979.

Retirements

The following officers are retired with effect from the dates shown:

Flight Lieutenant Robert Mostyn Sinclair, 1 August 1979. Flight Lieutenant Brendan James Dolan, L., L.M.R.C.P. (IREL.), L.M.R.C.S. (IREL.), D.A., R.C.P. (LOND.), and R.C.S. (ENG.), 15

August 1979.

Flight Lieutenant Cecil Rodney Anyan, 15 August 1979.

Flight Lieutenant Robin John Crothall, 26 August 1979.

Flight Lieutenant Howard William Annan, 5 August 1979.

Flight Lieutenant William Edward Brian Hunter, 2 August

Flight Lieutenant Keith Whynn Hodgson, A.R.A.N.Z., 17 August 1979.

Flight Lieutenant Ronald William Smith, B.Sc., 20 August 1979.

Flying Officer Douglas Eric McElwain, 2 August 1979.
Flying Officer Robert Bruce Hugh Blake, 20 August 1979.
Flying Officer Campbell Clark Langlands, 13 August 1979.
Flying Officer John Firby Kendrick, 14 August 1979.
Pilot Officer Richard Augustine Murray Soar, 2 August

Dated at Wellington this 29th day of August 1979.

FRANK GILL, Minister of Defence.