Westland, with lighter rain to most of the country as it moved northwards. The anticyclone near Australia moved into the Tasman Sea and crossed the South Island on the 19th and 20th. Pressures were low in the North Tasman Sea as a depression developed on the 20th. Temperatures became very cold along the east coast of the country on the 19th and 20th.

east coast of the country on the 19th and 20th.

As the depression moved towards New Zealand a warm front crossed onto the Northland region early on the 21st. Twenty-four hour falls of more than 30 mm were recorded in Northland, Auckland and Bay of Plenty as the front moved south-east. By the morning of the 22nd the depression had started to move slowly southeast across the North Island. This depression became stationary on the 24th, and covered the whole of New Zealand until early on the 27th. The only areas that did not record rain during the passage of the depression were west of the main ranges in the South Island. The heaviest falls occurred in southern Wairarapa,

Wellington, Manawatu, the Kaikoura coast and inland Canterbury. The heavy rain was accompanied by gale force winds, especially in areas exposed to the south.

An anticyclone moved onto the country early on the 28th and this persisted until the afternoon of the 30th. Some isolated areas in both Islands reported light showers, but the weather was mainly fine throughout most of the country during this period. Temperatures were about normal, but warmer than usual in Otago and Southland. A cold front associated with a depression moving to the south of the country brought heavy rain to Fiordland and Westland as it crossed the country on the 31st. Late on the 31st a depression that had developed in the north Tasman Sea had moved southeast towards New Zealand.

J. S. HICKMAN, Director.

(N.Z. Met. S. Pub. 107)

Apiary Registration Districts and Offices Appointed (No. 2236, Ag. 12/12/1)

Pursuant to subsection (2) of section 4 of the Apiaries Act 1969, I hereby appoint the apiary registration districts, contained in the Schedule hereto, and comprising the counties and districts referred to in the second column of this Schedule, together with all territorial districts enclosed by or contiguous to any county or district included in any registration district; I hereby appoint the office of the Ministry of Agriculture and Fisheries, in the borough or city named in the third column of the Schedule opposite the name of the registration district, as the apiary registration office for each registration district; and I hereby allocate the code letter set out in the fourth column of the Schedule, opposite the name of the registration district, as the code letter for each registration district. This notice hereby revokes the notices appointing apiary registration districts and offices, dated the 24th day of January 1961* and the 29th day of January 1968†.

SCHEDULE

	Defile C22		
Name of District	Description of Apiary Registration District	Registration Office	Code Letter
Auckland	The counties or districts of Mangonui, Whangaroa, Bay of Islands, Hokianga, Whangarei, Hobson, Otamatea, Rodney, Waitemata, Great Barrier Island, Waiheke, and Franklin.	Auckland	Α
Hamilton	The counties or districts of Hauraki Plains, Waikato, Raglan, Piako, Waipa, Matamata, Otorohanga, Waitomo, Taupo, and Taumarunui.	Hamilton	C
Tauranga	The counties or districts of Thames-Coromandel, Ohinemuri, Tauranga, Rotorua, Whakatane, and Opotiki.	Tauranga	D
Hastings	The counties or districts of Waiapu, Waikohu, Cook, Wairoa, Hawke's Bay, Waipawa, Waipukurau, Dannevirke, Woodville, Pahiatua, Eketahuna, Masterton, Wairarapa South, and Featherston.	Palmerston North	E
Palmerston North	The counties or districts of Clifton, Taranaki, Inglewood, Stratford, Egmont, Eltham, Waimate West, Hawera, Patea, Waimarino, Waitotara, Wanganui, Rangitikei, Kiwitea, Pohangina, Oroua, Kairanga, Manawatu, Horowhenua and Hutt.	Palmerston North	Н
Nelson	The counties of Golden Bay, Waimea, Marlborough, Buller, Inangahua, Grey, and Westland.	Nelson	K
Christchurch	The counties or districts of Kaikoura, Amuri, Cheviot, Hurunui, Oxford, Rangiora, Eyre, Malvern, Paparua, Waimairi, Mount Herbert, Heathcote, Akaroa, Wairewa, Ellesmere, Ashburton, and Chatham Islands.	Christchurch	L
Oamaru	The counties of Strathallan, MacKenzie, Waimate, Waitaki, Waihemo, Maniototo, Vincent; that part of Silverpeaks County lying generally to the north of a line commencing at the boundary of the Maniototo and Silverpeaks Counties, continuing along the north bank of Deep Stream to its confluence with the Taieri River; thence eastwards along the northern bank of the Taieri River to its confluence with Three O'clock Creek; thence along the northern bank of Three O'clock Creek to a point latitude 45° 40′ South; thence along a direct line from this point to the northwestern shore of Otago Harbour at a point latitude 45° 50′ South; and that part of the Lake County lying generally to the north of a line commencing at the junction of the boundaries of the Vincent, Southland, and Lake Counties, extending in a direct line to the southernmost shore of Lake Wakatipu, continuing along the western shore of Lake Wakatipu to the northern edge of the mouth of the Greenstone River; thence in a direct line from this point to the Tasman Sea at a point latitude 44° 20′ South.	Oamaru	N
Gore	Those portions of the Silverpeaks and Lake Counties not included in the Oamaru district, and the Counties of Bruce, Clutha, Tuapeka, Southland, Wallace, Fiord, and Stewart Island.	Gore	P

Dated at Wellington this 27th day of September 1979.

M. L. CAMERON, Director-General.

*Gazette 1961, Vol. 1, p. 184 (Ag. 2700) †Gazette 1968, Vol. 1, p. 153 (Ag. 10192)

New Zealand Government Railways-Schedule of Civil Engineering and Building Contracts of \$20,000 or More in Value

(10/2100/9)

I. C. McGREGOR, Acting General Manager.