(4) The principal officer of the administering authority shall not be prevented, by any failure to comply with sub-clause (3) of this clause, from convening the first meeting of the Council in accordance with clause 7 of this order.

7. First meeting of Council—(1) The first meeting of the Council shall be held not later than 2 months after the date of the commencement of this order.

(2) The principal officer of the administering authority shall convene the first meeting of the Council and shall preside at that meeting until the election of the Chairman.
(3) That principal officer may do all things necessary for

the convening of that meeting.

8. Committees—(1) Subject to section 104 of the Local Government Act 1974, section 6 of the Town and Country Planning Act 1977, and subclause (2) of this clause, the Council may appoint such committees as it thinks fit. (2) The Council shall appoint and maintain a Civil Defence Committee which committee shall include a nominee of the Director of Civil Defence and a nominee of the Commissioner of Works

of Works.

9. Finance—(1) For the purposes of and subject to section 123 of the Local Government Act 1974, the net expenditure of the Council for each financial year shall be apportioned among the constituent authorities of the Region on the following basis:

owing basis: Raglan County Council shall pay one-sixteenth; Waikato County Council shall pay one-sixteenth; Huntly Borough Council shall pay one-sixteenth; Ngaruawahia Borough Council shall pay one-sixteenth; Hamilton City Council shall pay one-sixteenth; Hamilton City Council shall pay one-sixteenth; Te Awamutu Borough Council shall pay one-sixteenth; Matamata County Council shall pay one-sixteenth; Matamata Borough Council shall pay one-sixteenth; Matamata Borough Council shall pay one-sixteenth; Putaruru Borough Council shall pay one-sixteenth; Otorohanga District Council shall pay one-sixteenth; Waitomo District Council shall pay one-sixteenth;

(2) For the purposes of section 123 of the Local Govern-ment Act 1974 the functions of regional planning and civil defence shall be deemed to be functions for the benefit of the whole Region.

P. G. MILLEN, Clerk of the Executive Council.

Appointments, Promotions, Extensions, Transfers, Resigna-tions and Retirements of Officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force

PURSUANT to section 35 of the Defence Act 1971, His Excellency the Governor-General has approved the following appointments, promotions, extensions, transfers, resignations, and retirements of officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force:

REGULAR AIR FORCE

GENERAL DUTIES BRANCH

Promotions

Squadron Leader P. A. Sherson to be Wing Commander, with seniority and effect from 15 July 1980. Flying Officer J. K. Duxfield, B.SC., to be Flight Lieutenant, with seniority from 20 June 1978, and effect from 4 August 1980.

Transfer to Reserve

Flight Lieutenant John Albert Peacock is transferred to the Reserve of Air Force Officers until 8 August 1982, with effect from 9 August 1980.

ENGINEER BRANCH

Appointments

Flight Lieutenant C. B. Britnell to be temp. Squadron Leader, with effect from 20 August 1980. Flying Officer A. G. Harmsworth to be temp. Flight Lieutenant, with effect from 1 July 1980.

Administrative and Supply Branch

Appointments

Supply Division

Flight Lieutenant A. C. Comrie to be temp. Squadron Leader, with effect from 16 June 1980.

Special Duties Division

Richard Anthony Kells is appointed to a commission on

a fixed term engagement in the rank of Flying Officer (on prob.), with seniority and effect from 14 July 1980. Flight Lieutenant K. M. Wallis to be temp. Squadron Leader, with effect from 14 July 1980.

Promotions

Supply Division

Flight Lieutenant (temp. Squadron Leader) R. B. Wooller, M.B.E., to be Squadron Leader, with seniority and effect from 15 August 1980.

Special Duties Division

Flying Officer P. E. Fields to be Flight Lieutenant with seniority and effect from 1 September 1980.

Extension of Commission and Age for Retirement Special Duties Division

The commission and age for retirement of Squadron Leader D. R. Densem are extended to 10 May 1983.

Transfer to Reserve

Secretarial Division

Flying Officer Cheryl Betty Cade is transferred to the Reserve of Air Force Officers until 8 August 1984, with effect from 9 August 1980.

Transferred to Retired List

Secretarial Division

Wing Commander Walter George Carruthers, M.B.E., is transferred to the Retired List "B" with effect from 25 July 1980.

MEDICAL BRANCH

Appointment

Neil Denis Garbett, M.B., CH.B., is appointed to a commission on a special medical engagement in the rank of Flight Lieutenant (on prob.), with seniority from 30 November 1977, and effect from 21 July 1980.

TERRITORIAL AIR FORCE

Administrative and Supply Branch

Promotions

Special Duties Division

Flight Lieutenant B. C. Hargraves to be Squadron Leader, with seniority from 18 September 1978, and effect from 27 August 1980.

Flight Lieutenant R. F. Little to be Squadron Leader, with seniority from 20 March 1980, and effect from 27 August 1980.

Flying Officer W. Penman to be Flight Lieutenant, with seniority from 3 June 1980, and effect from 27 August 1980.

Extension of Commission and Age for Retirement

Special Duties Division

The commission and age for retirement of Squadron Leader G. R. Springer are extended to 4 October 1983.

Extension of Commission

Special Duties Division

The commissions of the following Flight Lieutenants are extended to the dates shown:

A. R. Haszard 15 January 1985.

J. D. Jury 6 July 1986.
G. M. Smith 10 November 1986.
H. A. M. Naber 5 February 1986.
T. Mitchell 19 December 1984.

Special Duties Division

Retirements

The following officers are retired, with effect from the dates shown:

Flight Lieutenant Graham Charles Petterson, 7 July 1980. Flying Officer Evan Ashley Heydon, 15 August 1980.

RESERVE OF AIR FORCE OFFICERS

Extension of Commission

The commission of Squadron Leader M. A. Graham is extended to 11 February 1986.

Transfer

Flight Lieutenant Alister John Buchingham is transferred from the General Reserve to the Active Reserve for a period to expire on 1 August 1985, with effect from 1 August 1980.