Retirements

The following officers are retired with effect from the dates shown:

Squadron Leader John Kenneth Diprose, M.A. (HONS.), 11

July 1980.
Flight Lieutenant Ian Murray Mynott Taylor, M.B., CH.B., 28 July 1980.
Flight Lieutenant John Leslie Derwentwater Radcliffe, M.B.,

CH.B.(U.N.Z.), 28 August 1980.
Pilot Officer John Peter Watson, 21 August 1980.

Dated at Wellington this 24th day of September 1980.

DAVID THOMSON, Minister of Defence.

Appointments, Promotions, Extensions, Transfers, Resigna-tions, and Retirements of Officers of the Royal New Zealand Navv

PURSUANT to section 35 of the Defence Act 1971, His Excellency the Governor-General has approved the following appointments, promotions, extensions, transfers, resignations, and retirements of officers of the New Zealand Naval Forces.

ROYAL NEW ZEALAND NAVY

Commander E. D. Deane to be Captain, with seniority and

effect from 1 September 1980.

Commander J. A. B. Lewis, B.C.A., to be acting Captain, with effect from 25 August 1980, and temp. Captain, with

with effect from 25 August 1980, and temp. Captain, with effect from 1 September 1980.

Commander (acting Captain) E. S. Eide relinquishes the acting rank of Captain, with effect from 19 August 1980.

Commander Ian Leslie Stuart Blenheim Bradley, M.P.P., B.C.A., is placed on the Emergency List of the RNZN until 10 August 1982, with effect from 11 August 1980.

The following to be Commander, with seniority and effect from the dates shown:

Lieutenant Commander (temp. Commander) R. E. Brown,

M.R.I.N., 20 August 1980.

Lieutenant Commander K. F. Wilson, M.V.D., 19 August 1980. Lieutenant Commander John Crownshaw is placed on the Emergency List of the RNZN until 26 July 1982, with effect

Lieutenant M. N. Franklin, B.A., to be Lieutenant Commander, with seniority and effect from 13 September 1980.

Lieutenant N. A. F. Young, B.SC., DIP. TCHO., to be temp.

Lieutenant Commander, with effect from 30 June 1980.

Lieutenant (acting Lieutenant Commander) R. A. Marriott, B.E. (ELECT.), M.N.Z.I.E., R.ENG., to be temp. Lieutenant Commander, with effect from 21 July 1980.

The appointments of the following Lieutenants are extended to the dates shown:

D. J. Young, 5 January 1989.
L. Robbins, 10 January 1994.
B. E. Carroll, 25 February 1985.
D. G. Burnett, 6 January 1994.
G. R. St. C. Medcalf, 2 January 1993.

Lieutenant Robert Laurence Sadler is placed on the Emergency List of the RNZN until 27 July 1982, with effect from 28 July 1980.

Lieutenant Simon Earl Wilkinson is placed on the Emergency List of the RNZN until 15 July 1984, with effect from 16 July 1980.

The appointment of Sub Lieutenant Richard Miles Mason

Sub Lieutenant J. A. Fraser to be temp. Lieutenant, with effect from 25 July 1980.

Sub Lieutenant (temp. Lieutenant) W. T. Stevens to be Lieutenant, with seniority and effect from 7 September 1980.

Sub. Lieutenant J. A. Fraser to be temp. Lieutenant, with effect from 25 July 1980.

Sub Lieutenant P. P. M. Sutherland to be Lieutenant, with seniority from 1 Juneary 1980, and effect from 25 August

eniority from 1 January 1980, and effect from 25 August 1980.

Christopher Peter Hallowes is reappointed to the RNZN on the General List of Officers in the rank of Ensign, with seniority from 28 September 1979, and effect from 8 September 1980.

The appointment of Midshipman Ian Alan Knapp is terminated, with effect from 26 July 1980.

ROYAL NEW ZEALAND NAVAL VOLUNTEER RESERVE

Ensign (temp. Sub Lieutenant) R. V. Leader to be Sub Lieutenant with seniority from 31 August 1979, and effect from 20 August 1980.

John Vincent Barry McLinden, D102721, to be Sub

Lieutenant (on prob.), with seniority and effect from 15 September 1980, and is appointed to the RNZNVR until 30 April 1999. To be temp. Lieutenant SP(S), with effect from 15 September 1980.

Dated at Wellington this 24th day of September 1980. DAVID THOMSON, Minister of Defence.

Member of Industries Development Commission Appointed

PURSUANT to section 3 of the Industries Development Commission Act 1961, His Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to appoint

Hon. Eric Henry Halstead, E.D., C.B.E.

as a member of the Industries Development Commission for a term of 3 years commencing on 1 October 1980.

Dated at Wellington this 18th day of September 1980.

L. R. ADAMS-SCHNEIDER. Minister of Trade and Industry.

Reappointment of Manufacturers' Representative on the Tobacco Board

PURSUANT to sections 4 and 5 of the Tobacco Growing Industry Act 1974, the Minister of Trade and Industry hereby reappoints

Edward Bradley, leaf manager of Masterton, being a person nominated by the manufacturers of tobacco,

to be a manufacturers' representative on the Tobacco Board for a term of 3 years commencing on the 1st day of September 1980.

Dated at Wellington this 10th day of September 1980.

L. R. ADAMS-SCHNEIDER, Minister of Trade and Industry.

Appointments to the Council for Maori and South Pacific Arts

PURSUANT to section 25_B (1) of the Queen Elizabeth the Second Arts Council of New Zealand Act 1974, as inserted by section 3 of the Queen Elizabeth II Arts Council of New Zealand Amendment Act 1978, the Minister of the Arts hereby reappoints:

Kumeroa Ngoingoi Pewhairangi, and

The Reverend Te Napi Tutewehiwehi Waaka, O.B.E., to be members of the Council for Maori and South Pacific Arts for a term of office expiring 31 March 1983.

Dated at Wellington this 24th day of September 1980. D. A. HIGHET, Minister for the Arts.

(I.A. Cul. 10/6/2/2)

Appointment of Honorary Community Officers Under the Maori Community Development Act 1962

Pursuant to section 5 (1) of the Maori Community Development Act 1962, the Minister of Maori Affairs hereby appoints the persons named in the Schedule hereto, to be honorary community officers for a term of 3 years.

SCHEDULE

Manuel, Emarina (Mrs); Nepe, Ruth Maraea (Mrs); Williams, Kira; and Hori, Violet (Mrs)

Dated at Wellington this 24th day of September 1980. BEN COUCH, Minister of Maori Affairs.

(M.A. 36/5/1; 36/5/5)