### Retirement

Squadron Leader John Dale Kirtlan is retired, with effect from 8 January 1980.

### Engineer Branch

## A ppointments

Flight Lieutenant N. G. Munro, B.E. (MECH.) (HONS.), N.Z.C.E., to be temp. Squadron Leader, with effect from 7 January

Flight Lieutenant P. A. Williamson, N.Z.C.E., to be acting Squadron Leader with effect from 5 October 1979.

#### Promotions

The following Flight Lieutenants (temp. Squadron Leaders) to be Squadron Leader, with seniority and effect from 9 February 1980:

A. G. Sanderson, M.R.Ae.S. R. T. Farrell. P. H. Lagan.

Officer Cadet (temp. Pilot Officer) B. G. Morgan to be Pilot Officer with seniority and effect from 15 January 1980.

# ADMINISTRATIVE AND SUPPLY BRANCH Appointments

Supply Division

Flying Officer S. B. Baillie to be temp. Flight Lieutenant, with effect from 1 December 1979.

### Promotion

Special Duties Division

Flying Officer (temp. Flight Lieutenant) D. C. Hewitt, N.Z.C.D., to be Flight Lieutenant, with seniority and effect from 15 January 1980.

### Relinquishment of Rank

Supply Division

Flight Lieutenant (temp. Squadron Leader) D. G. Hall relinquishes the temp. rank of Squadron Leader, with effect from 4 December 1979.

## Retirements

Secretarial Division

Flight Lieutenant (temp. Squadron Leader) Marion Millicent Simpson is retired in the rank of Squadron Leader, with effect from 18 October 1979.

Supply Division

Squadron Leader David John Anderson is retired, with effect from 9 January 1980.

# RESERVE OF AIR FORCE OFFICERS

Extension of Commission

The commission of Flight Lieutenant P. G. Burke is extended to 19 April 1987.

# Transfer

Flying Officer L. H. Crosse is transferred to the Regular Air Force, with effect from 12 December 1979.

# Transfers to Retired Lists

Squadron Leader Ivan Noel Moran, A.F.M., is transferred to the Retired List "A", with effect from 28 January 1980. Chaplain 3rd Class Richard John Hamlin (Methodist) is transferred to the Retired List "B", with effect from 1 February

## Retirements

The following officers are retired, with effect from the dates shown:

Squadron Leader Leonard Neale Cowling, 12 January 1980. Squadron Leader Lester Warwick Tritt, 5 January 1980. Squadron Leader Brian Frederick Huggard, M.N.Z.E.I., 24

Flight Lieutenant Gerald Russell Rowe, 3 January 1980. Flight Lieutenant Leonard Dudley Cowper, 1 February 1980

Flight Lieutenant Edward Yates Creelman, 7 January 1980.

Flight Lieutenant Colin George Simmons, 7 January 1980. Flight Lieutenant George David Jensen, 16 January 1980. Flight Lieutenant Christopher Robert James Peters, 7

January 1980.

Flight Lieutenant Arthur Jones, 16 January 1980. Flight Lieutenant William Brian Murphy, 16 January 1980. Flight Lieutenant Stephen George Carter, M.A., 10 January 1980.

Flying Officer Ronald Arthur Robert Alexander, 6 January 1980.

Flying Officer Donald Page, 22 January 1980. Flying Officer Allan John Byrne, 5 January 1980. Pilot Officer Ronald William Glasgow, F.P.A.N.Z., 6 January

Dated at Wellington this 12th day of February 1980. FRANK GILL, Minister of Defence.

# Trustee of Timaru Racecourse Appointed

PURSUANT to the Reserves Act 1977, the Minister of Lands hereby appoints

### Desmond Noel Mulcahy

to be a member of the Board of Trustees, constituted under the Timaru Racecourse Reserve Act 1883, in place of John Robert Dunlop Clay, resigned.

This notice is issued in substitution for the notice, dated 9 November 1979 and published in New Zealand Gazette, No. 107, 22 November 1979, page 3607, and that notice is hereby cancelled.

Dated at Wellington this 19th day of February 1980.

VENN YOUNG, Minister of Lands.

(L. and S. H.O. Res. 11/2/165; D.O. 8/5/253)

Member of the Board of Examiners Under the Mining Act 1971

PURSUANT to section 163 of the Mining Act 1971, the Minister of Energy has been pleased to appoint

### James Palmer Hunter

to be a member of the Board of Examiners from 1 June 1980, for a period of 3 years.

Dated at Wellington this 14th day of February 1980.

W. F. BIRCH, Minister of Energy.

(Mines 17/31/-)

Member of the Board of Examiners Under the Mining Act

PURSUANT to section 163 of the Mining Act 1971, the Minister of Energy has been pleased to appoint

## Alexander Deighton Swainson

to be a member of the Board of Examiners from 1 June 1980, for a period of 3 years.

Dated at Wellington this 14th day of February 1980.

W. F. BIRCH, Minister of Energy.

(Mines 17/31/-)

Member of the Board of Examiners Under the Mining Act

PURSUANT to section 163 of the Mining Act 1971, the Minister of Energy has been pleased to appoint

Allen George Palmer

to be a member of the Board of Examiners from 1 June 1980, for a period of 3 years.

Dated at Wellington this 14th day of February 1980.

W. F. BIRCH, Minister of Energy.

(Mines 17/31/-)

Appointment of Member of the National Hydatids Council (Notice No. 2319, Ag. 21151)

Notice is hereby given by direction of the Minister of Agriculture that, pursuant to section 4 of the Hydatids Act 1968, His Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to appoint

Morrin Thomas Cooper, company director (on the nomination of the Municipal Association of New Zealand (Inc.))

to be a member of the National Hydatids Council for a term of 3 years, from 10 December 1979.

Dated at Wellington this 19th day of February 1980.

M. E. WILSON.

for Director-General of Agriculture and Fisheries.