Appointments, Promotions, Extensions, Transfers, Resigna-tions and Retirements of Officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force

PURSUANT to section 35 of the Defence Act 1971, His Excellency the Governor-General has approved the following appointments, promotions, extensions, transfers, resignations, and retirements of officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force.

REGULAR AIR FORCE

GENERAL DUTIES BRANCH

A ppointment

Flying Officer L. H. Crosse to be temp. Flight Lieutenant, with effect from 12 December 1979.

Promotions

Wing Commander (acting Group Captain) A. E. Thomson, A.F.C., to be Group Captain, with seniority from 14 December 1979 and effect from 5 March 1980. Squadron Leader R. J. Lorigan to be Wing Commander, with seniority from 1 February 1980 and effect from 11

February 1980.

Flight Lieutenant R. J. Metcalfe to be Squadron Leader, with seniority and effect from 6 March 1980.

Extension of Commission and Age for Retirement

The commission and age for retirement of Squadron Leader H. J. Lawton are extended to 18 June 1987.

Transfers to Reserve

Squadron Leader Richard Francis Hurley is transferred to the Reserve of Air Force Officers until 31 January 1984, with effect from 1 February 1980. Flight Lieutenant Raymond James Robinson, B.SC., is transferred to the Reserve of Air Force Officers until 16 February 1984, with effect from 17 February 1980.

Transfer to Retired List

Wing Commander Murray Davis Peacock, A.F.C., is trans-ferred to the Retired List "B", with effect from 25 January 1980.

ENGINEER BRANCH

Appointments

The following are appointed to commissions in the rank of Pilot Officer (on prob.), with seniority from 5 February 1979 and effect from 5 February 1980: John Richard Leaper, B.E. (MECH).

John Bernard Jones.

Administrative and Supply Branch

Appointments

Special Duties Division

The following Flight Lieutenants to be temp. Squadron Leader, with effect from the dates shown: G. White, 10 March 1980. J. B. Anderson, 4 February 1980. J. E. Baker, 10 March 1980.

Squadron Leader Marion Millicent Simpson (Retired) is appointed to a commission on a fixed term engagement, in the rank of Flight Lieutenant, with seniority from 22 January

the rank of Flight Lieutenant, with seniority from 22 January 1976 and effect from 22 January 1980; to be temp. Squadron Leader, with effect from 22 January 1980. Flight Lieutenant Patrick Gordon Burke, from the Active Reserve, is appointed to a commission on a fixed term engagement in the rank of Flying Officer, with seniority from 5 February 1978, and effect from 5 February 1980. The following are appointed to commissions in the ranks as shown, with seniority from 5 February 1979 and effect from 5 February 1980.

from 5 February 1980:

Paul Michael Nevin, N.Z.C.E., Flying Officer (on prob.). Bruce Frederick Wilkinson, Pilot Officer (on prob.).

Promotions

Supply Division

The following Pilot Officers to be Flying Officer, with seniority and effect from 19 February 1980: P. J. Kiernan.

M. T. Houlihan.

Extension of Commission

Special Duties Division

The commission of Flight Lieutenant M. J. Hanley is extended to 9 January 1983.

Extensions of Commissions and Ages for Retirement The commissions and ages for retirement of the following

are extended to the dates shown: Supply Division

Group Captain A. G. Tringham, O.B.E., 4 December 1980. Special Duties Division

Squadron Leader R. McCabe, 8 December 1983.

Transfer to Reserve

Special Duties Division

Flight Lieutenant Peter Robin Jordan is transferred to the Reserve of Air Force Officers until 2 February 1984, with effect from 3 February 1980.

Retirement Special Duties Division

Flight Lieutenant Max Ashton is retired, with effect from 22 February 1980.

EDUCATION BRANCH

Appointments

The following are appointed to commissions in the ranks and seniority as shown, with effect from 5 February 1980: James William Cowie, B.A., Flight Lieutenant (on prob.),

5 February 1976. David Hugh Dally, B.SC., Flight Lieutenant (on prob.), 5

Roger Lee Miller, N.Z.C.E., Flight Lieutenant (on prob.), 5 February 1979.

Brian Paul Quinn, B.SC., Flying Officer (on prob.), 5 February 1979.

MEDICAL BRANCH

Promotion

Group Captain (temp. Air Commodore) L. J. Thompson, M.B.E., A.E., Q.H.P., M.B., CH.B. (N.Z.), M.S.C. (AV.MED) (OHO), M.C.C.M.(N.Z.), to be Air Commodore, with seniority from 24 August 1979 and effect from 7 February 1980.

ಗಮನ್ನು ಬಿಂಬಿ CHAPLAINS' BRANCH

Promotion

Chaplain 4th Class D. W. Hall, B.A. (PRES.) to be Chaplain 3rd Class, with seniority and effect from 3 February 1980.

TERRITORIAL AIR FORCE

Administrative and Supply Branch

A ppointments

Special Duties Division

The following are appointed to commissions in the rank of Flying Officer (on prob.), with seniority and effect from 28 January 1980:

Wayne Leslie Blythe. Evan Ashley Heydon. Barrie Edward Malloch.

Extension of Commission

Special Duties Division

The commission of Squadron Leader P. E. Hills is extended to 16 June 1983.

RESERVE OF AIR FORCE OFFICERS

Extensions of Commissions

The commissions of the following are extended to the dates shown:

Wing Commander (acting Group Captain) B. Stanley-Hunt, A.F.C., 28 November 1982.

Squadron Leader R. M. Conly, 3 February 1982. Flight Lieutenant P. J. Amodeo, 5 May 1982.

Transfer

Flight Lieutenant P. G. Burke is transferred to the Regular Air Force, with effect from 5 February 1980.

Transfer to Retired List

Wing Commander Donald Gray McAllister, M.B.E., is transferred to the Retired List "B", with effect from 29 February 1980.

Retirements

The following are retired, with effect from the dates shown:

Squadron Leader Edward Geoffrey Wilson, M.B., B.S. (LONDON), D.A., 1 February 1980.