Squadron Leader Ian Pitt Palmer, 6 February 1980. Flight Lieutenant Boris Carone, 22 January 1980. Flight Lieutenant Eric James McKinstry, N.Z.C.E., 13 February 1980.

Flight Lieutenant Arthur Leslie Meikle, 15 February 1980. Flight Lieutenant James Rudd Hay, M.B., CHB., 9 February 1980.

Dated at Wellington this 21st day of March 1980. FRANK GILL, Minister of Defence.

Appointments, Promotions, Extensions, Transfers, Resigna-tions, and Retirements of Officers of the Royal New Zealand

PURSUANT to section 35 of the Defence Act 1971, His Excellency, the Governor-General has approved the following appointments, promotions, extensions, transfers, resignations, and retirements of officers of the New Zealand Naval Forces.

## ROYAL NEW ZEALAND NAVY

Instructor Lieutenant R. W. Gratton, B.SC., DIP.TCHG., to be temp. Instructor Lieutenant Commander, with effect from 25 January 1980.

Lieutenant D. I. Ledson, B.A., to be Lieutenant Commander, with seniority and effect from 22 February 1980.

The appointment of Lieutenant R. T. Jackson, B.Sc., is extended to 7 January 1988.

Lieutenant Leo Francis Morgan is placed on the Retired List of RNZN Officers, with effect from 18 December 1979. The appointments of the following Lieutenants are extended to the dates shown:

R. D. Cass, B.Sc., 5 January 1989.

R. D. Muir, B.E. (ELECT), 9 January 1988.

K. G. Black, N.Z.C.E. (MECH), 3 January 1992. Sub Lieutenant (temp. Lieutenant) M. I. Louisson, B.E. (ELECT), to be Lieutenant, with seniority from 3 September 1978 and effect from 21 December 1979.

1978 and effect from 21 December 1979.

The appointment of Midshipman (acting Ensign) D. P. Pickerill is confirmed in the rank of Ensign, with seniority from 5 January 1978; to be Sub Lieutenant with seniority from 5 January 1979 and effect from 5 January 1980.

The following are appointed to the RNZN in the rank of Chaplain (on prob.), with effect from 31 January 1980:

David Arthur George North, with seniority from 30 September 1973, terminating on 30 January 1984.

Anthony John Norman Stockdale, with seniority from 31 January 1974, terminating on 3 August 1983.

The seniority of Midshipman P. G. Batcheler is ante-dated to 1 January 1979.

Alan John Ogilvie Martin, V23364 ORD, is appointed to

Alan John Ogilvie Martin, V23364 ORD, is appointed to the RNZN in the rank of Midshipman, with seniority from 1 January 1980 and effect from 17 January 1980.

The following are appointed to the RNZN in the rank of Sub Lieutenant (on prob.), with seniority from 1 January 1980 and effect from 13 February 1980, terminating on the dates shown:

Neal Grant Catley, A16192, WORS, 21 May 1992. Brian Wayne Chambers, F19003, CPOYS, 28 May 1995. David George Fletcher, P18092, CPOREM, 12 September 1990.

Llewellyn Douglas Holmwood, W17086, WOSHPT, 13 March 1995.

Gary Lynn Millar, A16928, WOSHPT, 24 February 1990. John Christopher Trott, X21020, WOSHPT, 28 July 1988. Peter John Young, F16818, CPOMAA, 5 December 1988.

ROYAL NEW ZEALAND NAVAL VOLUNTEER RESERVE Sub Lieutenant J. A. Moir to be temp. Lieutenant, with effect from 16 October 1979.

Dated at Wellington this 21st day of March 1980.

FRANK GILL, Minister of Defence.

Appointment of Deputy Transport Licensing Authority

PURSUANT to section 100 of the Transport Act 1962, the Minister of Transport hereby appoints

Frederick Herman Kennedy Moore

as the deputy to the Transport Licensing Authority for the No. 3 and 4 Transport Districts, for the period beginning on 24 March 1980 and ending on 28 March 1980.

Dated at Wellington this 12th day of March 1980.

C. C. A. McLACHLAN, Minister of Transport. (T.T. 20/5/0)

Appointment of Members of the Auckland Regional Transport Licensing Authority

PURSUANT to section 120A of the Transport Act 1962 (as substituted by section 16 of the Transport Amendment Act 1971), the Minister of Transport hereby appoints as members of the Auckland Regional Transport Licensing Authority

John Martin Foster, and Leon Abraham Manning.

The term of appointment of both these members shall be from the 1st day of April 1980 until the 31st day of December 1980.

Dated at Wellington this 25th day of March 1980.

C. C. A. McLACHLAN, Minister of Transport.

(T.T. 20/5/0)

Appointment of Honorary Community Officers Under the Maori Community Development Act 1962

PURSUANT to section 5 (1) of the Maori Community Development Act 1962, the Minister of Maori Affairs hereby appoints the persons named in the Schedule hereto as honorary community officers for a term of 3 years.

## **SCHEDULE**

Miki Whaiora Clarke, Island Moutere Love, and George Paki.

Dated at Wellington this 25th day of March 1980. BEN COUCH, Minister of Maori Affairs.

(M.A. 36/5/5, 36/5/8)

Appointment of Maori Wardens Under the Maori Community Development Act 1962

PURSUANT to subsection (1) of section 7 of the Maori Community Development Act 1962 as substituted by section 14 of the Maori Purposes Act 1975, the Minister of Maori Affairs hereby appoints for a term of 3 years the persons named in the Schedule hereto, to be Maori wardens for the areas of the Maori associations as shown in the second column of the Schedule.

## **SCHEDULE**

Name Maori Association Rihi Waiarani Waiariki District Maori Council. Kameta (Mrs) Ken Atatu Waiariki District Maori Council. Julius James Ahlers James Willis Marks Judith Anne Waiariki District Maori Council. Waiariki District Maori Council. Aotea District Maori Council. Abraham (Mrs) John Desmond Leatherby Victor Tepakanga Aotea District Maori Council. Aotea District Maori Council. Taingahue Grant Mathew Tui Aotea District Maori Council. Valerie Patricia Aotea District Maori Council. Tonga (Mrs) Ngatau George Marino ..... Aotea District Maori Council. Phyllis Totangi Isaac ..... Aotea District Maori Council. Dated at Wellington this 24th day of March 1980.

BEN COUCH, Minister of Maori Affairs.

(M.A. 36/4/4, 36/4/6)

Appointment of Maori Wardens Under the Maori Community Development Act 1962

PURSUANT to section 7 (1) of the Maori Community Development Act 1962 as substituted by section 14 of the Maori Purposes Act 1975, the Minister of Maori Affairs hereby appoints for a term of 3 years the persons named in the Schedule hereto, to be Maori wardens for the area of the Ikaroa District Maori Council.