A. R. P. Reing

Parts Old Bed of Lake Rotoiti; coloured yellow 0 22.2) 0 4.6 0 14.4 on plan.

Situated in Block X, Rotoiti Survey District.

As shown on plan S.O. 39460, lodged in the office of the Chief Surveyor at Hamilton, and thereon coloured as above mentioned.

Given under the hand of His Excellency the Governor-General, and issued under the Seal of New Zealand, this 20th day of May 1980.

W. L. YOUNG, Minister of Works and Development.

GOD SAVE THE QUEEN! [L.S.]

(P.W. 72/33/3B/0; Hn. D.O. 72/33/3B/02/2)

The Horowhenua Region Constitution Order 1980

KEITH HOLYOAKE, Governor-General ORDER IN COUNCIL

At the Government House at Wellington this 26th day of May 1980

HIS EXCELLENCY THE GOVERNOR-GENERAL IN COUNCIL PURSUANT to the Local Government Act 1974, His Excellency the Governor-General, acting by and with the advice and consent of the Executive Council, hereby makes the following Order:

ORDER

1. Title and commencement—(1) This order may be cited as the Horowhenua Region Constitution Order 1980.
(2) This order shall come into force on the 12th day of

June 1980, except in so far as it is necessary for the constituent authorities to proceed with the appointment of the first members of the council in terms of clause 6 of this order, and for matters incidental thereto.

2. Horowhenua Region—(1) There is hereby constituted a region to be called the Horowhenua Region (hereinafter referred to as "the region").

(2) The constituent districts of the region shall be the districts of:

- (a) The County of Horowhenua,(b) The Borough of Levin,(c) The Borough of Otaki,
- (d) The Borough of Kapiti.
- 3. Horowhenua United Council—The council for the region shall be a united council described as "the Horowhenua United Council" (hereinafter referred to as "the council").
- 4. Membership of Council—The council shall consist of 12-members of whom:
 - (a) Four shall be appointed by the Horowhenua County Council;
 - (b) Three shall be appointed by the Levin Borough Council:
 - Two shall be appointed by the Otaki Borough Council; (d) Three shall be appointed by the Kapiti Borough Council.
- 5. Administering authority—The administering authority of the council shall be the Horowhenua County Council.
- 6. First appointment of members—(1) Each constituent authority shall, not later than 1 month after the date of the authority shall, not later than 1 month after the date of the commencement of this order, appoint the first member or the first members of the council which that authority is to appoint under clause 4 of this order.

 (2) The members of the council appointed pursuant to subclause (1) of this clause shall come into office on the day of the first meeting of the council.

(3) Each constituent authority shall, not later than the 12th day of July 1980, give the names of the persons appointed by it pursuant to subclause (1) of this clause to the

(4) The principal officer of the administering authority.
(4) The principal officer of the administering authority shall not be prevented, by any failure to comply with subclause (3) of this clause, from convening the first meeting of the council in accordance with clause 7 of this order.

7. First meeting of Council—(1) The first meeting of the council shall be held not later than 2 months after the commencement of this order.

(2) The principal officer of the administering authority shall convene the first meeting of the council, and shall preside at that meeting until the election of the chairman.

- (3) That principal officer may do all things necessary for the convening of that meeting.
- 8. Committees—(1) Subject to section 104 of the Local Government Act 1974, section 6 of the Town and Country Planning Act 1977, clause 9 of this order, and subclause (2) of this clause, the council may appoint such committees as it thinks fit.

(2) The Council shall appoint and maintain a civil defence committee which shall include a nominee of the Director of Civil Defence and a nominee of the Commissioner of Works.

- 9. Inter-Regional Committee—There shall be established and maintained a joint inter-regional committee of the Horo-whenua United Council and the Wellington Regional Council to co-ordinate the regional planning of both councils, where appropriate.
- 10. Membership of Inter-Regional Committee—(1) The joint inter-regional committee established in terms of clause 9 of this order, shall consist of 3 members of the Horowhenua United Council, and 3 members of the Wellington Regional Council appointed by each such council respectively, and a representative of each of such other local authorities as the Horowhenua United Council and the Wellington Regional Council jointly agree shall be repre-

(2) The Committee shall, from time to time, appoint its own chairman and decide upon the period of such appointment. The chairman shall be chosen alternately from among the members of the Wellington Regional Council and the Horowhenua United Council, with the Wellington Regional Council members providing the chairman for the first term of office first term of office.

11. Functions and Expenditure of Inter-Regional Committees—(1) The functions of the joint inter-regional committee established in terms of clause 9 of this order shall

mittee established in terms of clause 9 of this order shall include the matters contained in section 6 (4) of the Town and Country Planning Act 1977 as appropriate.

(2) The expenditure of the joint inter-regional committee shall be met in accordance with the provisions of section 26 (6) of the Town and Country Planning Act 1977, as if, in that subsection, the reference to the uniting councils were a reference to the Horowhenua United Council and the Wellington Regional Council, the reference to the Regional Planning Authority were a reference to the joint interregional committee established under this order and the words "; and the amount to be paid at any time by any council in accordance with the apportionment shall be recoverable as a debt due to the principal Council" were deleted and substituted by the words "between the Horowhenua United Council and the Wellington Regional Council". whenua Council".

(3) The vesting of the functions in the joint inter-regional committee in terms of this clause shall not be deemed to limit the functions vested in the regional planning committees of the Horowhenua United Council and the Wellington Regional Council by section 6 (4) of the Town and Country Planning Act 1977.

12. Finance—(1) For the purposes of, and subject to, section 123 of the Local Government Act 1974, the net expenditure of the council shall be apportioned among the constituent authorities of the region on the following basis:

Horowhenua County Council shall pay three tenths; Levin Borough Council shall pay three tenths; Otaki Borough Council shall pay one tenth; Kapiti Borough Council shall pay three tenths;

- (2) For the purposes of section 123 of the Local Government Act 1974, the functions of regional planning and civil defence shall be deemed to be functions for the benefit of the whole region.
- 13. The Wellington Regional Council referred to in this order means that council constituted by force of the Order in Council dated 26 May 1980.

P. G. MILLEN, Clerk of the Executive Council.

The Wellington Region Constitution Order 1980

KEITH HOLYOAKE, Governor-General ORDER IN COUNCIL

At the Government House at Wellington this 26th day of May 1980

Present:

HIS EXCELLENCY THE GOVERNOR-GENERAL IN COUNCIL

Pursuant to the Local Government Act 1974, His Excellency the Governor-General, acting by and with the advice and consent of the Executive Council, hereby makes the following Order: