The following Officer Cadets are appointed to commissions in the rank of Pilot Officer (on prob.), with seniority from 28 August 1979 and effect from 7 December 1979:

V88845 Graham Leonard Lindsay. X87398 Mark Renton Wingrove. G750703 John Park.

G730703 John Park. H88994 Anthony Thomas James Sullivan. M88768 Phillip Trevor Morrissey. W88846 Peter John Lyell. U88844 Christopher Peter Hawkins. P88770 Michael Brian Ford. N88769 Michael Sutton Callender.

Promotions

Promotions The following to be Group Captain: Wing Commander C. W. Rudd, A.F.C., with seniority from 4 October 1979 and effect from 14 December 1979. Wing Commander J. S. Boys, A.F.C., with seniority from 2 December 1979 and effect from 22 December 1979. Wing Commander (*temp.* Group Captain) P. R. Adamson, M.B.E., A.F.C., with seniority and effect from 22 December 1979. The following to be Wing Commander: Squadron Leader (*temp.* Wing Commander) B. E. Gilliver, with seniority and effect from 2 December 1979. Squadron Leader R. S. Holdaway, with seniority from 22 December 1979, and effect from 1 January 1980. Squadron Leader G. J. W. Goldsmith, A.F.C., with seniority from 26 June 1979 and effect from 17 December 1979. Flight Lieutenant B. R. Francis to be Squadron Leader, with seniority and effect from 14 December 1979. Flight Lieutenant B. R. Francis to be Squadron Leader, with seniority from 22 September 1977 and effect from 27 November 1979. *Transfer to Retired List*

Transfer to Retired List

Air Commodore Harold Gordon Moss, C.B.E., A.F.C., is transferred to the Retired List "A", with effect from 2 December 1979.

ENGINEER BRANCH

A ppointments

Flight Lieutenant B. A. Stevenson, N.Z.C.E., to be temp. Squadron Leader, with effect from 26 November 1979. Flying Officer D. S. Underwood to be temp. Flight Lieutenant, with effect from 6 November 1979. L88951 Officer Cadet Bruce Gregory Morgan is appointed to a commission on a standard engagement, in the temp. rank of Pilot Officer (on prob.) with effect from 18 August 1979 1979

R89048 Officer Cadet Kevin Baden Smith is appointed to a commission in the rank of Pilot Officer (on prob.), with seniority and effect from 22 November 1979.

Promotions

Squadron Leader R. A. Keown, M.B.E., to be Wing Com-mander, with seniority and effect from 9 January 1980. Flying Officer (temp. Flight Lieutenant) R. J. Guest, B.E. (MECH), N.Z.C.E., to be Flight Lieutenant, with seniority and effect from 13 January 1980.

Administrative and Supply Branch

Appointments

Special Duties Division Flight Lieutenant C. Hall to be temp. Squadron Leader, with effect from 26 October 1979. Flight Lieutenant A. G. Walding to be acting Squadron Leader, with effect from 5 November 1979.

Cancellation of Commission

Special Duties Division

The commission of Pilot Officer (on prob.) Lucilla Juanita Williamson is cancelled, with effect from 23 November 1979.

CHAPLAINS' BRANCH

Promotion

Chaplain 4th Class W. G. M. Dixon, B.A., to be Chaplain 3rd Class, with seniority and effect from 30 November 1979.

TERRITORIAL AIR FORCE

ADMINISTRATIVE AND SUPPLY BRANCH

Appointments

Special Duties Division

Flight Lieutenant Graham Steven Gray, from the General Reserve, is appointed to a commission, on a fixed term engagement of 5 years, in his present rank, with seniority from 13 March 1979 and effect from 5 December 1979. Francis James Usmar is appointed to a commission, on a fixed term engagement of 5 years, in the rank of Flying Officer, with seniority from 13 March 1979 and effect from 3 December 1979.

3 December 1979.

RESERVE OF AIR FORCE OFFICERS

Extension of Commission

The commission of Flight Lieutenant G. J. F. Hunt, M.A. (HONS), DIP.TCHG., M.N.Z.Ps.S., is extended to 6 December 1981.

Transfer

Flight Lieutenant G. S. Gray is transferred to the Territorial Air Force, with effect from 5 December 1979.

Transfers to Retired List

The following are transferred to the Retired List "B", with effect from the dates shown: Wing Commander Raymond Reginald Black, 9 December

1979.

Squadron Leader Donald Raymond Smith, A.F.C., 1 January 1980.

Retirements

The following are retired with effect from the dates shown: Squadron Leader Alan Laurie Lawless, 1 January 1980. Squadron Leader Neville John Milne, R.E.A., GRAD.N.Z.E.I., 2 December 1979.

Flight Lieutenant Kerry Edwin Ragg, PH.D., DIP.PHYS.ED., DIP.TCHG., 11 December 1979. Flight Lieutenant David Malcolm Bevan, 8 December 1979. Flight Lieutenant Brian Leslie O'Neill, B.A., 15 December 1979.

Flight Lieutenant Bruce William Watson, 8 December 1979. Flight Lieutenant Harold George Bennett, 3 December 1979. Flight Lieutenant Peter Hamilton Scott, 21 December 1979. Flying Officer John Whatnall, 19 December 1979. Flying Officer Richard James Smeaton, 19 December 1979. Flying Officer Eric Houchen Goodhall, A.R.A.N.Z., 4 December 1979.

Dated at Wellington this 26th day of January 1980.

FRANK GILL, Minister of Defence.

Appointment to the Staff of His Excellency the Governor-General

HIS Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to make the following appointment to his staff-to be aidede-camp:

Captain Peter John Nichols, Royal New Zealand Infantry Regiment, vice Lieutenant Geoffrey David Honnor, Royal New Zealand Navy.

FRANK GILL, Minister of Defence.

Appointment of Maori Wardens Under the Maori Welfare Act 1962

PURSUANT to subsection (1) of section 7 of the Maori Welfare Act 1962, as substituted by section 14 of the Maori Purposes Act 1975, the Minister of Maori Affairs hereby appoints for a term of 3 years the persons named in the Schedule hereto, to be Maori wardens for the areas of the Maori association set opposite the name of each such person in the second column of the Schedule hereto.

SCHEDULE

Name	Maori Association
Matchitt, Mary	Waiariki District Maori Council
Poihipi, Nile Maadi	Waiariki District Maori Council
Maxwell, Mary (Mrs)	Waiariki District Maori Council
Gage, George	Waiariki District Maori Council
Temple, Harete Sally (Mrs)	Waiariki District Maori Council
Brown, Dinah (Mrs)	Waiariki District Maori Council
Rewiri, Hau	Waiariki District Maori Council
Kurei, Ross	Waiariki District Maori Council
Brown, John Kupu	Waiariki District Maori Council
	Waiariki District Maori Council
	Waiariki District Maori Council

Dated at Wellington this 28th day of January 1980.

BEN COUCH, Minister of Maori Affairs.

(M.A. 36/4/4)