The Thames Valley Region Constitution Order 1980

KEITH HOLYOAKE, Governor-General ORDER IN COUNCIL

At the Government House at Wellington this 21st day of July 1980

Present:

HIS EXCELLENCY THE GOVERNOR-GENERAL IN COUNCIL

PURSUANT to the Local Government Act 1974, His Excellency the Governor-General, acting by and with the advice and consent of the Executive Council, hereby makes the following order.

ORDER

1. Title and commencement—(1) This order may be cited as the Thames Valley Region Constitution Order 1980.

(2) This order shall come into force on the 22nd day of

- July 1980, except in so far as it is necessary for the constituent authorities to proceed prior to that date with the appointment of the first members of the Council in terms of clause 6 of this order, and for matters incidental thereto.
- 2. Thames Valley Region—(1) There is hereby constituted a region to be called the Thames Valley Region (hereinafter referred to as "the Region").

(2) The constituent districts of the Region shall be the

districts of:

- (a) The District of Thames-Coromandel; (b) The County of Hauraki Plains; (c) The County of Ohinemuri;

- (d) The Borough of Paeroa;
 (e) The Borough of Paeroa;
 (f) The County of Piako;
 (g) The Borough of Te Aroha;
 (h) The Borough of Morrinsville.
- 3. Thames Valley United Council—The council for the Region shall be a united council described as "The Thames Valley United Council" (hereinafter referred to as "the Council")
- 4. Membership of Council—The Council shall consist of 15 members of whom:

(a) Four shall be appointed by the Thames-Coromandel District Council;

(b) Two shall be appointed by the Hauraki Plains County

- Council; (c) Two shall be appointed by the Ohinemuri County Council;
- (d) One shall be appointed by the Paeroa Borough Council;

- (e) One shall be appointed by the Paeroa Borough Council;
 (f) Three shall be appointed by the Waihi Borough Council;
 (g) One shall be appointed by the Te Aroha Borough Council;
 (h) One shall be appointed by the Morrinsville Borough Council.
- **5. Administering authority**—The administering authority of the Council shall be the Piako County Council.
- 6. First appointment of members—(1) Each constituent authority shall, not later than 1 month after the date of the commencement of this order, appoint the first member or

- commencement of this order, appoint the first member or the first members of the Council which that authority is to appoint under clause 4 of this order.

 (2) The members of the Council appointed pursuant to subclause (1) of this clause shall come into office on the day of the first meeting of the Council.

 (3) Each constituent authority shall, not later than the 22nd day of August 1980, give the names of the person or persons appointed by it pursuant to subclause (1) of this clause to the principal officer of the administering authority.

 (4) The principal officer of the administering authority shall not be prevented, by any failure to comply with subclause (3) of this clause, from convening the first meeting of the Council in accordance with clause 7 of this order.
- 7. First meeting of Council—(1) The first meeting of the Council shall be held not later than 2 months after the date of the commencement of this order.
- (2) The principal officer of the administering authority shall convene the first meting of the Council and shall preside at
- that meeting until the election of the Chairman.

 (3) The principal officer may do all things necessary for the convening of that meeting.
- 8. Committees—(1) Subject to section 104 of the Local Government Act 1974, section 6 of the Town and Country Planning Act 1977, and subclause (2) of this clause, the Council may appoint such committees as it thinks fit.

- (2) The Council shall appoint and maintain a Civil Defence Committee which committee shall include a nominee of the Director of Civil Defence and a nominee of the Commissioner of Works.
- 9. Finance—(1) For the purposes of and subject to section 123 of the Local Government Act 1974, the net expenditure of the Council for each financial year shall be apportioned among the constituent authorities of the Region on the following basis:

Thames-Coromandel District Council shall pay 4/15;
Hauraki Plains County Council shall pay 2/15;
Ohinemuri County Council shall pay 2/15;
Paeroa Borough Council shall pay 1/15;
Waihi Borough Council shall pay 1/15;
Piako County Council shall pay 1/5;
Te Aroha Borough Council shall pay 1/15;
Morrinsville Borough Council shall pay 1/15.
(2) For the purposes of section 123 of the Local Government Act 1974 the functions of regional planning and civil defence shall be deemed to be functions for the benefit of the whole Region. the whole Region.

P. G. MILLEN, Clerk of the Executive Council.

Manawatu Catchment Board Waters Control Order 1980

KEITH HOLYOAKE, Governor-General ORDER IN COUNCIL

At the Government House at Wellington this 14th day of July 1980

Present:

HIS EXCELLENCY THE GOVERNOR-GENERAL IN COUNCIL

PURSUANT to section 8A of the Harbours Act 1950, His Excellency the Governor-General, acting by and with the advice and consent of the Executive Council, hereby makes the following order.

ORDER

- 1. (a) This order may be cited as the Manawatu Catchment Board Waters Control Order 1980.
 (b) This order shall come into force on the date of its
- publication in the Gazette.
 - 2. In this order:
 - "The Act" means the Harbours Act 1950;
 - "The Board" means the Manawatu Catchment Board and Regional Water Board;
 - "Minister" means the Minister of Transport and includes any officer, person, or authority acting by or under the direction or authority of the Minister.
- 3. There is hereby granted to the Board for a period of 21 years from the commencement of this order, the control of the waters described in the First Schedule to this order, subject to the provisions of section 8A of the Act, and to the conditions specified in the Second Schedule to this order.

FIRST SCHEDULE

ALL the waters of the Manawatu River from its source to the sea, and all the waters of the Ohau River from its source to the sea, and all the waters of the Otaki River from its source to the sea, and all the waters of the Wainui River from its source to the sea, and all the waters of the Akitio River from its source to the sea, and all the waters of the Oroua River from its source to its confluence with the Manawatu River, and all the waters of the Pohangina River from its source to its confluence with the Manawatu River, and all the waters of the Manawatu River from its source to its confluence with the Manawatu River, and all the waters of the Mangatainoka River from its source to its confluence with the Manawatu River, and all the waters of the Tiraumea River from its source to its confluence with the Mangatainoka River, and all the waters of the Makakahi River from its source to its confluence with the Mangatainoka River. The said rivers are shown more particularly on plan M.D. 16010, deposited in the office of the Ministry of Transport at Wellington.

SECOND SCHEDULE

- 1. Her Majesty or the Governor-General and all officers of the Government Service acting in the execution of their duty shall at all times have free ingress, passage and egress into, through, over and out of the waters described in the First Schedule to this order without payment.
- 2. Nothing herein contained shall authorise the Board to do or cause to be done, anything repugnant to or inconsistent