2 1 JAN 1981



SUPPLEMENT

TO THE

NEW ZEALAND **GAZET**

OF

THURSDAY, 15 JANUARY 1981

Published by Authority

WELLINGTON: FRIDAY, 16 JANUARY 1981

New Year Honours List 1981

His Excellency the Governor-General has announced that The Queen has been graciously pleased, on the occasion of the celebration of the New Year 1981, to confer the following honours:

CIVIL LIST

- To be an Ordinary Dame Commander of the Civil Division of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (D.B.E.):
 - Mrs Whina COOPER, C.B.E., J.P., of Auckland. For services to the Maori people.
- To be an Ordinary Knight Commander of the Civil Division of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (K.B.E.):
 - Dr The Honourable Thomas Robert Alexander Harries DAVIS, Premier of the Cook Islands. For services to medicine and the people of the Cook Islands.
- To be Knights Bachelor:
- Charles HILGENDORF, C.M.G., J.P., of Ashburton. For public services, especially as Chairman of the New Zealand Meat Producers Board.

 Austin George WILSON, O.B.E., of Auckland. For services
- to commerce and the community.
- To be Ordinary Members of the Third Class, or Companions of the Most Distinguished Order of St Michael and St George (C.M.G.):
 - John CLARKE, of Clinton, South Otago. Chairman, New Zealand Wool Board, 1972-80.
 - The Honourable Richard Geoffrey GERARD, of Rakaia,
 - Canterbury. For public services.

 Noel Vernon LOUGH, of Eastbourne, Wellington. Secretary to the Treasury 1977–80.
- To be Ordinary Commanders of the Civil Division of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (C.B.E.):
 - James Warne ARDAGH, O.B.E., of Christchurch. For ser-
 - vices to medicine.

 Miss Doreen Vera BLUMHARDT, of Wellington. For services to art, especially pottery.

- Francis Rei Paul HAMON, of Waiomu, Thames. For ser-
- Mrs Mary Wilhelmina Margaret LYTHGOE, of Waikanae. For services to nursing.

 Arthur William Baden POWELL, F.R.S.N.Z., of Auckland.
- For services to marine science.

 Dr Edwin Ian ROBERTSON, O.B.E., F.R.S.N.Z., of Tawa.

 Director-General, Department of Scientific and Industrial Research, 1971-80.

 Dr Frank William Eden RUTTER, of Auckland. For ser-
- vices as Chairman, Auckland Hospital Board.
- To be Ordinary Officers of the Civil Division of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (O.B.E.):
 - Harry Herbert AYRES, of Christchurch. For services to mountaineering
 - Leo George Wellington CARRINGTON, of Stratford. For

 - services to local body and community affairs.

 George Cooper CRUICKSHANK, of Invercargill. For services to the sport of trotting.

 Murray Charles DAY, of Hamilton. For services to squash.

 Bernard Lancelot EBBETT, of Palmerston North. For services to the doing industry.
- vices to the dairy industry. Stuart Carlton HAY, of Auckland. For services to the community.
- Hamish Henry Cordy KEITH, of Auckland. Chairman, The Queen Elizabeth II Arts Council. Nevile Sidney LODGE, of Wellington. For services as a
- cartoonist.
- Donald Mitchell McKENZIE, of Auckland. For services to physiotherapy and the blind.

 Lloyd MORGAN, of Paraparaumu. For services to Lions
- Clubs International.
 Walcott Eyre Wilder ORMOND, of Havelock North. For
- services to thoroughbred breeding.

 John Wellesley Evan RAINE, of Wellington. For services
- to medicine. Desmond Bruce SMITH, of Christchurch, For services to
- cycling. William John WATT, of Auckland. For services to anaes-
- thetics and the community. Mrs Iona WILLIAMS, J.P., Dunedin. For services to the
- community. Ray Roberts WILSON, of Auckland. For services to music.